We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room, very high standard”
Review of Pelham Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelham Court Hotel
Ranked #24 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 4 days in sept 12, the room, a studio with cooking facitities was immaculate with everything clean tidy and well maintained, discreet efficient service, very friendly reception, excellent location, just what we had hoped for. Better than a standard hotel, continental breakfast was good. Very relaxing would go back anytime.
martin

Room Tip: No room will disappoint.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Pelham Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Pelham Court Hotel during the boat show this year. The suite was very nicely done with spacious rooms, a full kitchen and a fireplace. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They had a continental breakfast on Sunday that was very nice. It's not your typical hotel with room service and a restaurant/bar but everything is so close, it didn't matter. You can not beat this location. The harbor is across the street along with all the restaurants and shops. It was perfect! We will definately stay here again! Kate is the hotel manager and she was fantastic! The main hall outside of our room did smell a little like mildew but the room was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Pelham Court for one night only, in a one bedroom suite that was really lovely. Clean, well-furnished, nicely decorated, very comfortable. Location really can't be beat - half a block from Thames Street, directly across from the wharf, with plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The price was high, considering it was not a full service hotel. There is no staff at the desk after 8pm, and the main door to the Inn is supposed to be locked after that point. We found it was unlocked after nine pm, which seemed a security risk that could have been avoided. Perhaps we are just paranoid NYers, but the fact that their own procedure was not followed was troubling. Also, for the price, I would have liked to have some in-room amenities such as tea/coffee to use with the kettle or coffee pot provided in the kitchen (as other hotels often have in standard rooms). There IS a Keurig right downstairs, but as a tea drinker in my bathrobe that was really no help. Breakfast was store bought muffins/pastries, coffee, and juice. I found the hallway area with the Keurig and breakfast to be somewhat unappetizing, as there was a strong odor of cleaning supplies (maybe carpet powder?). We were only given 2 bath towels but needed a third (the room sleeps 4), but since there was no housekeeping or staff on duty at the time, we went without. Same goes for an extra blanket - the bedding was nice but only a sheet and a thin quilt, and it was a cool night. All in all, we liked the room, the small size of the inn, and the location very much. With a few tweaks, this place has the potential to be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKGinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed in some the nicest hotels and the Pelham Court Hotel ranks up with the best of them. We had a fairly extensive list of criteria and noone else matched up. We wanted a pet-friendly hotel/inn that was close to the water. Check! Pelham was a block away from the wharf. You can't beat the location really. The hotel had to be pet-friendly. Check! The pooch loved it and the nearby park, which was only a block away as well. We wanted something affordable, but yet allow only a one-night stay during the week of August.

You lived up to my expectations. The rooms were very well-appointed with a full kitchen and refrigerator. That meant no running for ice as each fridge has an icemaker. Additionally, the cupboards and drawers were stocked with glasses, plates and utensils. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was huge and nicely appointed as well.

I would have rated a 5, but the front desk gal forgot about us. It was hot outside and we didn't want the dog to have to be outside more than necessary. Granted we were pretty early, but we asked to be called when our room was available. Two and half hours later we went back to see how much longer it would be. The front office was now closed until 2pm. Fortunately, after sitting in their beautiful courtyard for about 20 minutes, the housekeeper, Comma, stumbled onto us and let us into our room. We just couldn't get our keys until the next front desk attendent came in to work. It wasn't a big inconvenience, but we shouldn't have been forgotten about either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Pelham with our 16 year old daughter and very much enjoyed it. We travel often so we have a good base with which to compare. It is a self serving suite type of hotel with a beautiful full kitchen, living room and bedroom with full bath. (2bedroom suites are also available). There is a token breakfast available where you pick up a few things and take them up to your room (bagels, muffins, yogurts, fruit and coffee). The location cannot be better it is just down the corner from Thames street at the harbor area of Newport. Parking is available at the hotel as well. It is a very clean, well run establishment ,somewhat expensive but the rates do drop following high season. Would definitely go back.n t

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriana1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My stay at the Pelham Court hotel in early July was simply phenomenal. I know class and have the finest taste, and the Pelham Court hotel is the epitome of luxury and class. I am often in the city by the sea on business and refuse to stay elsewhere. The staff provides top notch service. They are always smiling and pleasant and must have been trained very well. The rooms are always polished and impeccably decorated. One could not askfor a better hotel experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaking9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a great find. The location can't be beat (on a side street just off of Thames Street). The rooms are like little apartments (I think it is actually a condo hotel) and they look like they have just been renovated. They have a full kitchen with pots, pans, silverware, full refrigerator, etc. Really handy when you have kids.

Our room had a living room with a sleeper couch and a separate bedroom. We shared a bathroom. Nice high ceilings. They also have their own parking lot and don't charge for parking. They provide a small free continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, coffee.

The only thing about the Pelham Court Hotel is the unusual housekeeping arrangement. I don't know if they share housekeepers with another hotel (there aren't that many rooms so it probably doesn't make sense to have a dedicated housekeeping staff) but they were very inconsistent. On our 4 night trip, the room was obviously made up when we got there, on the second day we came back after a full day and housekeeping showed up to clean the room at 3PM (we ended up just swapping towels. On the third day, they didn't show up at all so we had to swap towels with the person working the front desk. It didn't bother me that much because I don't really need my room made up everyday (I just need new towels) but it really bothered my wife because we had to go out of our way to track down new towels.

It is a great place and a great location. You just have to go into it with the knowledge that it is not a full-service hotel (spotty housekeeping, no room service, no pool, no laundry) but if you are OK with that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#40 of 95 in Newport
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Court Hotel

Address: 14 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3019
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $147 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelham Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature plush bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing