We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Ivy Lodge is a very quiet and quaint b&b, we loved the location and the hominess. I have one suggestion though, the pillows although very full and plump were a bit difficult for me to sleep on. They didn't stay punched down and I felt that my head was elevated all night causing me some achiness. It would be nice to have a couple of varieties to choose from. Next time I would bring my own so I could get a more restful sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hello! Glad you like the Ivy Lodge, sorry about the pillows! We just put all new ones in for the season and they are medium firmness. Will pick up a couple of flatter pillows so guest can request them in the future. Thanks for the feedback!
Have a great summer and thank you for staying with us!
Daryl, Darlene and the Ivy Lodge staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 529 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night anniversary get away! The Ivy Lodge is located in a nice and quiet area right next to the mansions and the cliff walk. The Lodge is so unique. It's only a few minutes to walk to Bellevue and Thames street where you can find every type of food and drinks. Darlene is so helpful and her breakfasts were excellent! We went to Bouchard's a Delicious French restaurant for dinner and also Diego's for Mexican. Loved it! Had an awesome time. Newport is so beautiful! We rented scooters and did the ocean drive...so fun!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Sounds like you two did it up right when exploring the city by the sea . Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are as enthusiastic as you about this island and wanted you to have as good a time on the island as you did in the Inn. Sharing your activities will inspire others to go for it, e.g. scootering and exploring our restaurants. We hope this place we call home will become a place you call a home away from home. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm, it's contagious! We hope you two have a great summer!

Wishing you fair winds and safe seas,
Darlene McKenzie
Innkeeper/proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice family hotel with warm atmosphere. Great location, unique design and cozy rooms. Relaxing - beautiful view terrace. The staff was friendly and service was prompt. Would definitely stay here again. This is the perfect place for a relaxing date.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

The large wrap around porch is a great place to relax and a day of touring all that is Newport.
We strive to make you stay comfortable and relaxing.
We hope to see you again, have a great summer.
Thanks again for your comments.
Daryl, Darlene and the Staff of the Ivy Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

May 27, 2013:"My husband and I spent a delightful 3 days at the Ivy Lodge. Our children had presented us with a gift certificate. What a wonderful treat! The location was perfect for walking to the Mansions and the Cliff Walk. Our hostess, Darlene, greeted us with enthusiasm. She was most accommodating in assisting us with recommendations and making reservations to restaurants. We felt most comfortable in our tastefully decorated room complete with all the essentials including a TV. A high point of our visit was breakfast and conversing with other guests. Friendships were easily formed. The delicious breakfasts were served between 8:30 A.M. and 10:00 A.M. We look forward to returning to this spectacular get-away. Thank you Darlene and Daryl. God Bless You!" Len and Pat Pietruszynski, Wyomissing, PA.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Your kids are very lucky to have such nice parents, you did your job well! Glad that you enjoyed you stay and that the Ivy Lodge and Newport delivered a memorable expericance. We try to make all of our guest stay a great one and spead our love of the Ivy Lodge and Newport. Hope to see you again and thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Wishing you fair winds and safe seas!
Daryl & Darlene and the Staff of the Ivy Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ivy Lodge. Daryl and Darlene are the best hosts ever. What a fantastic experience in a beautifully appointed B & B. We will definitely return to enjoy another cozy romantic stay. We just felt so relaxed and comfortable. It felt like home, and after a day of roaming the mansions and Newport itself, it felt like we were returning to our own Gilded Age residence. If you have the chance, choose the Ivy Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria Room, Really gorgeous, but I can't imagine any room not being beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liv96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you, we succeded! With todays crazy world our goal is to provide a comfortable place for guest to recharge and take a breath. Our entire staff thanks you for staying with us and the kind words, it makes our day!
Hope so see you again soon.
Have a wonderful summer.
Daryl, Darlene and the Staff of the Ivy Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ivy Lodge last weekend and had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful Victorian mansion converted to a warm and welcoming B&B. It is located on a quiet street around the corner from The Elms in the Mansion District. Even though it was fully booked, the Lodge was very quiet.
Easy walk to Thames Street and the waterfront.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Satarlee Suite, which has been recently re-decorated. Large king-sized bed and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPG1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Yes we think we have a great location, in the middle of Newport's Mansions but a short walk to Dining and Shopping! Glade you had a great weekend, hope to see you again soon.
Thanks for staying with us!
Daryl & Darlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Where do i begin? lets start with before even getting to this beautiful establishment with Daryl who unfortunately was away during our stay! Daryl helped me with all my plans i did a room upgrade over the phone, he emailed me a list of places to eat and i picked and made dinner reservations the next day. Upon arriving i was greeted by his wonderful wife Darlene who was just as helpful! she give us a map and recommended numerous things for us to do! Now the Ivy Lodge itself, was clean from the outside to the inside the room we stayed in was the trunk room it was amazingly clean there wasn't a spot of dust anywhere! Coming from the construction field i always notice little things that tradesmen forget to do but everything was up to par! The paint in the rooms were nicely cut with the ceiling/molding with no mess no silicone spots around the sink the it wasn't a "slop" job, and i like that! Upon our first morning with breakfast it was just simply amazing they have great coffee, orange juice, oatmeal, fruits and a dish i cant remember i wanna say an eggs florentine almost with tomato bacon cream cheese simply great, second morning breakfast we had the most tasty sausage ever i wanted to ask for seconds but ,y wife gave me a nudge! along with the sausage were waffles with apples and they were scrumptious they were def, homemade! needless to say i told Darlene she will be seeing us back very soon it was just a wonderful time there ohh and the parking, wonderful away from all the chaos never had to park on the street they have their own lot, Darlene even gave us her cell number how many people would do that? She made our 3 year anniversary one to remember next time i come i have to try the pancakes i heard so much about!

Room Tip: get the trunk room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HershellH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! Sorry I was away but maybe next time. We are glad that you notice the work we do on keeping this 150+ year old building in shape, it confirms what we are all about. A nice clean place to stay while visiting wonderful Newport! Next time go ahead and ask for the extra sausage, it's vacation!
Hope to see you soon!
Daryl & Darlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.9 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $178 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing