We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Newport bestows a Golden Pineapple for hospitality above and beyond, Hydrangea House Inn wins hands down!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hydrangea House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If Newport bestows a Golden Pineapple for hospitality above and beyond, Hydrangea House Inn wins hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Innkeepers Grant and Dennis know not only how to make a guest feel welcome, but to feel as if they are royalty! Intuitive, thoughtful, personable and genuine make this Innkeeping team among the best anywhere. If they didn't have me sold before, tucking a box of Samoas--the Girl Scout cookie of my dreams-- into my hand as I walked upstairs for the evening definitely sealed the deal!!

Everything was just perfect! The room, the breakfasts, and even the snow falling outside made for an amazing winter getaway!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryfromBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    35
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
387
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

A very nice place to stay. The accomodations and the location is great. The inn has lots of beautiful details, lamps, flowers and antiques. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is beautiful, the sittingplace is cosy etc. It´s just a short walk down to the harbour and we enjoyed it.The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. They gave us good advise for restaurants and shops and always had time for a friendly chat. Their breakfast alone is worth coming for... We had a wonderful time and we would LOVE to come again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

If you go during the week Restaurants offer 2 fors! My favorite Breakfast Raspberry Pancakes . They are so good! The rooms are gorgous have been going there since 01!
St.Patricks day parade is a fun time to go also! Big Parade the week before!

Room Tip: Newport Blues for Jazz! Ice skating in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wws051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Hydrangea House Inn was the perfect compliment to the terrific weather, fantastic food/drink and wonderful sightseeing. The innkeepers were phenomenal. Great mornings with home cooked breakfasts and relaxation in the early evening with cheese and wine. Our room was great with comfortable bedding, warm fireplace and gracious bathroom complete with steam bath.
The Inn is conveniently located to all attractions yet away from the hustle near the water.

Highly recommended and will likely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahluakona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

The pictures of the Inn do not lie. We stayed in the Hydrangea Room and it was just perfect. Upon arrival we were able to see many of the other rooms and they too were just as beautiful. We were greeted by our hosts and we felt quite welcome from the minute we arrived until our departure. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautiful dining room. If you wanted a good healthy breakfast it was there for the taking. Each morning was always a special addition/option. The location was in walking distance of the Cliff Walk, shops, the waterfront and many places for fine dining and casual dining. I would definately stay at the Inn again. After being out all day it was a pleasure going back to our room. The atmosphere was everything you would hope for. Rosie & Gracie were precious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller33853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

This was a first time visit to Newport for both my son and me. After researching various inns we decided on the Hydrangea House and it was just what we were looking for. The location, the rooms, the food and most of all the hosts were excellent.

I stayed in the Hydrangea Suite and my son in the French Country room (he was upgraded). Both rooms were wonderfully comfortable, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Breakfast were delicious (I'm a former chef so I should know) and the hospitality provided by Dennis and Grant made this a wonderful first experience.

Couldn't ask for a better location, can walk to everything and we did. I plan on returning to Newport in the summer and will definitely stay there. So if you enjoy inns or B&Bs and are coming to Newport is LOOK NO FURTHER!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moetdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

The breakfast is a must & the location is within walking distance to the harbor and shopping. The owners, Dennis & Grant, made you feel as if the house was yours and went to the next level for perfection.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aniakevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing