We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasurable trip to Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #18 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pa.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasurable trip to Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were two couples that stayed at the Harborside Inn over the Jewish holiday. We were very surprised at how much we really enjoyed our stay. We had clean rooms that overlooked the harbor and were next to the "breakfast room". What a convenience ! Everymorning there were eggs, ham, muffins, danish and several kinds of ceral at our disposal. In the afternoon they have wine and cheese for those that would like to nosh. It was perfect as a meeting point every morning with our coffee as to what we would do that day. Felt like europe.

Made reservations for dinner at the "Fluke" resturant, which was within walking distance of the Inn. It is a small cozy upscale bar with an excellent choice of wonderful drinks, which we totally loved. I had a small dinner plate of crabcakes, which were delicious. We liked it better than some of the larger places there on the wharf. Topped it off at the new 41N, which is in front of the Harborside Inn, where we had i drink. Expensive, but a beautiful setting over the water. Even if you just have one drink there, it is worth it for the ambiance.

Lunch the next day at the Castle Inn out past the Ocean drive. This is our favorite and always will be. Sunday Jazz brunch out on the patio and then take a seat out on the adirondack chairs and watch the lovely boats go by all afternoon. Service at the chairs makes it complete.

Sunday we planned a picnic out at Brenton State Park, which was late about 4:00 p.m. A beautiful setting with the ocean as a backdrop. A wonderful way to end a perfect beautiful weekend. Love Neport and all four of us hope to return next year, same time.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor or water view. LOfts face complete harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fouryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F, Manager at Harborside Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment upon your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Yes, Newport offers a wealth of restaurant choices and diversions, many within easy walking distance of the Harborside. And our breakfast room overlooking Newport Harbor is a bright, cheerful gathering space for all, whether guests choose a waterfront, waterview or city-view room or suite for their own accommodations.

One minor clarification: we offer wine and cheese on Saturday evenings only, and that's from May to November. Complimentary tea and cookies, on the other hand, are available every afternoon all year long.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions of Newport and the Harborside Inn. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Sincerely,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
100
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I wanted lodging that felt very "New England" and got that and more ! You can't beat the location of this Inn! The kids LoVED the loft space and so did my husband and I! It gave us the ability to all be together but have privacy at the same time. definitely a perfect family destination! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradroxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

....you wouldn't know it WAS there.
With all the stately hotels and antique Bed and Breakfast choices in Newport, we often return to the quaint Harborside Inn, located on Christie's Landing. Situated above the row of shops and stores, this hidden gem is an immaculate and comfortable place to escape the crowds.
You can park the car and easily walk up and down Thames Street, walk to the Brickmart or to the wharfs to do most of your shopping and site-seeing. Dozens of dining choices are nearby as are harbor tours and other activities.
Our room was on the second floor, overlooking a small inlet and the only noise came from the seagulls. Sure the place is old and the bathrooms are tiny, but the wonderful Breakfast/snack room, excellent location and friendly staff make Harborside Inn feel just right.

Room Tip: Ask for waterview and not parking lot view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Harborside from Sunday to Friday the week before Labor Day. We are a family of 4 with 2 very young children (2 and 1 years old). The price and location relative to other suite hotel options in Newport is what sold us. We stayed in a City view suite (room 8) and it was perfect for our needs; the city view suites have actual staircases to the loft vs. the ladders used in the harbor view suites which was important as we had young children. The room had a loft which allowed us to put the kids to sleep early upstairs and still have the rest of the room for ourselves at night. We brought our own child safety gate in case our 2 year decided to get out of the bed. I would not describe the accomodations as luxurious (bedding, bath fixtures) but the space worked great for us. The only complaint I'd say we had was that the bed we slept on downstairs was very hard. We found the breakfast to be totally sufficient for our needs...cereals, bagels/pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, juice...great for the early morning eating of our children and good for us. The location is absolutely perfect. It is right on Christie's Landing about a 5 minute walk from the center of the action at Bannisters Wharf and a very close drive to the beach, mansions, etc. We would definitely recommend the Harborside to friends...just know what to expect...for us it was a great room/space in a great location with small inn friendly service...but you should not expect a full service luxury hotel experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is second to none, however the hotel failed to impress. The hotel website promises luxury but no way is this place in that category.
The room which initially seemed very nice did not stand up to closer scrutiny. The bottom sheet on the bed had a stain on it and the pillows smelt decidedly unclean. Behind the bed on top of the plastic covering over the wiring was what must have been several months of dust.
The breakfast, which their website stated was continental was most definitely not to a European continental standard and was in fact decidedly average.
On our first night we had very noisy guests above us and after complaining to the lady on reception and after several attempts on her part, eventually peace was restored. We cannot fault her for her assistance in this matter. However, the next day we thought we may get approached by the daytime reception as to whether things were resolved to our satisfaction. In fact this did not happen and so upon leaving the hotel for the day we dropped by the reception to enquire if our problems had been reported. We were told that they had been reported but the further response was although adequate, very unsympathetic.
Hiwever, we have to say that Newport itself is a wonderful place, full of very interesting and fascinating places to visit and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenewsalopians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F, Manager at Harborside Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment upon your experience at the Harborside Inn. We are glad you enjoyed our central, waterfront location in downtown Newport but sorry you found other aspects of your stay less than ideal. Most guests find our complimentary continental breakfast — freshly baked muffins, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee — to offer a nice variety of options. If there is something else you feel should be included, please let us know, so that we might improve. Honestly, there is nothing more satisfying to us than a satisfied guest! The same applies to linens: if only we had known there was a problem, we would have dealt with it immediately. Our staff prides itself on responsiveness, as shown by the prompt, professional handling of your issue with boisterous upstairs neighbors. We do hope you will visit and enjoy Newport again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Small nice hotel with a very good lacation in Newport. We enjoyed being in the hotspot but still not so busy you could not get to sleep at night. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast room work out very good. Much better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This 15 room inn is in the perfect location .... Park your car ( free parking, a rare commodity, comes with your reservation) and stroll the streets. Everything a tourist might want to see is within a 10 minute walk. A trolley ( $6.00 for a full day pass) can take you everywhere else! Rooms are spacious, water views are restful, and the staff is amazing. The inn is next door to a busy restaurant but we just sat on the balcony and enjoyed their music ... Could be a problem if you need to put kids to bed. This is not a five star resort, but the location, amenities like included breakfast, mid day cookies etc and the incredible staff, make this a place worth visiting!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumby72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: Christies Landing, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harborside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal waterfront location in downtown Newport, RI. Fifteen rooms and lofted suites with private balconies overlooking the water or historic cityscape. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi incuded. Friendly service, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing