We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish grand-dame in yachtie town”
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Peddler Inn
Ranked #27 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Stylish grand-dame in yachtie town”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Lovely old-world inn with friendly staff, large rooms, comfortable beds, fridge and decent ensuites. Onsite parking was a huge plus, as there wasn't much street parking around.
Included breakfast was down in the basement with a good selection.
Rooftop terrace was lovely in the late afternoon.
Far enough away from the busy main street in Newport for quiet, but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    32
    12
    14
See reviews for
33
109
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn is an older character property with tasteful furnishings and very helpful staff. I enjoyed a relaxing sit out on the rooftop deck on a warm autumn afternoon. The cold buffet breakfast was good - there was plenty of choice for adults and children alike and a huge variety of teas if that's your thing. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The wireless internet connection was not great in the coach house where our room was, but that's a minor point. We were able to leave our car in the car park after check out for a few hours, which was great as the Yankee Peddler is in a great location for a stroll into town and a look around the shops. We'd stay here again if we were to return to Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grecofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a nice coincidental find this place was. You could get a field of what this place was 200 years ago. Nice comfortable quaint place on a great location and town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This lovely B&B is a perfect fit for Newport. All you need in a B&B is a comfy bed, clean bathroom, working airconditioning and a lockable door and Yankee Peddler delivers all of this in spades. My room was always immaculately cleaned, staff were great and very friendly. The carpark waas another massive bonus for this B&B as Newport does have parking issues. I enjoyed my stay and would love to stay in my return in January however the Yankee Peddler does take the winter off so I will need to find another Newport inn.

Room Tip: if you do not like sree noise ask for a room in the back of the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Clean, Friendly staff, great room, nice breakfast, close to waterfront would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Staying in this Inn's carriage house was a pleasure. I have read that others found the room climate control to be off, but we had a very cozy room, reasonably priced right in the historic district of Newport. We enjoyed the afternoon tea and breakfast and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The only drawback, and not for me, was for my sports loving spouse who had to watch ESPN on a very small TV screen... we had to pull the desk over to the end of the bed... wires would go no further!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I took a quick, last minute weekend getaway to Newport, RI, during the Memorial Day weekend. As expected, much of the hotels and inns in the area were booked or otherwise very pricey! Yankee Peddler Inn had available rooms for the night that we wanted at a very reasonable price. As others have commented, this is not a luxury hotel (but we were not paying those prices either!). It feels a bit like a large B&B. Our room was on the 2nd floor, which was pretty spacious. The adjoining private bath was tiny, but it was clean and had some toiletries available. The bed was comfortable and had lots of pillows! I actually liked the minimal decoration. The room also had couple of bottled waters, which was appreciated. The breakfast was self-service, with good array of options, including hard boiled eggs, cold ham, pastries, muffins, breads, and cereal. There was also a freshly made quiche that was brought out. The location of the Inn was great as we were able to walk to restaurants and stores. Yankee Peddler Inn is a reasonably priced accommodation with quirky charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicoastal_cupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 95 in Newport
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#19 of 95 in Newport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Property: Yankee Peddler Inn
Address: 113 Touro St, Newport, RI 02840-2968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing