We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and breakfast!”
Review of Pelham Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelham Court Hotel
Ranked #23 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Peer, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Bed and breakfast!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arranged a trip to Newport, IR and Stowe, VT for my mom's coming. I booked two hotels has really good reviews and star rating on both places. Pelham court hotel is one of two. Although this hotel only rate three and half stars, there were many places exceed your expectation. The other hotel in Stowe, Vermount is rated 4 and half stars in many places cannot even compare to this small hotel.
First, talking about it's location.: you can go to many places like restaurants and shopping areas by walking distance.
The size of the room was big, clean and comfortable. At the bathroom, they even provide you L' Occitane products (very high end French products) for shower and bath.
Kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with all the kitchen and cooking wares. Make you feel home away from home.
Breakfast they provided was small but really good quality of bakery.

Sometimes, I feel stay at the hotels like Pelham Court hotel, they provide you better than what you expect in rooms and services than lots of expensive 4-5 stars hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOOKA-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    22
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I can't say enough to express just how wonderful my stay (3 nights) was at Pelham Court! My suite was beautifully furnished and recently renovated, private and quiet, all appliances in stainless steel (including full range, refrigerator and dishwasher), living room with gas fireplace, large SONY flatscreen TV, covered and open parking (complimentary!), and very clean throughout. The unit was bright and airy with blinds open, but being right in the historic district, there was no view other than of the very nice courtyard, and the parking lot in the rear of the property. If you are looking for a view of the water or any part of Newport, you will not find those views at the Pelham, or many other properties located in the historic residential areas near Newport's harbor.

Everything anyone could want for a stay in the middle of Newport! Shopping and restaurants half block away with many restaurants right on the water. The studio rooms and one-bedroom apartment suites are centered around a courtyard with an old water fountain that ran 24/7. Complimentary continental+ breakfast was offered each morning--coffee, OJ, bagels (toasters in each suite), rolls, and yogurt. Complimentary coffee was available 24/7.

Note that it is important for potential guests to know that though the small reception office is not manned at night, I felt completely safe and secure at all times, but be aware that there is no one representing the hotel on site at night. Having said that, however, I did not arrive until well after 8pm, but the manager waited until I arrived, which I can only assume is done for anyone who is late for check-in, but be sure to check ahead and keep the property informed of your arrival time. There is an on-call telephone number available should a guest be in immediate need when no one is in the office.

The next time I go to Newport, I will definitely stay at the Pelham again!

Room Tip: There are no elevators since there are only 2 floors, but do ask for a first floor suite if you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar9457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent hotel, great suite with lots of room, staff very friendly and helpful, good sized sitting room, lovely bedroom and fully fitted kitchen. Breakfast was Continental style and nice. The coffe machine was available in the breakfast area all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pelham Court Hotel. It was down Pelham street right off of Thames, and not far from other dining options on Broadway. We could walk anywhere we wanted to go. Accommodations were comfortable, spacious and very modern. It was nice to have the fridge in the room and would be great for groups if we had planned a longer stay.

Right up Pelham street is a nice park too if you want to take a stroll away from the hustle and bustle of Newport. Staff was friendly and at least not in your hair like a typical hotel would be.

We had a below street-level view with a view of the courtyard so had to keep the shades closed for privacy.

Room Tip: Try to choose a larger suite for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Pelham Court Hotel was quite nice. It was my first visit to Newport and I normally lean towards major chains (like Starwood or Kimpton) but Newport is like Cape Cod where the town is saturated with B&Bs and privately owned hotels so this hotel was perfect for my family's needs. There was plenty of space for all of us to spread out.

Pros: Very near to the main strip of restaurants. We took a 5 minutes walk to Benjamin's for oysters every night. Parking is provided and is very easy to get in and out of the lot.

Cons: Cleaning service failed to come one of the nights we were there which caused a slight inconvenience.

Room Tip: We had a 1-bedroom suite (#11) that faced the courtyard which was very nice. There aren't any R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msdacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night away on 4/20/13. When we opened the door to our unit it felt as though we were entering someone's tastefully decorated home. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the one bedroom unit we booked, wich was on the second floor of the carriage house. The unit had high ceilings, a fireplace, a clean, nice kitchen, and a nice bedroom and a smallish but nicely furnished bath. We've stayed at another top rated B&B and would pick this one again because of the size and quality of the unit.

Our stay was quiet and peaceful. The Hotel is only one door up Pehlam from Thames Street, but we did not encounter any noise at all. (Granted, it's April, but it was vacation week and the hotel was full.)

This is not a B&B, but there were limited breakfast offerings on Sunday morning, which were fine, though not gourmet. The Hotel is 2 blocks from Starbucks and is right in the center of the action as far as bars and restuaurants are concerned. One nice thing about this hotel, as opposed to the typcal B&B is that we could book a room on Saturday night without booking a 2 night stay.

If you're looking for views our unit didn't offer much. Also, there is not a ton of staff at your disposal, but we're not much into being pampered by over-attentive staff anyway.

Altogether, a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsons15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My fiancee and I were amazed to find not only the outstanding accomodations including a beautiful gas fireplace, full kitchen and luxurious linens but we also had excellent customer service. We arrived earlier than the stated check in time. The front desk staff member had personally just checked on the status of all of the rooms letting us know ours was near ready but if we did not wish to wait around she would carry our bags up to our room for us. We were given our keys, yes "real" keys not plastic cards, at that time so we did not have to come back to the desk. When we entered our room there was a container of lovely mints on the counter and a personal note from the manager welcoming us by name.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMoore56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Court Hotel

Property: Pelham Court Hotel
Address: 14 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3019
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelham Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature plush bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing