We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic inn and gourmet breakfasts”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Our stay at the Ivy Lodge was perfect in every way. Our room (the Trunk Room) was on the third floor. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and the air conditioner provided a comfortable environment. The innkeepers were friendly, professional and willing to help in any way. Suggestions for activities, restaurants and points of interest were provided. Fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, granola, cereals and toast were out for breakfast--we were pleasantly surprised to be offered a hot gourmet breakfast along with everything else. Coffee, tea, and cold drinks are available all day. The location was great--near the mansions and the Cliff Walk. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonvieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Ivy Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Ivy Lodge is a wonderful, clean, welcoming b&b in a great location, right off of Bellevue Ave. and within easy walking distance of downtown. The innkeepers are warm, professional, and personable without being intrusive. We have a wonderful stay last week. The inn is filled with wonderful antiques. The rooms are clean, spacious, beautifully decorated and comfortable. We stayed in the Van Allen room and were very satisfied. Each morning a lovely hot breakfast was served, along with fresh fruit and yoburt. Darlen and Darell were perfects hosts. There are snacks, juice, water and coffee available all day. We highly recommend the Ivy Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloelue930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The location is great. Just minutes away from water.
Service is crappy and hostile. We couldn't sleep all night because the alarm that was set by the previous guest went off in the middle of the night. Later in the night people talking on the front lawn woke us up in the middle of the night.
We asked the owners if they could let us stay a little longer (a couple of hours) to take a nap after 11:00 AM checkout and they were reluctant to do that or do any favors for that matter.
The owner hostess got really angry and hostile with us and told us to get out. Also eating breakfast there wasn't a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank yogisri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. The owners were so very helpful in scheduling our events which required reservations and recommended the best ways to spend our vacation in Newport. The breakfasts we had there were some of the best I've enjoyed. Each night, we were greeted with cookies and tea before ending our day. You can tell that the owners put their hearts into everything they do, setting this B&B apart from all others in Newport. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LindsayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We just spent two days at Ivy Lodge. It's a quiet location; beautifully restored older building; warm, helpful owner/operators; excellent breakfasts. Top notch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We are new to the B&B scene and now that our children are no longer traveling with us, it's the only way to book quick getaways. The inn was available when we planned our last minutetrip, once we checked the weather report. The turret room exceeded our expectations for space and charm, bathroom was recently updated and beautiful, gorgeous room appointments and this would be a great stay in any season! The innkeepers, although very busy, spent time chatting with us after our wonderful breakfast, to my husband's delight. Definitey an inn to come back to!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveinns18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

The Ivy Lodge was the perfect place to stay for our Engagement night. The innkeepers worked with me to ensure that I could keep the hotel a suprise. Went well above what could be expected in ensuring we had a great night. Treated my new fiancee and I like we were royalty. Breakfast was exceptional and included in season fruits. This is the only B&B I will ever stay at in Newport. It is simply immaculate and breathtaking. The innkeepers simply love what they do and it shows.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clown8534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $268 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing