We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location isn't everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yankee Peddler Inn
Ranked #32 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location isn't everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were very excited to spend the weekend at the Yankee Peddler Inn, however we were disappointed. It is very clean and is located in a great spot near all the shops and mansions. Unfortunately, that's all. The "breakfast" was continental and very unimpressive. It consisted of yogurt, toast your own English muffin or bread, cereal, juice and coffee. Not my idea of the breakfast at a hotel that is categorized as a bed and breakfast. As for our room, we ordered a deluxe room. I'm not sure what part of deluxe is a lumpy bed with no headboard, or no phone to call the front desk. The bed was so uncomfortable that my boyfriend wanted to check out and go to another hotel. The mix-matched furniture and artwork in the room wasn't deluxe either. We felt as though we were put up in the attic spare room which had an old mattress in it of a great aunt's house. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1982lisadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear gooddeal23,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and found your room to be exceedingly clean -- all of us here at the Yankee Peddler take great pride in cleanliness!

As for disappointment stemming from the expectation of a "bed and breakfast," this is at least in part an issue of categorization. We are a 20-room "inn" in a larger, historic home with adjacent carriage house, but Trip Advisor and other online entities often place inns and B&Bs (typically smaller and more intimate) in the same category. We do specify whenever/wherever possible that our complimentary breakfast is continental, and many guests tell us they like it exactly as it is: casual, flexible, serve-yourself.

It should also be said that we represent a very good value in downtown Newport!

We have a variety of room types at the Yankee Peddler Inn, including larger first and second floor rooms with canopy beds. I wish we had known you were unhappy, as we may have been able to offer another room you found more comfortable. In the event you'd like to visit us again, please call me directly so I can make sure your particular room meets your expectations. If not, we wish you the best in all your travels!

Best regards,

Laura Coggeshall, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    76
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
33
106
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'm not sure how it compares to other hotels in the area in terms of cost, but I suspect it was on the lower end, as we were looking for something "very reasonably priced" and my sister made the reservation based on cost. It's an old home converted to a hotel, rather than a classic B&B. It was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants and the Newport Art Museum, but just a bit off the beaten trail, so it wasn't right in the middle of everything. I liked that. The desk service was very good, and available 24/7. The bedroom was VERY roomy, but in general the furnishings - while antique - weren't quite as charming as I've experienced in historic B&Bs, and I don't believe there was a parlor for visiting. Breakfast was a totally cold continental affair, and the dining room itself was hotel-style with several small tables, rather than B&B style which I think of as having one large dining room table in a gracious home-like dining room. This was in the basement, which I liked, curiously. Something about the white-washed stone and brick walls was appealing, and it was cheerful and had character. But I do prefer some hot choices in the morning, and the closest we got to that was the English muffins. The bathroom was attractive and clean, but not particularly functional. There was absolutely nowhere to put my toiletries bag, (fortunately my bag had a hook and I was able to hang it from the towel rack) and the sink was a small pedestal with zero counter space. No place to even put the clothes I was going to wear after my shower. With all the room in the bedroom, they could have put in a nice vanity with a mirror and power source so we ladies would have a place to do our skin-care, makeup, and hair. I don't think there was a full-length mirror anywhere, come to think of it. And there was only ONE outlet that we could find in the room, so we ended up unplugging the lamp to recharge my cell phone. (And the plug kept falling out of the outlet.) Oh, there also were no luggage racks, so we opened our suitcases on the floor. They DID have WiFi. While we enjoyed our one-night stay, in the future I think I would stay elsewhere, ESPECIALLY if it is for more than one night. To me, a hot breakfast, bathroom convenience, and plenty of places to plug in electronics is important. If you're on a budget, it may be VERY good for the price, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Bernadette M,

Thank you for all your suggestions. You have put your finger on the charm (and occasional shortcomings) of an historic property.

Yes, some of our bathrooms are on the small side ... but we are happy to offer nice, private baths in each room! Yes, we represent a good value compared with many downtown Newport properties. And, yes, we offer a continental breakfast rather than a full, hot breakfast.

The Yankee Peddler is, in fact, an "inn" rather than a B & B. The difference is subtle, but with 20 guestrooms in two buildings we would need a very long dining-room table! Most guests say they enjoy our casual, flexible approach of a serve-yourself breakfast, then everyone gets on their way, on their own schedule, for a busy day.

In the hot category, we recently added freshly-baked muffins and croissants to our selection. And of course the coffee is ALWAYS hot. We also have a wonderful variety of teas.

Wherever your travels take you, be happy and well ...

Best regards,

Laura Coggeshall (Manager) and the entire Yankee Peddler crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me say to start, this place was half the price of anywhere else in Newport and much nicer than the B&B my husband and I stayed in last year (for our Honeymoon. this year was our first anniversary). As with most of the historical B&B's, the rooms are small, so they're a little cramped, that's not really an issue. The rooms are well furnished, clean and cute. the bed was very squeaky, but comfortable.
We stayed in the Carriage House, which is separate from the main building, there's several rooms in the Carriage House. For breakfast, we walked over to the common room/breakfast room in the main house. breakfast was okay. they don't have big kitchen so it's not a huge variety breakfast, but they made an effort, and had more than a typical continental. there was pastry and muffins and bagels and waffles (toaster variety, but that's fine), they also had hard boiled eggs and ham, which was nice. there are cookies in the common room in the evening.

What cost them the last star was the internet situation. The main house has wifi and the carriage house doesn't. We didn't see this indicated anywhere on the site when we booked, it could be made clearer. Since we like to choose restaurants for the day based on yelp and tripadvisor reviews and we like to map it out before we start walking, this was a pretty big inconvenience. There was wifi in the common room, but it means we had to go into the main building with our netbook, then back to our room before setting out. If it had been made clearer which rooms have internet and which don't, we probably would have booked a different room, one in the main house, because this is something we care about. if it's not something you care about, the Carriage House is lovely.

The only other thing worth mentioning is that the parking situation is a little tight. they have JUST enough spaces for rooms, so if they're booked up, they ask you to park blocking someone and leave your keys in case they need to move your car to let the other people out. Make sure you tell them if you have a standard, since some of the staff apparently can't drive them (and they'll try to find a space where they won't have to move your car). It didn't come up during our trip in October, but apparently it can be an issue. they were very up front about that and I'm really just glad they had free parking.

Room Tip: Carriage House has no wifi, main house does
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Happy belated anniversary! We are glad you enjoyed your return visit to Newport and that you appreciated the value, cleanliness, décor, walkable location, continental breakfast and free parking of the Yankee Peddler Inn. About the wifi: our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We hope to remedy the situation by "extending" our signal so that it reaches to the carriage house before we re-open for the 2013 season. (The Yankee Peddler is closed from mid-November to mid-April.) At the very least, we hope you enjoyed some cookies and tea while you did your online restaurant research in the main house. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a couple of nights at the Yankee Peddler in October. It is ideally located on "historic hill" and is clearly an old building. Staff were helpful throughout our stay and the breakfast was complimentary too, as was afternoon tea and biscuits. Our room was in the carriage house, next to the main building and was quite large despite being in the basement. There are plenty of seats to relax in in the grounds of the hotel. The hotel is close to Washington Square where there are many hstoric buildings. Walk into town for a variety of restaurants to suit all budgets. We walked to the start of the Cliff Walk from the hotel, completed that walk and then returned by foot along Bellevue Avenue past the mansions. A full day, but it does show the convenience of the hotel's location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a room in the Carriage House. We were welcomed by a friendly young woman who gave us advice about places to eat that evening. My husband found our room to be cramped.In the morning there was no bread for toast at breakfast, the handle came off the bathroom door and the toilet flooded the bathroom floor.
I found the Yankee Peddler Inn quaint, my husband was disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigred88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one night in this lovely B&B. The staff was so friendly, the rooms were well maintained, clean, and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was served in a cute downstairs "bistro" style room. There's even a roof deck with tiny lights strung along the railing and deck chairs to enjoy the Newport nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
725 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I chose this place for it's location which is very handy to the Tennis Museum and the waterfront.
The greeting was good and there's a place to park but we were packed in like sardines. It was however, complimentery.

We had room 9 which was actually 2 rooms. The beds were high but extremely comfortable. It was also surprisingly quiet. The bathroom was tiny but OK.

There's a couple of ground floor rooms if you can't do stairs but there is no lift and the stairs are steep. The terrace is very pretty but the ash trays smelt and needed to be emptied and there is no actual view apart from roof tops.

My biggest gripe was the breakfast which was completely self service. The bakery products were stale and unappetising and there wasn't any sort of clearing away service. It lets the place down. If this was improved then it'd be a reasonable option.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment upon your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our ideal location, free parking, comfortable beds and more. We are sorry our breakfast was not to your liking but feel this was, at least in part, a problem of expectations.

The Yankee Peddler is a 20-room "inn" offering complimentary continental breakfast. This is different from many "bed and breakfast" establishments where the emphasis is on a full-service, gourmet breakfast. Truth is: most guests tell us that they enjoy our casual, do-it-yourself approach. Our breakfast selection (available from 7:30-10:30 a.m.) includes bagels, croissants, English muffins, ham, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, danish, toaster waffles, cereals, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice and fruit. We also offer cookies and tea in the afternoon and complimentary wine and cheese on Friday and Saturday evenings.

We do take all comments to heart, so perhaps we will expand our continental breakfast offerings even further next year. Freshly-baked breads and muffins come to mind ... stay tuned!

And, most importantly, thank you for staying with us at the Yankee Peddler Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#30 of 96 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#18 of 96 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 96 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#75 of 96 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 96 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#29 of 96 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Property: Yankee Peddler Inn
Address: 113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing