We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential New England Charm!”
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Peddler Inn
Ranked #26 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Quintessential New England Charm!”
Reviewed June 23, 2006

I had the good fortune of staying at the Yankee Peddler Inn with 3 girlfriends for a weekend get-away in June. Our friend responsible for booking this reservation was quite concerned after reading negative reviews so was quite nervous until we arrived. The minute we pulled in we were impressed with the ample parking and lovely location that was within walking distance to town. Upon entering the inn we were pleased with the warm reception and quaint atmosphere...just the peaceful environment the "doctor ordered"! Our rooms were clean and well-appointed, however small...just what you expect from a wonderful New England inn. Beds were comfortable, pillows aplenty, and linens were clean and fresh. Having bottled water available was a plus! We loved the "breakfast room"downstairs! The selection for breakfast was healthy, plentiful and yummy. This charming room was also a great gathering place at night for "byob" and snacks and gave us an opportunity to catchup out ot the earshot of the other guests. It was fun to imagine all who had passed through there over the years. In addition, we enjoyed the sunshine (when it finally appeared) on the wonderful upstairs deck...a super way to start the day! Management was also extremely pleasant and helpful. If you are looking for a "cookie cutter" stay with all of the hoopla that goes with the "expected"... stay in a chain hotel. If you want the peace and charm that New England has to offer stay at the Yankee Peddler Inn in Newport, RI...we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    35
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
115
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My family and I stayed at the YPI earlier this month as to attend the "Newport Chowder Festival" and also visit the Mansions and Wineries. We booked a 2 BR suite (there are 4)and happily caught a "Special" promotion. We were greeted warmly by the staff, given a $60 coupon towards dinner at a local restaurant (which was great by the way)... and... a bottle of wine! Very cool! My wife and daughter (11yo) loved the canopy beds. We enjoyed the walk to downtown Newport, which took less than 10 minutes. Needless to say, we parked our CRV in their lot, and didn't have to worry about it. Thier lot isn't that big, however, they are aware of it and bend over backwards to be accommodating. Also, they recommended some great restaurants while we were there. Breakfast was wonderful in the ... relaxed and comfortable... coffee was hot and we loved the mugs! Lastly, my daughter left something behind in our room and our new friend "Tammie" went out of her way to send it to her at her expense!. Staying at the Yankee Peddler Inn was like staying with friends...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2006

My son and I, while attending college campus tours in Rhode Island, spent the weekend in Newport at the Yankee Peddler at the recommendation of a friend familiar with the area. After a few days on the road it was like coming home, especially compared to the more modern accomodations of the previous nights. The staff that we met, and Laura, the manager couldn't have been more accommodating, cheerful, and helpful in answering our questions about getting around, places to see, etc. We loved our room, a two bedroom suite on the first floor, perfect for mother and 19 yr old son. Linens were fluffy, fresh and clean, and in abundance. Four poster bed was luxurious and very comfortable. Breakfast downstairs cozy, with nice variety, especially liked the unsweet options like boiled eggs, ham, etc you don't find at most inns. Coffee and hot water for tea available downstairs around the clock which was great, and plenty of bottled water in the room all the time. The inn's proximity to downtown made it possible to walk everywhere without the hassle of trying find parking, yet the neighborhood seemed fairly quiet. If you're looking for charm, character, comfort, and convienience, with reasonable prices and friendly staff, I would recommend the Yankee Peddler Inn!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank majel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I booked two rooms for a "girls" weekend at the Yankee Peddler via Hotels. Then I read the reviews and needless to say I was very concerned. Our time at the Yankee Peddler Inn was marvelous. The rooms were clean, beds comfy and the staff pleasant. The "morning room" in the basement was charming and provided a gathering place where we ate and drank "carry in" without disrupting the house. On-site parking was a plus and without problems. This inn is old but quaint with nice ambeiance and cozy. I loved it and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwomanLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Beware, this inn has abysmal customer service. Better to spend your money elsewhere!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I must admit we was pretty nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but we were pleasantly suprised. We stayed with our two year old son on the first floor in the room next to the front desk. I would describe the room as spacious, clean,charming and simply comfortable. We felt as if we were staying with family because the staff was so friendly and accomadating. We experienced a stay that felt much more personable and relaxed than the five star hotel located down the street. I think the one critism about our stay would be about the common area in the basement. It was very cozy and Coffee and tea are available with some prepackaged cookies, cereal and a fruit bowl. More of a grab and go type layout. It was nice that there was a small fridge in the kitchenette area to keep milk for our toddler but I would also suggest that the inn update the kitchenette with a more cleanable floor surface.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank travelupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 18, 2005

My daughter and son-in-law booked us a room at the Yankee Peddler Inn for the Veteran's Day weekend. We found the Inn to be a charming space. Our room was large, with 3 oversized windows which provided ample lighting, and a large bathroom. The room was immaculate and the beds, while not the most confortable I have ever slept on, were adequate. The staff at the Inn couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. The breakfast room was cozy and comfortable with ample food for any taste: the Inn's convenience to the shopping and dining on Thames Street is definitely one of it's best assets. My husband and I also brought along another couple who found their accommodations just as suitable as we did.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#33 of 95 in Newport
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#65 of 95 in Newport
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Property: Yankee Peddler Inn
Address: 113 Touro St, Newport, RI 02840-2968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing