We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week to Remember”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I took a trip to the Ivy Lodge in late September of this year. The experience at the lodge was unlike any bed and breakfast experience to date. The property was immaculate, the breakfast was phenomenal, and the Inn Keepers put their heart and soul into making their guests feel at home. The Ivy Lodge was not only a destination, but an amazing experience.

Ashley Miller
Morristown, TN

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aladonnamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Wow! That is one nice review. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much enjoyed your company . . . we always say, guests like you make our job so enjoyable. Have a great New Year! Darlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 525 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I walked in and saw a Foyer at Ivy Lodge I was already impressed. What a charming and romantic place! Very clean, beautiful, great location! Our room was not big on the 3rd floor, but it has everything we needed. Too bad we had only one night stay:(
Darlene was very helpful and welcoming and breakfast was out of this world!
I would definitelly stay their again and gladly recomend it to my friends.
Thank you,
G. T.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely B&B with lots of character in a GREAT location for Newport mansion touring. Innkeepers were very helpful and breakfast was delicious. We were able to walk everywhere from the Inn - cliff walk, mansions, "town", etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ivy Lodge on the second night of a weeks trip to New England for my 40th. We had not reserved anything for this night and thought we would travel to Newport on our way to Cape Cod but had no definate plans. Wow, i am so thrilled we decided to go to Newport. What a beautiful place. I found Ivy Lodge on the internet the morning we arrived, booked at 7.30am from our previous B&B and had confirmation virtually immediately. We arrived in the afternoon to a wonderful greeting from Daryl. So helpful and informative. The Lodge is stunning, beautfifully kept and had a great atmosphere. There are hot drinks, fresh lemonade and lovely snacks on tap all day. We stayed in the Victoria room, rather apt being my name. A beautiful room with jacuzzi bath, fabulous bed and beautiful decor. The location is amazing for visiting the Mansions, the coastal walk and to get into the town for shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was amazing. We had the most amazing strawberry pancakes and really enjoyed sharing the table with other guests from New Zealand, UK and Texas. Much laughter and info sharing. Daryl also recommended a wonderful restaurant, where we had a really special and enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend 'Flukes', as i know would Daryl. Newport really is a stunning town and the Ivy lodge was fantastic. Just wished we'd had more than one night, we were sorely tempted but already had reservations in Cape Cod. I so hope we can return again, there was so much to see and i would defiantely stay at the Ivy lodge.

Room Tip: victoria room. stunning bed and decor. really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a lovely property. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Upon arrival I was impressed. But, and this is a big but, Darlene was abrasive and rude at breakfast, not just to us, but to another couple at the table. Her behavior actually bothered us for the entire day and was severe enough for us to skip breakfast the second day and check-out without a good-bye. The worst welcome to date at any bed and breakfast we've stayed. There are too many nice places in the area to ever again choose this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BandD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I feel bad. I am not aware of what this incident is about and confused that this involved another couple? I really feel bad that yo stayed with us your second night and opted not to come to breakfast because of this encounter. I expedite many people in a small window of time to a full breakfast, If I came across too abrasive or rude, I am genuinely sorry; This is the last thing I want for our guests. I am only happy if you are happy.

Unhappy and With regrets,
Darlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem. The grounds are beautiful and decor is lovely. They have done a wonderful job in tastefully decorating the house in keeping with the Victorian period. Our room was gorgeous and clean. Our hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. For instance, the wifi was out of action and I noticed that they went out of their way to get it up and running again quickly. There are also drinks (water, tea, coffee) and snacks (fruit, raising and health bars) available downstairs 24/7. There is parking on site and the location is about a 60 second walk from Bellvue Avenue and a 10-15 minute walk to some of the major sights.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GD-ADL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and know how important your get-a-ways can be to your peace of mind. We look forward to hosting you again. Your review is shared with the entire staff and we are energized by your kind words.

Thank you,
Darlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We love the Ivy Lodge! The rooms are absolutely beautiful, all individually decorated, spotlessly clean and obviously lovingly maintained. The building is a mansion, and the architectural details and the craftsmanship are fantastic. It always feels like a privilege to spend the night there. Darlene and Daryl are consummate innkeepers and there is nothing they won't do for you and nothing they don't know about Newport. Stay nowhere else! Oh, and did I mention the breakfast? Gourmet all the way, and prepared to order by Darlene and Daryl. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb_Caldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.9 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $178 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing