We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As beautiful as the website shows” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hydrangea House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pebble Beach CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“As beautiful as the website shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2007

What a beautiful bed and breakfast. Grant and Dennis, the hosts, and Jamie, the housekeeper, were terrific. We were made to feel very welcome. We were given an upqgrade upon our arrival as not all the rooms were filled. We had a French country room that showed Dennis and Grant's attention to detail. Afternoon wine and cheese were a pleasant time to plan the evening's dinner. After dinner we arrived back at the inn to find cookies outside our door. The amenities in the room were exceptional. We would love to return again if our travels take us to New England.

  • Liked — Little thought out touches
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SilkyCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    35
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
387
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

What a nice surprise upon arrival at the lovely Hydrangea House to learn from owners Grant and Dennis that we had received a complimentary upgrade to a magnificent suite - the "Carrie in Paris" room! We've never stayed in a room like this before - beautiful decor (reds, golds, and blues), gorgeous furniture, and luxurious amenities: jacuzzi facing flat-screen TV, huge rain shower, super-comfy bed, fine bed linens, absorbent Turkish towels, complimentary Poland Springs water, and delicious chocolates. Truly a room fit for royalty! Everyone who works at Hydrangea House is so very sweet - they provided excellent service and great recommendations for things to do and places to eat while in Newport. While on the pretty property at Hydrangea House, we experienced terrific wine and nibble hours, complete with fruit (fresh and dried), cheese, crackers, hummus, and taboule. We also had delicious gourmet breakfasts served at the formal dining room table, including fruit, scones, yogurt, granola, tarragon eggs served in puff pastry, grand marnier-dipped french toast, bacon, juice, coffee, and tea. Before bed every night, we received turn-down service and OUTSTANDING, perfectly fresh (just made - still goo-ey!) chocolate chip cookies! Wish I had one of those cookies right now! Outside of Hydrangea House, we experienced Newport fully and loved it. Ate lunch outside at the International Tennis Hall of Fame (assistant innkeeper Stanley's recommendation) - great setting and really good food! Walked from Hydrangea House on Belleview Ave past gorgeous mansions to Cliff Walk - a path overlooking the ocean that is not to be missed! From Cliff Walk we walked down the "40 steps" for a closer view of the sea, and we accessed 2 mansions - the Breakers and Rosecliff which both provide guided tours. Drove along Ocean Drive at sunset - very beautiful! For dinner, we tried Salvations Cafe (Stanley's recommendation) - great pad thai and desserts in a funky colorful atmosphere. The next day, we ate at The Mooring, overlooking the harbor for lunch - clam chowder and beer-battered fish and chips - YUM! Dinner that evening was at Tucker's Bistro (Stanley's recommendation) - romantic setting, very intimate, and the food here was AMAZING! Best chicken we ever ate, excellent halibut, too. Both were served over polenta, and the taste was undescribably fabulous! Because we stayed at Hydrangea House, we were given complimentary homemade Bailey's after dinner at Tucker's - it was so creamy and fresh - a perfect ending to the meal. After dinner, it was a delight to return to Hydrangea House - our room was kept immaculate throughout our stay and it was just so welcoming. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — We felt like royalty while staying here! Great location, fabulous breakfasts and wine hours
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NjJerzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

This is truly an upscale, beautiful b&b. Breakfast was excellent, each room is prettier than the next. My husband and I stayed in the Winter Garden Suite. Absolutely loved the two person jacuzzi tub as well as the two person marble shower. It was HUGE! Bed was ultra comfortable and the roof top balcony that led out from our room was very sweet. Dennis and Jamie were very nice and super helpful. We will definitely be back and will probably book the Carrie in Paris suite as I fell in love with the "feel" of it. I did get to peak in the Hydrangea, Chesterfield, Carrie (of course) and the Garden Gate Suites, all were very beautiful and charming. The location is also a perk being on one of the main strips. Definitely a wonderful stay with NO complaints. Loved the Hydrangea House!

  • Liked — Two person jacuzzi tub... definitely!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

In a town full of B&Bs, Hydrangea House really stands out. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We didn't meet the inkeepers and understand one was laid-up with a broken hand or wrist or something while we were there in mid/late June, but the staff was fantastic. We received a warm welcome/orientation, assistance with our luggage, help with restaurant reservations. Our suite (Dudley Newton) had a marble bath with a steam shower for two. Just outside was a great upper-level porch for reading right out the door. Bed was comfortable, toiletries were high-end and there were two small flat-screen TVs. In the living room was a large soaking tub. Bizarre placement, but nice feature! Late afternoon wine and cheese, breakfast and evening cookies were also first-rate.

One tip: Castle Hill Inn is a beautiful setting, but the restaurant has deteriorated. We've been traveling to Newport for 10 years, with and without kids, and eaten there a half dozen times over the years. It has hit rock bottom (i hope). We ate there this trip for our 10-year anniversary. We sat down 90 minutes after our reservation. There was no apology and no token gesture, like buying us a drink. The hostess just snidely said "we're very busy tonight and you are welcome to cancel your reservation." Where else were we going to go on a Friday night with no reservation?? Food was good, but not great and definitely not worth the wait. We enjoyed subsequent meals at Mama Luisa's and Tucker's. Much better!

  • Liked — Comfortable, well-maintained rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Like most B&Bs, no kids allowed!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank euronovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

We just returned from our three night stay at the Hydrangea House. This was our third stay at this inn; and it gets better with each time we visit Newport.

The innkeepers graciously appointed us to the Chesterfield suite to make our stay more comfortable. The room is magnificent, and is by far our favorite so far. I personally, had the best sleep in months. The bed and linens are extremely cozy. The square footage in the room made for an "at home" feel. The shower and the jacuzzi tub for two was fantastic.

Luckily the weather was wonderful and made our stay even better. This bed & breakfast is in an ideal location. It's in walking distance to just about everything in Newport. Why you will love this inn: convienient parking behind the inn, beautiful accomodations, delicious gourmet breakfasts, lovely staff with five star hospitality, great dinner recommendations, & individual in-room private baths.

I HIGHLY recommend this bed & breakfast. It is worth the dollar spent and you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The In-Room Amenities
  • Disliked — That We Had To Leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gorjus121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

My husband took me on a 3 night stay to Newport for my birthday. I did a lot of research before we picked the Hydrangea House and we were NOT disappointed!

What a beautiful place. We stayed in the Chesterfield Suite, which was simply beautiful, elegant, updated, clean, and soooo loaded with amazing features. We had a kind size poster bed that was like sleeping on a cloud, a HUGE jacuzzi tub for two, a double steam shower, plasma TV....oh i could go on and on...

The breakfast I am told are wonderful, I don't eat in the mornings but they did look yummy. The owners and staff are warm, friendly, and helpful. I thought that the location was also perfect.

The only problem I had was that the room was extremely warm. I am always warm and like to sleep with windows open and need the room cool at night to sleep. The windows in the bedroom did not open and i was extremely uncomfortable the 1st night. Luckily it cooled off outside the next 2 days and made the room a little bit better for me.

I was a little sad to leave, I liked feeling like royalty. If you are going to Newport and looking for a superior B&B don't look any further.

  • Liked — Location, rooms, staff
  • Disliked — room temp.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

My wife and I just returned from two wonderful nights at Hydrangea House. We live on the Cape and needed a quick bit of luxury. From the beautiful "Carrie in Paris" suite - to the decadent breakfasts and cookies. Twas grand. Great attention to the details, conversations about the area, good location! Not pretentious at all... Gentle, easy, warm... Our first visit to a B&B.
We were not quite sure- but we'll be back. ohhhh and the coffee!
tis bliss!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank aileuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing