We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic Stay at Ivy Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #11 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at Ivy Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely B&B with lots of character in a GREAT location for Newport mansion touring. Innkeepers were very helpful and breakfast was delicious. We were able to walk everywhere from the Inn - cliff walk, mansions, "town", etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    61
    5
    10
    12
See reviews for
63
346
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ivy Lodge on the second night of a weeks trip to New England for my 40th. We had not reserved anything for this night and thought we would travel to Newport on our way to Cape Cod but had no definate plans. Wow, i am so thrilled we decided to go to Newport. What a beautiful place. I found Ivy Lodge on the internet the morning we arrived, booked at 7.30am from our previous B&B and had confirmation virtually immediately. We arrived in the afternoon to a wonderful greeting from Daryl. So helpful and informative. The Lodge is stunning, beautfifully kept and had a great atmosphere. There are hot drinks, fresh lemonade and lovely snacks on tap all day. We stayed in the Victoria room, rather apt being my name. A beautiful room with jacuzzi bath, fabulous bed and beautiful decor. The location is amazing for visiting the Mansions, the coastal walk and to get into the town for shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was amazing. We had the most amazing strawberry pancakes and really enjoyed sharing the table with other guests from New Zealand, UK and Texas. Much laughter and info sharing. Daryl also recommended a wonderful restaurant, where we had a really special and enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend 'Flukes', as i know would Daryl. Newport really is a stunning town and the Ivy lodge was fantastic. Just wished we'd had more than one night, we were sorely tempted but already had reservations in Cape Cod. I so hope we can return again, there was so much to see and i would defiantely stay at the Ivy lodge.

Room Tip: victoria room. stunning bed and decor. really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a lovely property. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Upon arrival I was impressed. But, and this is a big but, Darlene was abrasive and rude at breakfast, not just to us, but to another couple at the table. Her behavior actually bothered us for the entire day and was severe enough for us to skip breakfast the second day and check-out without a good-bye. The worst welcome to date at any bed and breakfast we've stayed. There are too many nice places in the area to ever again choose this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BandD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I feel bad. I am not aware of what this incident is about and confused that this involved another couple? I really feel bad that yo stayed with us your second night and opted not to come to breakfast because of this encounter. I expedite many people in a small window of time to a full breakfast, If I came across too abrasive or rude, I am genuinely sorry; This is the last thing I want for our guests. I am only happy if you are happy.

Unhappy and With regrets,
Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem. The grounds are beautiful and decor is lovely. They have done a wonderful job in tastefully decorating the house in keeping with the Victorian period. Our room was gorgeous and clean. Our hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. For instance, the wifi was out of action and I noticed that they went out of their way to get it up and running again quickly. There are also drinks (water, tea, coffee) and snacks (fruit, raising and health bars) available downstairs 24/7. There is parking on site and the location is about a 60 second walk from Bellvue Avenue and a 10-15 minute walk to some of the major sights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GD-ADL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and know how important your get-a-ways can be to your peace of mind. We look forward to hosting you again. Your review is shared with the entire staff and we are energized by your kind words.

Thank you,
Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We love the Ivy Lodge! The rooms are absolutely beautiful, all individually decorated, spotlessly clean and obviously lovingly maintained. The building is a mansion, and the architectural details and the craftsmanship are fantastic. It always feels like a privilege to spend the night there. Darlene and Daryl are consummate innkeepers and there is nothing they won't do for you and nothing they don't know about Newport. Stay nowhere else! Oh, and did I mention the breakfast? Gourmet all the way, and prepared to order by Darlene and Daryl. Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb_Caldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very clean & well run bed & breakfast. Our room (library) was very nice, bed comfy. Different main breakfast every day- also fruit & cereals available. Snacks & tea & coffee available all day which was nice. Very close to the mansions & cliff walk & we could walk into town & to the harbour very easily . We didn't need to use our car all the time we were there. Lots of nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you emphasized the location: quite, private neighborhood, yet close to all Newport has to offer. We also appreciate your compliments on our housekeeping practices, we always share these reviews with the entire staff and know that sharing your observations energize us to do our best and elevate our operations. We hope to see you again one day.

Wishing you fair winds and safe seas,
Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent five wonderful nights at Ivy Lodge last week. It was the quietest week we've ever spent in Newport, probably because we went from Sunday til Friday, instead of the normal weekend travel time. The inn is just lovely! Breakfast is something delicious every morning, always starting the day off with the best homemade granola I've ever tasted. I spent part of each day of our stay sitting on the wrap around porch either reading or crocheting, relaxing on the wicker furniture, enjoying a cool breeze and the wonderful weather. Our hosts Daryl and Darlene were most hospitable! This wasn't our first stay at the Lodge, and I know we will go back. The entry way is breathtaking, the rooms immaculate and the location is close to everything. It could only be better if breakfast were served outside on that great porch!

Room Tip: We've stayed at Ivy Lodge three times. All rooms are beautiful! We were given B&B gift cards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moreenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and coming back to the Ivy Lodge. Many years ago, when looking to buy a bed and breakfast, I said upon my first impression of the Ivy, I'd buy this place just for the porch alone . . . my husband said, you don't buy a place for the porch. As you can see, in this day and age, the Ivy's wrap-round porch is priceless. We are so glad our guests get to enjoy that part of the house, it signifies, yes, you are on holiday and it's o.k. to linger, read and listen to the birds. If the kitchen was not on the opposite side of the house from the porch, we would serve on the porch. That said, you can bring beverages and snacks to enjoy and certainly any starter from our initial breakfast offerings to the porch, entrees can only be served in our dining room. We wish you a beautiful fall and look forward to your next visit.

Wishing you fair winds and safe seas,

Darlene
Innkeeper/proprietor
Ivy Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Property: Ivy Lodge
Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing