We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hydrangea House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$479
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
$297
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$720
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$836
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$850
$775
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
457
38
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
457
38
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschesterfield suitesteam showerwine and cheesewinter gardenhomemade yogurtmy husband and ifritterscookiesother guestseach morningbeautiful dining roomback porchb bswonderful hostsbed and breakfastwithin walking distanceowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 504 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hydrangea House Inn is an amazing place to stay in Newport! The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the facility and rooms are impeccable. We stayed in the winter, and we really appreciated the warm and inviting atmosphere. The central heat worked great, and the in-room gas fireplace was a huge treat! Parking in the rear was also very convenient.

The location was absolutely perfect. You are within walking distance of all the main attractions, and the historic neighborhood was really charming.

Lastly...the FOOD! It was beyond expectations! You don't really expect a 5 star meal at a B&B, but every morning we rushed downstairs to see what kind of amazing breakfast they put together. It was always plenty of food. Not just a few things to pick on but a substantial, savory meal that held us over until lunch time.

Overall, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a private room at a value, with easy access at any hour, choose the Verandah Room. It is one of the less expensive rooms, and we choose a 3 day package for a better deal. It has a private entrance off the rear deck (near the parking lot), so when you come and go you don't have to walk through the main house. (not like that would be a big deal) But it felt very secluded, which we liked.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amazing Inn, every room is in different style with a different name. The best breakfast I have ever ate.... :) Very clean and cosy. if you visit New Port you should definately sleep in Hydrangea House Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I rang in the New Year at our favorite B&B. We have stayed at the Hydrangea house many times over the past six years and are never disappointed.The inn is in a great location and within walking distance to many great restaurants and shops.Dennis and Grant are the perfect hosts. They are very knowledgeable and will make great suggestions for a memorable trip. We arrived at 430pm and wine and cheese was being served. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holiday's and the fireplace was on.What a great way to unwind after a long drive.We've stayed in many rooms over the years and each is elegant and so comfortable. Breakfast is served In the beautiful dining room and the food always delicious and gourmet quality!! Not to mention the freshly baked cookies that are waiting for you when you return from a night out. Thank you Dennis, Grant, and Rosie for another perfect stay at your lovely inn. We can't wait to come back!!!
Dorene and Paul.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorene3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Hydrangea once a year for over a decade. It is the only place I would ever stay. Grant and Dennis are warm and caring hosts. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. All of the guest rooms are beautiful. Breakfast, served in the elegant dining room is always delicious and decadent- the breakfast bread pudding and eggs in puff pastry are my two favorites. We look forward to many more visits to this perfect bed and breakfast. In my opinion, the Hydrangea should be ranked 1st on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: the Chesterfield and the Carrie in Paris suites are my 2 two favorites, but all of the rooms are beautiful and very well apointed
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj101102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having loved Newport for years, I was anxious to share the special destination with my boyfriend. I had a Select Registries gift certificate, and using their site I came upon the Hydrangea House. Since it was off season, we were able to find a great rate and thus our weekend was booked.

From the get go, this was a spectacular experience. Dennis and Grant, the InnKeepers, are warm, knowledgeable and clearly intent on making you feel comfortable. Due to traffic, our trip took nearly 3 hours (as opposed to 1). Thus, when we arrived were both a bit stressed from the drive. Immediately, however, the stress started to melt away as we enjoyed a glass of complimentary wine and lovely cheese.

From the delicious breakfasts, the hot tub for two (that even fit my 6 foot 6 inch fiance), the two headed shower, fireplace, glorious bed, delicious home made cookies and spectacular service, this is a weekend we will not soon forget. This was the first weekend was enjoyed as an engaged couple, and we could not have hoped for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely Chesterfield Suite. However, I really have a feeling any room would have been superb.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelaround10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews