We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience overall!”
Review of Jailhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jailhouse Inn
Ranked #19 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Point of Rocks, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience overall!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Start with the super location a few blocks up from the harbor, add a dose of history and folklore with the Inn's long past as a real jailhouse, reflected in decor and design accents held over from the past, then add fully updated and immaculately maintained rooms and you've got the Jailhouse Inn. The staff is not only friendly and responsive but also very knowledgable of the local scene and a great help to anyone making a first visit to Newport, as we were. The continental breakfast featured better variety than we expected and everything offered was very fresh.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 on the first floor which was spacious with windows on two walls-great light. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyS3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear TonyS3883:

It was such a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for choosing the Jailhouse — and thank you for sharing your impressions!

We love helping "first-timers" make the most of their maiden voyage to Newport. We also love it when people return year after year....

I hope we'll see you again!

All best,

Sharon and the Jailhouse crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    104
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
58
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rexford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at the inn. Very clean room albeit it small. Very convenient location for downtown shopping and dining. Air condition was noisy and pillows were very uncomfortable but we knew these things going in. What we couldn't have known was that our expensive bikes that were locked overnight in the inn's parking lot would be stolen. Management, which heretofore had been as accommodating as one would expect from a routine visit, was not terribly helpful. Other than calling the police for us and quickly disavowing any insurance liability, mgmt was disappointingly uninterested in the robbery. Don't think we will be returning.



Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mblalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Mblalbany:

We were so happy you returned for a second visit and feel awful about the loss of your bicycles. Believe me, we care. We care A LOT. We just don't know what else to do. We have a bike rack for guest convenience in our parking lot, beside the building, and our overnight staff routinely walks the lot throughout the evening, but they saw nothing suspicious. As you said, we called the police promptly and facilitated the police report. The police were going to charge you a fee to file the report, but we made sure that didn't happen. I certainly understand your disappointment (it's a terrible feeling) and wish it didn't reflect on an otherwise nice stay in downtown Newport. It may be pie in the sky, but we hope to see you again someday.

FYI: Because of this experience, we are telling all guests who arrive with bicycles that they may bring them into their rooms or lock them in our back hall if they wish. No matter where bicycles are stored, here and throughout Newport, we suggest the best bike locks possible. We really do care and don't want this to happen again .... to you or to anyone!

With all our best regards,

Sharon Riley, Inn Manager, and the Jailhouse staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was overall a very good experience. The innkeepers are great, very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is continental and on the last morning we decided to go out to breakfast. Rooms are very updated and spacious, flatscreen tv's and free wifi. The location is absolutely perfect. The only weird thing was they don't make the beds. Someone came in gave us new toiletries and towels and complimentary waters but they never made the beds. Never been to a place that doesn't do that. Would be 5 stars if they made the beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Anthony C:

We're so glad you enjoyed the rooms, location, and friendly staff at the Jailhouse. Rest assured, we do make beds! The only exception is when items (such as clothing, cell phones, laptops, money) are left on the bedding. We do not feel right moving personal items; I hope you understand. Usually we leave a note in the room if we have not made the bed for this reason. If we failed to leave a note for you, sincere apologies!

I'm happy that you considered your experience to deserve 5-stars aside from this misunderstanding ... I hope we'll have the opportunity to host you again!

Sharon Riley, Manager, and the Jailhouse crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoharie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent three nights in the basement room, which sleeps 5, including a double bed, single bed, sofa bed and folding bed. The room has free wifi, flat screen tv's, a fridge, air conditioning. It only has one bathroom which means lots of waiting of turns. It was very clean. They provided us with water every morning. There is a complimentary continental breakfast, which was enough to keep you going until lunchtime, and when we got back in the evening there was always freshly baked cookies on the side. Which was a nice touch. The building is the old jailhouse and has lots of old features inside, our room has lots of old brick arches. There is also free parking next door, and as it is basically in walking distance to most places in Newport, really cut down on parking charges.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Ian K:

We're glad you enjoyed staying in "gang lock-up" on the lower level. As you said, it accommodates 5 people in three separate rooms with one bathroom. This arrangement is very popular with families as well as boat crews. The basement space is surprisingly charming, with lots of historic detail, and represents a real value in downtown Newport — glad you agree!

Enjoy the rest of your summer, and THANK YOU for the positive review.

Best,

Sharon Riley, Inn Manager

p.s. We have only one of the 5-person units described above, so anyone interested should call or email as soon as possible to determine availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Intriguing concept, but there's little remaining that's historical about this place save for the exterior. Only plus was our "room" (#11) had a common entry with two separate bedrooms sharing a bathroom. Rooms were cramped. A bed bedside table, small dresser with the tv at an awkward angle for viewing. Window AC unit plugged into a adjacent wall via extension cord running across the floor. Bathroom similarly cramped. To say it was spartan would be an understatement.

The room was clean.

Continental breakfast self service and substandard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Zedd97511:

I'm glad you found the Jailhouse clean and intriguing. Our TOP priority is cleanliness, and we are very proud of our history as Newport's original jailhouse as well.

I'm surprised you didn't notice more historic features inside the building, as we have iron-barred doors in hallways and lobby, the original detective door, original gun safe, and an assortment of historic photos and artwork.

It's true that your bedroom was on the small side, but that's because you essentially had two bedrooms for the price of one! As you described, room #11 is one of our "split rooms" featuring two separate bedrooms with a single bath in-between. This is a popular and economical arrangement for families or individuals traveling together who prefer sleeping apart. Many of our other guestrooms (there are 23 in all) are rather large by comparison. We have a variety of sleeping arrangements, including one-king or two-queen beds in a larger room.

If you visit Newport again, and if we are lucky enough to be your choice for in-town accommodations, be sure to call or email us directly so we can describe the specifics of the available rooms. We do our very best to match every guest with the best room for his or her preferences.

You are RIGHT, by the way, that we need to improve the viewing angle of the flat-screen TVs in room #11. Thank you for pointing that out. We will deal with it promptly!

All in all, we hope you enjoyed your stay in downtown historic Newport.

Best regards,

Sharon Riley and the Jailhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First and foremost, I picked the Jailhouse house Inn after reading peoples " complaints" of hard beds. I need a very firm mattress due to a back issue. I've gone to hotels, Inns and B&Bs that due to the mattress being so darn soft, I would wake up with a headache and backache. So....
THANK YOU Jailhouse Inn for your Firm Mattresses.
That being said, we arrived early on July 3rd, was able to get in and situated. The cookies just came out of the oven and were delicious. Staff was friendly helpful and accomodating.
The location was perfect, my husband and I literally never drove our car once.
You can walk to the beach, the Cliffwalk, many many restaurants, and also the walk to the main street is a block before the jailhouse. You can relax on the porch and drink your morning coffee... Which by the way the breakfast was more than ample.
They had several coffees,teas and juices. Eggs, cheese,english muffins,bagels,waffles, several different kinds of fruit and yogurt.
Not sure what people expect??? Its an Inn.
Thank you Sharon- it was a fine stay!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, bedroom, plus sitting room, I think they deemed it solitRy confinement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustrelaxnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear mustrelaxnow:

I like your handle (must relax now!) and THANK YOU for the positive, informative review. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. It's true that people's preferences are different, in mattress firmness and everything else. We aim to please ... and we hope to see you again!

All best wishes,

Sharon Riley and the entire Jailhouse crew

p.s. About the room tip, your third floor room with sitting area was in the "premier" category. Glad you liked it! "Solitary confinement" is a smaller room on the lower level ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Made a reservation in March for July. Cancelled in April. Jailhouse charged me $25 cancellation fee for the "privilege" of making a reservation which I ate. 4 days before heading to Newport Jailhouse sends me an email telling me how excited they were that I was arriving soon. Spent an hour finding my cancellation number. Called manager Sharon Riley who laughed off my issue as a "computer glitch." I asked for my $25 dollar fee be refunded for her error. She said I was being unreasonable. Asked to speak to the owner and she refused. Since I stayed elsewhere in Newport I recouped my $25 by arriving each morning at the Jailhouse and consumed their free breakfast for 7 days for 2 people. It was just OK.
The kicker is when I arrived home I received another email thanking me for staying with them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Manager at Jailhouse Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Bob S (not your real name, nor are you from Newport):

Where to begin? Yes, we have a $25 cancellation fee, which is fairly standard practice throughout inns of Newport and other resort towns. It has nothing do with privilege. It's just that, without a fee, people sometimes make reservations to "hold" a spot. Then, if they cancel, especially closer to the reservation time, we may be left with an empty room. This is a significant problem for smaller establishments such as ours, because by then we have turned away other people who really wanted to be here! If guests must cancel but are able to reschedule, of course, we waive any/all fees.

I do recall our conversation in the spring when you cancelled; you didn't seem to have a problem with the fee, which is clearly stated on our website. The problem arose when I tried to explain that you also needed to cancel online, as that is how you made the original reservation. That's one reason why we always recommend making reservations directly with the inn, by phone or email, if possible. That allows us to provide individual advice and then to take care of any/all changes to a reservation ourselves. Apparently, you did not follow through with cancelling online, and that's why our computer reservation system thought you were still coming. You were reminded of your stay before you arrived and thanked for your stay after it was over — I'd call that a pretty nice system! Bear in mind, your initial deposit was refunded promptly, way back in the spring. There was no mix-up in terms of accounting, and we knew by virtue of your phone calls that you weren't coming — it really was a harmless glitch.

If you feel you got "payback" by enjoying our complimentary, continental breakfast for 7 days in a row, congratulations to you.

Best wishes in all your future travels!

Sharon Riley, Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Inn

Property: Jailhouse Inn
Address: 13 Marlborough St, Newport, RI 02840-2545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jailhouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772, The Jailhouse Inn is a restored colonial landmark. It is Newport's actual historic jail and police station. Located in the heart of downtown, the inn now features modern rooms with just a touch of the original "jail" theme. One block to harbor, restaurants, shops and visitor center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jailhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing