We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you don't leave any valuable thig at the hotel becaus ethey will steel them.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pineapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Make sure you don't leave any valuable thig at the hotel becaus ethey will steel them.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Make sure you don't leave any valuables because they will get stolen. They stole our prada sunglasses. We had to go and complain at the front desk about them. After theatening to call the cops they "Appeared". They don't have long size beds or queen. They lie when u book it. My boyfriend and I had to sleep in separate beds bc the beds where twin size. Not worth the price. Bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    30
    10
    46
See reviews for
16
45
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed during the Newport Folk Festival. Can't beat it for the price. Location is very convenient and staff is pretty friendly. Just plain Jane rooms. Ac works maybe a little too well. Perfect room if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewjaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

There are certainly some good things to say about the motel. The location is good and convenient. I like parking right at the door to the room. The rooms are large and beds are OK comfort-wise. No bugs for me. Newport is expensive, so for the price, an expectation of "so-so" could be expected.

My 2 big disappointments were the lack of some conveniences I come expect, such as a hair/blow dryer; and given this is a one floor property, I didn't expect noises overhead, but there where animals running on the roof at night and early morning that woke me up unexpectedly (racoons, I would guess?).

If you are looking for comfort, amenities or even bare minimum luxury, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Probably better to choose a different hotel and pay more. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB_traveller_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were two couples visiting expensive Newport on a holiday weekend. We paid $120/night for two nights at Pineapple Inn. This place fits your "stereo-typical" image of a low-end motel with bad rooms and bad service. We had a fairly large room on the "far" side of the office - our friends had a room that sank their heart; dark and with a "stuffy" feel. Their room was right next to the office. Check in and check out was confusing and disorganised. Forget about asking for any local area information. We both had problems with our bathrooms : shower controls not working - bathtub didn't have a plug. Sheets were a downright disgrace : cigarette burns and utterly worn out. As our room was a bit better we would meet up there to plan the day or to have a coffee at the end of the day. Sit outside on the asphalt like everyone else rather than in the room ! The location was actually not bad ( a few minutes by car to the downtown 'action' where all the stores and restaurants are) and Newport was completely "sold out" so no possibility of relocating elsewhere. We spent as much time as possible out and just made the most of it. We obviously had an unrealistic budget for Newport so be prepared to pay 3 or 4 times this amount for a place with "regular" standards ( high 300's). It's just that 120$/night is not "cheap" in my books for a motel and even at 50$ this place would still be a dump.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms in the same "wing" that houses the office - the "other" win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Motel 6 where full so booked in here for $140 for a night. Room was large, 2 queen beds with tv and wifi. Not a bad room and only 5 minutes from the town, but book somewhere in advance and get somewhere or here cheaper. Felt robbed because it was a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: 123 is a good size and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are looking to stay for a nice weekend in Newport than this is the place for you. While checking in you will experience (if lucky enough) a lady of the night reserving a room. Once you get to luxurious and spacious room you will realize that bugs are unwilling to share the bed. Make sure you lock your doors... if your room actually has a lock. Make sure you are not to loud though you don't want to disturb the drug deals going on all around ( that would be rude). In conclusion (never thought i would say this,) go a half mile down the road and stay at the motel 6. They will keep the lights on ...at least they have lights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bigtuna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The place is run down and the clientele is sketchy looking, but it's arguably worth the $49 dollars, but not much more. I would not recommend this place to germaphobes. The closer u look the scarier it gets. My girlfriend and I stayed here in the off season and only used the place to sleep and shower so it was fine for us. Although we were happy we bought our own pillow cases and sheets. Relatively speaking it was clean(ish) and safe. Which is all I wanted and expected for $49.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidmartinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 372 Coddington Hwy., off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Newport
Pineapple Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing