We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!!!”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #19 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2006

My husband and I had booked a hotel online for our honeymoon and when we arrived we were not happy with the location since it was far from everything in Newport. That is when we found this hotel. They were awesome!! They accomodated us last minute and set us up at a GREAT rate. The staff was very nice, right in the middle of Newport, tons of restaurants and shops everywhere, right on the water, awesome view, good breakfast... we couldn't have been happier. They made our honeymoon a memorable one.

Stayed: August 2005
1  Thank sp_ken82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2006

We booked this with great trepidation having read some of the reviews on here. However, we had a great 2 night stay. The welcome was good, our room was lovely - we had 3 children with us and had a room that had an upstairs built in, there was ample room for the 5 of us. It was spotless and the bathroom was lovely. There was some initial confusion regarding a travel crib we had booked but the staff worked hard to resolve that quickly for us. OK, the breakfast might not be the greatest but there is lots of choice. The staff told us to make ourselves at home and we helped ourselves to tea etc from the breakfast room whenever we needed it. A great location too.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank babiesonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

My husband and I were hoping for a lovely evening away from Boston to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived no one was in the reception area and we had to wait for at least 5 minutes for someone to arrive. I am typically not one to complain, but here goes.

When we entered the room, at first I was really pleased. The room looked very nice. Then I walked into the bathroom and noticed it had not been cleaned. There was no toilet paper, there was[--] on the toilet, there were towels on the floor, the glasses were dirty, and there was hair and dust all over the floor.

We had to leave quickly to go to evening plans, so since there was once again no one at the reception desk, I left a note saying that our bathroom had not been cleaned and we needed toilet paper.

When we returned I was hoping for a clean bathroom. Instead, the towels that were once on the floor were not just drapped over the towel rack, there was toilet paper, but the floor, the glasses and the toilet was still dirty.

Getting pretty frustrated at this point because we paid way too much to have a dirty room. So, we asked the receptionist to please come and clean the bathroom. (I knew this was not her job, and she made it clear it was not her job, but she came.) The bathroom was a little better, but definitely not CLEAN. The floor was dirty, there was still [--] on the toilet and she did not even give us clean towels.

As we headed to bed, I continued to be frustrated with the dirt, but tried to put it behind me. Then when I laid something on the nightstand, I couldn't believe the layer of dust that was there. It was crazy. There was dust all over all of the furniture in the room. It made me wonder if the sheets on the bed were even clean. We both have allergies and when we woke up we couldn't breathe because of all the dust. The room felt like it hadn't been cleaned in 100 years.

The continental breakfast provided by the Inn was completely lame! There were no clean plates or spoons and the food selection was quite modest. There are too many really fun places to eat in Newport to waste your time with THIS continental breakfast!

On Monday morning we called the manager to complain about the dirty room, and she said all she could take off is $20 because that's how much she pays for housekeeping. We were furious! We paid WAY TOO MUCH for the condition of the room.

We will never stay at the Harborside Inn again and if you want to spend your money wisely, you won't stay there either. I think the Econo Lodge down the street would have been a cleaner more friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelinCherokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We had a pretty good stay at the Harborside Inn in Newport, but the room was slightly under par.

The location couldn't have been better. We were within walking distance of all the activity in Newport. Internet was free. The views were great from the spacious balcony. The room was overall quite large, but the bathroom was very cramped.

Maintenance at the hotel is poor. The bathroom door wouldn't stay closed. The balcony door wouldn't lock. The front door had been kicked in at some point and was never fixed properly. Just seeing the split door jamb was a bit unnerving. The door would close and lock, buy you wonder about a hotel where doors have been kicked in. The hair dryer would tend to blow the circuit breaker, which was quite inconvenient. The TV was pointed toward the couch, and you had to reposition it to watch from bed. The cable box cord was too short, and it was perched precariously on top of the TV, so it would fall off when you tryed to move it. Most hotels at least have a swivel arrangement. The towels were worn out about five years ago, and were paper thin with hanging threads. There was a breakfast room which was very close to our room, and some guy from the midwest would laugh too loud at 7:30 in the morning while getting his free morning muffin. I like to sleep in a bit when I'm on vacation. This wasn't the place to sleep in too long.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

I love Newport, RI. Unfortunately we had some problems at the Harborside Inn. The location is excellent. The room was comfortable, but we found urine stains in our bathroom from the prior occupant. Our AC unit was broken, and when we informed the front desk, they said they'd take care of it, but never did. The TV in front of the master bed had no remote. The continental breakfast was really bad. The dairy products were past expiration(cream cheese, yogurt). The coffee was bad, the common area was not clean, and the silverware when there was any was dirty. We weren't impressed with the Mansion Tour package, as my wife and I each received one coupon for one Mansion visit. In our opinion, it didn't live up to its billing. Upon check out, the front desk was unable to generate our final bill due to their printer malfunctioning. We hope we'll get the bill in the mail for our records. In our opinion the price did not match the level of service we expected, and it would be difficult to recommend this place to our friends or others.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tmcgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
rhoide island
11
Reviewed June 23, 2006

we just returned from our stay in newport at the harborside inn.This was a wonderful 3 days.the harborside inn was a pleasant surprise ,being nervous about staying in an inn,this was far from what we expected.The harborside was extremely clean and roomy.The man at the front desk was great.Although when we checked in we did not recieve our gift cert. to dinner or our bottle of wine we called the front desk and they immediatly brought everything up to us.Try the black pearl outside bar it was great music,great food,and the bartenders were fun.The harborside was right in the middle of everything,we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bethel, CT
13
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Just got back from spending two days in Newport for my birthday. My boyfriend was skeptical about staying in an "Inn," but we were both was very impressed.

We loved the loft style of the room, which was huge!! We could have easily stayed there for a week and not felt like we were living out of our suitcases. Our room had a king size bed, a pull out couch, and a queen size bed with a separate TV in the loft. The room temperature was perfect, it was very clean, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast served in the room overlooking the harbor.

The staff was also very friendly and accomodating. The young man at the front desk gave us a great recommendation for dinner and even offered to find directions to a mini golf place outside of Newport.

I would definitely stay at The Harborside Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#11 of 21 in Newport
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 1 Christies Landing, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $134 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harborside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal waterfront location in downtown Newport, RI. Fifteen rooms and lofted suites with private balconies overlooking the water or historic cityscape. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi incuded. Friendly service, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing