We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Newport Experience - Excellent Place to stay!!!”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Newport Experience - Excellent Place to stay!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are going to do Newport, the Ivy Lodge is the place to stay. Excellent Trip, Daryl is awesome and we felt very welcomed at this B&B. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a great weekend!!!!!!!!!! Recommendation: whatever restaurant Daryl recommends make sure you go!!

Room Tip: Any room is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Front Office Manager at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent trip to Newport. Daryl, and the rest of our staff are wonderful hosts; always there to help guests with any questions they have about Newport, where to, and places to see. We are so grateful for your kind words and look forward to your future stay with us.

Best wishes,
Elyse Neilan Assistant Innkeeper
& the Ivy Lodge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    62
    6
    10
    12
See reviews for
67
359
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Ivy lodge is a luxury B&B. The housekeeper is really nice and available for everything.
The room are spacious and fully equiped (ac, hairdrier, comfortable king Size bed).
Around the B&B a garden let You relax and have a coffee surrounded by peace and nature.
The breakfast is incredible and they cook for you different plates (omelette scramble egg etc..).
The position is perfect to visit by walk the ancient villas around Newport.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Front Office Manager at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so delighted to hear that your stay with us was the romantic getaway all newlyweds deserve. It is always our pleasure to serve you with delicious breakfast, and treats during the day. We truly love our historic location, and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Newport.

Always a pleasure,
Elyse Neilan Assistant Innkeeper
& the Ivy Lodge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This beautiful property with very comfortable rooms, ample parking, good breakfasts, and accommodating owners, is also well located. Near mansions, the cliff walk, and ocean drive, it is also easy to drive downtown. Owners are good people, and very helpful. We stayed three weeknights in August and would gladly do so again. An excellent base for your Newport vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ivy Lodge for 3 days-2 nights and it was fantastic! The owners were lovely, helpful and knowledgeable. The location is ideal in terms of restaurants, cliff walk, nightlife and shopping. The breakfast was AMAZING!! We will defiantly be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We appreciate your enthusiasm. We are very grateful that you followed-up with a review. The location of the Ivy Lodge is one of the aspects we point out to inquiries from potential guests. Many times we are asked, are you in town? Indeed we are . . . located in a private residential street in the mansion district, yet easily accessible to: Mansion, Cliffwalk, beach, shops and restaurants, yet pulled back far enough to feel the serenity of an island. Our rates do include the full gourmet breakfast and seasonal snacks and beverage through-out the day. Our breakfast entrees change with the seasons.

We hope to see you again one day,

Darlene, Daryl and the staff of the Ivy Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited during a weekday in August. A great location nice and peaceful. Ample parking. A delicious and generous breakfast with very accommodating hosts. The owners are very helpful with suggestions and recommendations which is very helpful and appreciated. Room had a comfortable bed and updated bath. One minor complaint... Please don't use scented cleaners or carpet fresh type products as they are difficult to smell when one is sensitive to these chemicals ... Pure baking soda does the job without toxic chemicals. A very nice inn with owners who care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siteseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Ivy Lodge. The inn is cozy, located in a quiet area, walking distance to the mansions and downtown. Our room was wonderful, spacious, super comfortable bed and pillows. No flat screen TV and limited channels, but that's not what we came for. Ample bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious and the hostess and her staff are very warm, and helpful to answer any questions. On one morning one of the guests asked for a different breakfast because she is vegan. The owner gladly prepared her a wonderful breakfast sandwich with fresh ingredients. It was a great experience and we will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordobesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Hosts are very accommodating and make you fell right at home. When we checked in, we were told that they had upgraded our room. What a nice surprise that was, room was clean and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely return and recommend for others to check it out. Thanks to other feed backs another great choice we made.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieFADP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Nice things happen to nice people! It was a pleasure having you stay at the Ivy Lodge and that you enjoyed your upgrade, it just happens sometimes!
Hope to see you again soon!
Daryl, Darlene and the Ivy Lodge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Property: Ivy Lodge
Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing