We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for newport”
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Peddler Inn
Ranked #26 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Fantaistc traditional hotel in the centre of newport town. It's a really old building but looks good. Each room is prepared well but very small (just about good enough if you are 2 people). The main attractions on the island are walking distance including the port and mansions. Breakfast is contental with normal bread, jams, bagel and cereal. They have a fantastic nighttime balcony for star gazing on the 3rd floor. Make sure you check it out.

Make sure you visit the mansions and go on a cruise to one of the islands in newport.

Overall a great stay for us. And recommended for you if you want to stay somewhere unique.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear DeepakTailor:

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Yankee Peddler. Thank you for taking time to share your impressions with others.

Yes, the mansions and harbor tours are highlights for many visitors. It's wonderful to experience Newport by land and by sea ... and our location makes it easy to do just that. We are, as you said, within easy walking distance of the waterfront and many historic sights as well as numerous restaurants and shops.

As for our guestrooms, some are small but some are rather large, including several two-bedroom suites. If you have occasion to visit Newport again, please call or email us directly to make your reservation, so we can describe the options and place you in the room that best meets your preferences.

All in all, September is a wonderful time to visit Newport, so I'm glad you had that experience (rooptop star-gazing and all!). October is a great month, too, with all mansions and tour boats maintaining a full schedule through Columbus Day.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Laura Coggeshall and the Yankee Peddler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a carriage house room at the Yankee Peddler Inn. The room was small but met our needs. The staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious and I appreciated the gluten free bagels! The Inn is strategically positioned to allow you access to the harbor or the mansions on foot. It is also easy to walk to excellent dining. Overall, I would recommend the Yankee Peddler Inn.

Room Tip: If you prefer a larger room the carriage house rooms might not meet your needs. Check ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was incredible. The carried my luggage to the 3rd floor as well as an ironing board & iron. The rooms were clean & well cared for. Outside roof deck. Excellent choices for breakfast. Just up the street from Touro Synagogue and a block from the top of Bellevue Ave. I walked everywhere from here, but it is also on the bus line.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allbackwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A comfortable Inn just a few blocks away from the harbor. We came for our daughter's graduation weekend -close enough to URI. The rooms were clean and well stocked with all we needed. We love the old inn style. Enjoyed the staff. The front desk staff was knowledgeable, and directed us to wonderful area restaurants.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is in what seems to be an old converted house, it has a good amount of character and big spacious rooms. It's situated quite close to everything that is going on down on the water front and the staff were very informative about the area on our arrival. We felt welcome and well looked after

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Theo L:

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive impressions!

Yes, the Yankee Peddler is an historic home. It was built in the 1830s for a Boston mariner and naval officer named Nathaniel Amory. One of its later owners was George Douglas Brewerton, a Newport native who became a noted painter in the Hudson River School. We have a reproduction of one of his paintings (a seascape) hanging in the downstairs hall — did you notice it while you were here?

Today, of course, what matters most is that we are a comfortable "home" for visitors like you who enjoy staying in the heart of historic Newport! As you said, the inn has good-sized rooms (20 in all) and is very well-located — it's an easy walk to many restaurants, shops, Bellevue Avenue and Newport Harbor. Free parking, wifi and continental breakfast make staying at the Yankee Peddler even more convenient. We aim to provide the best in casual hospitality and local knowledge, too!

Again, thanks for your help in spreading the word ... we hope someday you will join us again!

Laura Coggeshall, Manager, and the team at the Yankee Peddler Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Yankee Peddler Inn is a great stop for Newport. It has a fantastic location, close to the wharfs, and fantastic service, very helpful and friendly. A major drawback was the noisy rooms. You could hear everything going on elsewhere on your floor, and the air conditioner was noisy. Other than that, the Yankee Peddler is a great place to stop by.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jaxter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear jaxter4,

Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are so glad you enjoyed our walkable location and friendly service in central, historic Newport. Apologies that you found the air-conditioner a bit loud. We are just so grateful to HAVE air-conditioning, as this summer has brought several unusual stretches of hot weather.

I hope you will come visit us again! If so, please call or email directly, so we can place you in the best specific room for your preferences.

Best wishes,
Laura Coggeshall, Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We planned a trip to Newport two days in advance on the July 4th weekend, so almost everything was booked. We got the last room at this B & B and at $350.00 a night for a two queen sized bed suite at the last minute in a good location....I think that was fair. There is nothing fancy or glamorous about this place, but it is clean, quiet, safe, and in a very good location. It is only a 5 minute walk to the central areas of shopping and eating on Thames, off of a quiet street. No loud party noises like hotels nearer to Thames. Newport gets pretty crazy Saturday night on Thames, so it ended up being a good choice. Even though we did not have a water view, it did not matter, since for that you simply walk up and down Thames or do the Cliff Walk or take a great sail around the bay like we did on the Aquidneck. It was fun and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckeyelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear buckeyelove,

I'm glad we were able to accommodate you over the Fourth of July weekend! We have a variety of sleeping arrangements that include one or two beds — it sounds like the two-queen suite was perfect for your needs.

As you said, the Yankee Peddler offers a very central and wonderfully walkable location. With free parking and continental breakfast, too, we really are a fair value for downtown Newport. And don't forget the third-story deck! We may not be on the water, but we can SEE the sparkling harbor over the rooftops of historic Newport. It's just a few blocks away.

We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Best wishes,

Laura Coggeshall, Manager, and the Yankee Peddler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St, Newport, RI 02840-2968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $146 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing