We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little place”
Review of Jailhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jailhouse Inn
Ranked #20 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quirky little place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a single night as part of a New England road trip in late October 2013.
Great conversion in the historical part of Newport so good for walking around the sights. Fabulous sized room & beds with good bathroom facilities, friendly staff.
The only downside was the noise. The heating & plumbing is quite noisy and, as we had the first room off the reception area and near the communal coffee/breakfast area, there was frequent door banging and voices. OK for a single night but I'd have been annoyed if we stayed longer.
All in all, well done the owners.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear mandjmitchell: We'll take quirky as a compliment! The Jailhouse Inn, which was Newport's actual jail and police station from 1722 to 1986, is truly unique. Great care was taken during the renovation to provide modern comforts while preserving just the right amount of original detail and jail flavor.

As for your room on the first floor being noisy, it's true that the second and third floors may be a little quieter ... but they are also a little more expensive. The value and convenience of that first floor hallway is hard to beat. If I'm correct in assuming which room was yours (#2?), it had two queen beds, private bath, plus a sitting area with pull-out couch and flat-screen TV.

We're glad you enjoyed your experience for the most part! If you return again, please call or contact me directly, so I can be sure to offer you a different room. There are 23 in all, with a variety of sleeping arrangements, so plenty of choices.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your impressions!

Sincerely,

Sharon and the Jailhouse crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    104
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
58
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very comfortable place to stay in a great location in Newport for eating, shopping and seeing the sights. Parking included was really convenient. Breakfast, also included, had a good range of light breakfast fare. Would I be a return visitor? Of course.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed it this hotel for one night in two rooms
the rooms where big and comfortable
the hotel have very good location nice rooms and good service
the breakfast was simple
the only problem with this hotel is that there is no elevator and not suitabale to people with limits

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zguby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear zguby -- I am so glad you enjoyed the nice large rooms and friendly atmosphere at the Jailhouse. Our location is indeed very central, and parking is included, which makes a big difference in Newport. I'm sorry that our historic building has no elevator. We are glad, at least, to have an entry ramp providing access from the parking lot to first floor hallway of guestrooms. One of those rooms is handicapped-accessible. If you have occasion to visit us again, please call or email me directly, so I can be sure to offer you the room that best matches your preferences. Meanwhile, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your observations with others!

All best,

Sharon Riley, Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night stay in Newport RI. The Jailhouse Inn caught my eye each time I searched for places to stay, and it was good to go with my first instinct. Excellent location, especially with provided parking and the proximity to Thames St and the harbor. The staff was very helpful with every question on recommendations of places to eat and activities to do. The breakfast provided was full of choices, we enjoyed the afternoon cookies too! The beds and pillows were comfortable. I would recommend to my friends to stay here, and if we come back to lovely Newport, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorijp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear lorijp11: Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your positive, detailed comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Jailhouse: from location to parking to friendly staff to good beds to cookies! If and when you return, be sure to let us know you are a "repeat offender" so we can take extra special care of you. Of course, if any of your friends come to visit, we will take care of them, too!

All best wishes,

Sharon and the entire team at the Jailhouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had 3 nights here recently could have stayed a lot longer. We were on the ground floor a very large room comfortable bed plenty of light and positioned in the heart of Newport--easy!Although we were not travelling by car I did notice that parking was included which is rare for this town!Loved Newport,loved sitting on the front porch--great feel.
I Agree with all the reviews and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barc_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

In a very convenient location with harbour & shops just minutes away. Large, clean, comfortable rooms, which have retained the jailhouse essence and some original features. Nice range of toiletries and the parking & WiFi are an added bonus. We had a late breakfast but there was still plenty of choice. The important question is would I stay here again - definitely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMac31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room on the third floor was very comfortable and nice and clean. Breakfast was good - fresh fruit, baked goods, eggs and several cereal choices. The breakfast room was nice and cozy and the inn keepers were very accommodating. It was a.short walk to Thames St. And all the great restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Inn

Property: Jailhouse Inn
Address: 13 Marlborough St, Newport, RI 02840-2545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jailhouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772, The Jailhouse Inn is a restored colonial landmark. It is Newport's actual historic jail and police station. Located in the heart of downtown, the inn now features modern rooms with just a touch of the original "jail" theme. One block to harbor, restaurants, shops and visitor center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Jailhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing