We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless”
Review of Pelham Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelham Court Hotel
Ranked #23 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spotless”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a second floor 1 bedroom suite with a fireplace. Beautiful, peaceful courtyard with water fountain, live hibiscus plants to enjoy morning coffee or a late nightcap. Steps to Thames and Bannister Wharf, free off street covered parking. Each morning they put out a continental breakfast with fresh baked goods and coffee is available 24/7. Both entrances have fresh live Orchids and the doors are locked @ 11 pm and they have a security keypad for you entrance after hours.
Suite was spotless clean, bright and cheerful bedroom with a very comfortable pillow-top mattress, open the living room or bedroom windows and hear the sounds of the fountain from the Courtyard, very relaxing. Each unit has their own temperature control for the apartment, felt like I was opening my door at home each and everyday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NascarMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    22
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only stayed here for two nights on our tour of New England but would have loved to stay longer. We had a one bedroom suite, which was very comfortable. There was a large lounge/kitchen area with breakfast bar and separate cosy bedroom and bathroom, all were pleasantly decorated and well appointed. The location is brilliant, right in the centre of town near Bowen's Wharf but the property is set back far enough to be in a peaceful spot, we didn't hear a sound from the street. A continental breakfast buffet was laid out in the hall outside our room every morning, consisting of juices, cereals, pastries etc, we thought this was a really nice touch and very convenient as you could make your choices and then eat in the comfort of your own room. The free parking was a bonus too as Newport is a really busy place. Would definitely stay here again if we return to this area, a real home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband chose Pelham Court to celebrate our 25th anniversary, and what a good choice it was! I loved the setup of the hotel which was built around an outside courtyard that had plants and a fountain and several areas to sit and enjoy a coffee. The open area feeling was extended throughout the upstairs hallway with high ceilings and skylights. Our room was beautiful! There was a full kitchen with all new appliances, including a dishwasher. The cupboards were stocked with a few dishes, pots and pans, and silverware. Great if you're planning on staying a few days. There was a gas fireplace in the living room. It gave the room a nice atmosphere, however, it was a little warm for August! A nice comfy couch, a flat screen TV, extra chairs for company and even some best sellers on the bookshelf. I had the best night's sleep on the pillow top mattress. Very comfy. The bathroom was large and well lit with plenty of plush towels. The best part about this hotel was the location. Just steps away from Thames Street. We were easily able to walk to the marina for a dinner cruise. Lots of shops and restaurants to enjoy. The free parking at the hotel is great, as parking in Newport can be difficult. The hotel is located across the street from a nightclub and we were able to hear the music, which might bother light sleepers. The price was a little steep, but for a hotel so close to everything on a Saturday night in August, it was worth it. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stay in 1 bed room suite.

Like
-Perfect location for Newport's shopping and dinning at famous wharfs (Fluke Wine Bard is just cross the street)
-Very spacious/nice decor room
-Parking included
-Perfect bathroom amenities
-Good coffee 24/7

Dislike
-Very cold air con(hard to control) and bed/linen comfort should be improved
-Super thin wall and ceiling, hearing noise from above,next door and waterfall in the inner courtyard
-190 dollar more expensive on Sat night
-Unmanned/unlocked door to common hallway ALL the time
-Cold and very basic self service breakfast (no bread provided although there is a toaster in room). With the price charged, they can do better than this.
-No elevator

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is very cozy, quiet; rooms are clean; staff is friendly. Breakfast is very good; it's served till 11 am, so you can sleep late if you want. Coffee, tea is available 24 hours. They have parking lot, internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dqr2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peer, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arranged a trip to Newport, IR and Stowe, VT for my mom's coming. I booked two hotels has really good reviews and star rating on both places. Pelham court hotel is one of two. Although this hotel only rate three and half stars, there were many places exceed your expectation. The other hotel in Stowe, Vermount is rated 4 and half stars in many places cannot even compare to this small hotel.
First, talking about it's location.: you can go to many places like restaurants and shopping areas by walking distance.
The size of the room was big, clean and comfortable. At the bathroom, they even provide you L' Occitane products (very high end French products) for shower and bath.
Kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with all the kitchen and cooking wares. Make you feel home away from home.
Breakfast they provided was small but really good quality of bakery.

Sometimes, I feel stay at the hotels like Pelham Court hotel, they provide you better than what you expect in rooms and services than lots of expensive 4-5 stars hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOOKA-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I can't say enough to express just how wonderful my stay (3 nights) was at Pelham Court! My suite was beautifully furnished and recently renovated, private and quiet, all appliances in stainless steel (including full range, refrigerator and dishwasher), living room with gas fireplace, large SONY flatscreen TV, covered and open parking (complimentary!), and very clean throughout. The unit was bright and airy with blinds open, but being right in the historic district, there was no view other than of the very nice courtyard, and the parking lot in the rear of the property. If you are looking for a view of the water or any part of Newport, you will not find those views at the Pelham, or many other properties located in the historic residential areas near Newport's harbor.

Everything anyone could want for a stay in the middle of Newport! Shopping and restaurants half block away with many restaurants right on the water. The studio rooms and one-bedroom apartment suites are centered around a courtyard with an old water fountain that ran 24/7. Complimentary continental+ breakfast was offered each morning--coffee, OJ, bagels (toasters in each suite), rolls, and yogurt. Complimentary coffee was available 24/7.

Note that it is important for potential guests to know that though the small reception office is not manned at night, I felt completely safe and secure at all times, but be aware that there is no one representing the hotel on site at night. Having said that, however, I did not arrive until well after 8pm, but the manager waited until I arrived, which I can only assume is done for anyone who is late for check-in, but be sure to check ahead and keep the property informed of your arrival time. There is an on-call telephone number available should a guest be in immediate need when no one is in the office.

The next time I go to Newport, I will definitely stay at the Pelham again!

Room Tip: There are no elevators since there are only 2 floors, but do ask for a first floor suite if you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar9457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Court Hotel

Property: Pelham Court Hotel
Address: 14 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3019
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelham Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature plush bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing