We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return to the Hydrangea House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will return to the Hydrangea House!”
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary in Newport and stayed at the Hydrangea House Inn. The home is beautiful and cozy and the innkeepers are amazingly hospitable. Upon arrival, they informed us that we had been upgraded to larger suite with a hot tub in the room. Breakfast was a real treat and their knowledge of Newport and all of the things it has to offer really helped us to get the most out of it in the short time we had there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flattire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    36
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
397
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We just spent a much needed long weekend at the Hydrangea House. We had booked the "Carrie in Paris" suite and a week before our arrival were given a free upgrade to the Hydrangea Suite - we hadn't even asked for! The room was immaculately clean. Every conceivable luxury was present - from the King-sized extremely comfy bed to the beautiful jacuzzi hot tub. Skylights provided wonderful natural light by day and the furniture was stylish and attractive. Dennis and Grant are wonderful hosts - the breakfasts are out of this world, and everywhere you look are little touches often overlooked in other B&Bs. Newport itself is a gorgeous place and the Hydrangea House is centrally located, giving you access to all the most popular tourist sites. Walk to the Harbor, drive just a short way down the street to the mansions and the famous Cliff Walk. You couldn't ask for a better retreat!

Helpful?
5 Thank TeddyBear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Hydrangea House in October to celebrate our 10th anniversary. I was very thorough about researching where to stay as we don't get the opportunity to escape too often like that! (3 little ones at home) The Inn surpassed what I expected and what I read about in past reviews! We were thrilled with everything from the breakfasts to the cookies left out in the evening (delicious!). We were given excellent recommendations for area restaurants and shopping. Our room was gorgeous and one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in away from home. My husband was especially delighted to find a bottle of wine we had left out to enjoy after dinner on a silver platter w/glasses and an opener upon returning. (He had planned on going down to get an opener when we got back-no need!) Every detail was superior! Can't wait to find another opportunity to visit Newport and the Hydrangea House!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriT528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

I stayed at the Hydrangea House for 2 nights over the new years eve weekend. Neither my girlfriend or myself had ever stayed at a B&B, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. We were very very pleased with what we found at the Hydrangea House.

Our room (the Carrie in Paris suite) was absolutely beautiful. We had a hot tub which was placed perfectly in front of botha fireplace and a flat screen tv. Laying in the queen size bed at night was probably the most comfortable I've ever felt in my life.

The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. When they came in to turn down our sheets at night and saw that we had bought a bottle of wine, they placed it in a bucket of ice and brought up glasses and a corkscrew for us.

The breakfasts were also absolutely wonderful, though may not be ideal for picky eaters as you are given one entree and a few choices of side dishes (in a buffet style).

There is nothing that I could do to make this a better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marino6039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We could not fault Hydrangea House Inn! We booked a room for one night in October at only a few days notice by telephone due to a last minute change of plan, and the staff could not have been more helpful, including faxing directions to the hotel where we were staying in Boston at the time.

The Inn is genuinely within walking distance of shops, wharfs and restaurants. There is ample parking at the rear, and help was offered with our luggage. Our room, the French Country Room, though not huge, was beautifully furnished and decorated, with every luxury and detail thought of - particularly worth noting are the flatscreen TV which looked like a mirror, and the jacuzzi bath. Towels are changed twice - in the evening as well as the morning - another nice touch. We asked for a recommendation for a venue for dinner, and Grant was delighted to help - we went to his recommendation and had a superb meal.

You need to be aware that breakfast is at one (beautifully decorated) table, and at a strict time - but that is communicated in the nicest way on arrival, including checking the time suggested is convenient for you. We were initially somewhat sceptical about the formal sounding communal breakfast, as we usually prefer to eat at a table for two rather than one big one as here - but the place settings for the four pairs of guests that morning were positioned at the four corners of the table so we were not "on top" of each other, and it turned out that once a conversation had been struck up, all the guests got on really well and chatted happily throughout the meal together. Breakfast itself was of a very high standard. Apart from the melon starter which was waiting at each place, the rest of the food was presented on the sideboard so that guests could help themselves informally to what they wanted. Our main dish that day was raspberry pancakes - quite delicious.

We are experienced bed and breakfasters and thought that
this was an excellent venue with very friendly and welcoming hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trip advisor member 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

After a week of reviewing all of the Newport area accomodations, we decided on the Hydrangea House. This being our first time staying at a B&B made the decision alittle risky. What a wonderful choice! The inn was everything I imagined it to be and more!

Our room was lovely and immaculate. Pure luxury in every way. The Inn Keepers were extremely friendly as were the other guests. We made new friends every morning while we were treated to coffee before breakfast out on the beautiful porch.

Now for the breakfast.......Delicious, delicious, delicious! The most magnificent meal we have ever had the pleasure of eating! Even my husband raved that he has never had anything like it! Each day presented something unique that everyone could not help but to enjoy. Our breakfast at the Hydrangea House will be talked about for an eternity.

Please do not let the price sway you from such a wonderful opportunity. When we left I knew that our money was well spent and worth every penny. We will be returning to the Hydrangea House, we would be foolish to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunkydarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 22, 2005

This is by far the best place to stay in Newport (versus hotels and any inns). I had the pleasure of staying over a weekend in August. The inn is a few blocks from the downtown waterfront off a quiet street.

The rooms are immaculate and have plush linens and furniture. Our room had a two person shower that was also a steam-shower. Our room also had a two person tub that was a jacuzzi. Our room was the Chesterfield Suite and overlooked downown from the second floor.

There was daily housekeeping service. We had our choice of hot breakfasts in the morning which was absolutely fabulous. I'm not certain about the other negative reviews, as I experianced nothing of the sort.

The rooms, though pricey in the summer season, were definetely worth it. I have never felt warm hospitality like I experianced at this inn. Kudos!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing