We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Weaver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiral Weaver Inn
Ranked #79 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NICE B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Ive stayed at Admiral Weavers on 3 occasions in the past 2 yrs. 1st experience i was greeted by a sweet lady, very helpful she explained a few nices place to eat & have fun. Nice place wuite & peaceful. Breakfast was yummy eggs, pancakes, muffins, oj, ceral. Couldve used some meat just kidding, i am not Jewish & wasnt sure what kosher was but we adapted. Had nice converstaions with other guests at breakfast. Definately will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    3
    7
    13
See reviews for
15
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

"Renovations" looked like they were performed by a DIY hack. The room smelled. The bathroom had hand-written notes on how to flush the toilet. The GFI bathroom outlet was tied to bathrooms in other rooms. We found old moccasins and debris under the bed. Weeds ran rampant around the outside of the building. The "Continental Breakfast" consisted of hard-boiled eggs, some Kosher grape juice, some-sort-of bunt cake, and crackers. The sugar had to be chiseled out of the sugar bowl.

It's obvious the owner(s) fleece the guests and don't invest in improvements/maintenance; the owner(s) must use the inn as their ATM machine.

We're not Kosher, and the inn doesn't advertise itself as such on its website. It is uncomfortable when a religion you are not part of is thrust upon you when you don't expect it.

Otherwise, our time in Newport was awesome. As bad as the Admiral Weaver is, it couldn't take that away. The roof didn't leak and it beat sleeping in the back of a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newportSlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I took my wife on a surprise vacation to Newport, and we heard about this Kosher B&B. We arrived on Friday and were greeted by the Inn keeper Eugene. He was helpful in explaining to us where everything was and how things worked in terms of breakfast (this was our first time at a B & B). We were a little confused about the food situation in terms of bringing our own food b/c of the kashrut issues, so we ended up ordering Shabbat Lunch from the caterer that provided meals for people who chose to do so. The food was great, but way over priced, and I would not order form them again b/c I could bring my own food and warm it up with no problems.

I was bothered by the fact that the prices of the rooms were all the same, but they were not all the same size. We stayed on the second floor in the middle room, whereas the 2 rooms on either side of us were significantly larger. I would not stay there again for that reason alone since I did not think I was getting the value I paid for.

My wife and I did not eat breakfast on Shabbat morning b/c it was called for 8:30 - 10 AM and shul started at 8:45 AM and it was a 15 minute walk away. We didn't want to get to shul so late. I think breakfast should be available a bit earlier since both the shul and the Inn advertise freely for each other and should be accommodating in that manner.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was great. There was cereal, fruit, cake and muffins available as well as pancakes and scrambled eggs made to order. Apparently, this is not offered every day which surprises me since it says it is offered daily on the website.

I did not like that we had to sit with everyone at the same table for all the meals. When I go away with my wife for the weekend, its a bit awkward to sit with everyone else at the Inn. Makes it difficult to have any alone time while you eat. We ate in our room Friday night and we enjoyed it a lot more.

The room was neat and clean, and the A/C kept the room very cool considering it was 100 degrees outside most of the weekend. Our room was small compared to the other rooms. I was not a fan of the pink furniture, pink carpet, or pink paint on the walls. The water pressure was weak. There was a tv and vhs (there should be a dvd player, its 2011). There was NO fireplace, like thew website mentions.

We did enjoy hanging out on the porch on the second floor.

Room Tip: As for a larger room if you want one as they are all the same price, but not the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerSBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We don't think the photos look the same as they look on the websight. Although we arrived in the later part of the evening, we didn't receive a very courteous greeting. After checking in, we went to dinner & realized in order to close the front door, we needed to use our key to lock the deadbolt! Our room appeared to be clean but there was a noticable odor even though the windows had been left opened. We never met the innkeeper, Mary-Ellen, but our scrambled egg breakfast was prepared by Eugene, who seemed pleasant. We only stayed one night then found another more pleasant & enjoyable b&b. We've been to other inns and this one looks as though it needs some work done! We don't recommend staying @ this b&b, since there are so many others that are very charming & well-maintained!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariabrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

My husband and I keep kosher but have stayed at bed and breakfasts on a number of occasions because they are the only available hotels in the heart of some tourist areas. This means we are often left eating cold cereal and fruit while watching our fellow guests dine on the lavish spreads the hosts produce. So we were very excited to stay at a kosher B&B Memorial weekend. When we checked in on Sunday, the hostess specifically told us she would be making pancakes in the morning. I was very much looking forward to this. But when we came down Monday morning, the spread was...dun da dun...cold cereal and fruit. The hostess stated that it was too hot to cook. It was in the 70's. If it was too hot Memorial Day, it wasn't likely to get any cooler as the season progressed. She rather grudgingly offered to make us eggs, which I accepted, despite her obvious reluctance. I am rather annoyed with myself that I didn't demand the pancakes, since this hotel is the only kosher establishment in Newport or its vicinity, so it wasn't as though we would be able to get a satisfying lunch elsewhere. Other than that, the B&B was very pleasant, and in the heart of town, so walking distance to many attractions. The Rabbi of the nearby synagogue, the oldest in North America, is also the kosher supervisor, so he came for breakfast and it was very enjoyable getting to chat with him about the local Jewish history.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jypsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We came to Newport to "get away", and found the Admiral Weaver very convenient, and pleasant. It is not a fancy resort! It is a bed and breakfast. It is kept clean. The manager is very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there, would return there, and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

We stayed in the Admiral Weaver Inn with our children. The owner and innkeeper were very accomodating and very friendly. Everything was very clean and neat, though not necessarily luxurious. The innkeeper tried very hard to cook a full breakfast for every member of our family.. even though everyone requested something different! We loved Newport and loved the inn!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank speedy_debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#74 of 95 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.5 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Weaver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Weaver Inn

Property: Admiral Weaver Inn
Address: 28 Weaver Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Weaver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Admiral Weaver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing