We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Rolls in Newport”
Review of Belle's Cafe

Belle's Cafe
Ranked #4 of 16 Quick Bites in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Description: Belle's Cafe is located in the heart of Newport Shipyard in downtown Newport, RI. We serve breakfast and lunch daily with many delicious specials to offer a wide variety utilizing fresh, local ingredients. We are open from early March to late December and have a cozy inside dining room as well as outdoor seating, in the warmer months, for up to 75 people. Come checkout the yachting action in Newport's only and oldest working shipyard.
Restaurant details
Description: Belle's Cafe is located in the heart of Newport Shipyard in downtown Newport, RI. We serve breakfast and lunch daily with many delicious specials to offer a wide variety utilizing fresh, local ingredients. We are open from early March to late December and have a cozy inside dining room as well as outdoor seating, in the warmer months, for up to 75 people. Come checkout the yachting action in Newport's only and oldest working shipyard.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our guide on our trolley tour mentioned that Belle's Café has the best lobster rolls and at the best price. After the tour we went to Belle's for lunch. It is in the dockyard by the water. You order at the counter, pick up your food and eat outside in a nice area with tables and umbrellas. The lobster rolls were fantastic!!! And, a bargain at 2 for $23 which includes a side dish. They asked if we were splitting the order and they plated each serving individually. It looked like we each got a full serving of the excellent coleslaw.

This place seems to be big on breakfast with a great selection on the board. Seafood, of course, is the featured item and it all looked great. Everyone was very friendly. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarylandTravelnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello & thank you for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our lobster rolls (we agree, $23 for two is a pretty good deal!) and we're also happy to hear everyone was friendly and you enjoyed our location. We'll be sure to thank you trolley tour driver for recommending us!

Thank you again & we hope you'll be back the next time you're in Newport!

Sincerely,
Veronica Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 213 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2019

Taking a morning walk and we found this new breakfast place! The choices are all great! The avocado toast is a delicious must!

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Kleb122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Hello & thank you for your great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our Avocado Toast - definitely a menu favorite among our regular customers. We hope you'll be back again the next time you visit Newport.

Sincerely -
The Belle's Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

Belle's is in the middle of a working shipyard surrounded by beautiful yachts. The menu is varied and interesting for both breakfast and lunch. You order at the counter and they buzz you when your meal is ready

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Thank you, Paul, for the great review!

Hope to see you again soon,

Allen & the Belle's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Step up to the counter and place your order. Get a beeper and go pick your table outside next to the water. When your food is ready, your buzzer will go off and you pick it up. Be prepared to be surprise by the quality of the food. I had a panko crusted sautéed chicken breast cover with an arugula salad with split cherry tomatoes, shaved Parmesan, capers and a lemon vinaigrette (chicken Milanese). My wife had seared sea scallops over a delicious salad. All was well. Only open for breakfast until 3:00 pm.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Fletch1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Thank you for the great review!

So glad you enjoyed the chicken milanese salad and the sea scallops - two of our favorite menu items!

Hope to see you again soon,

Allen & the Belle's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

We were informed of this place for breakfast by the doorman at our hotel. We stayed at the Gurney Resort on Goat Island, and Belle's was about a 15 minute walk - well worth it! Excellent choices for breakfast and generous servings. On a nice day, you can sit outside on the dock. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank tab816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Thank you for the great review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and the beautiful walk from Gurney's!

Sincerely,
Allen & the Belle's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing