We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
America's Cup Inn
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$450
$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
$319
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
77
82
32
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
82
32
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatormary streetgreat locationdowntown newportthames streetdiscounted rateamerica's cupafternoon teabuffet breakfastwithin walking distancehistoric buildingcomfy bednice breakfastrestaurants and shopstop floorcookiesfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 225 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Very centrally located, but I would not stay here again. We were on the first floor of the annex (20 Mary St) and were overwhelmed by a musty, wet feeling. There was mold on the shower ceiling. The bathroom floors were sticky. The cabinet doors were missing handles and the insides of drawers were not clean (in the kitchenette). The wallpaper was peeling in some rooms and when we arrived there was garbage (a cookie wrapper) left in a closet. We opened the windows to air it out but were on the first floor and were bothered by traffic noise (especially the many garbage trucks roaring by). Parking was easily found for free on the street about 5 blocks away. I would not stay here. I feel that they need to update (get rid of the dark, dank carpeting) and do some serious cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimSev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Dollar wise an excellant deal, you are right in the heart of the marina and shops. They have two buildings, and the one alittle further up the street is just ok. Our room was suppose to have a sleeper sofa, it had none and no other room to move us to. But they did provide a cot for our 16 year old son free of charge. Air conditioner in room had a very hard time keeping up. Felt muggy in room at times. No elevator. And parking is across the street, and it's not cheap. Like $18 a day. Breakfast is included and you get alot for your money. It's in the main building. And there is no internet other than the lobby, that is a pain when traveling with your teenagers who think they can't live without it. haha

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindir65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Americas Cup Inn is centrally located in the heart of Newport, within walking distance of the harbor, all the city's restaurants, and even some of the mansions. Purely a bed and breakfast, the room we had on the second floor was cozy and comfortable. I was especially pleased to see that while it did not have a tv, it had a number of carefully chosen books. Parking is the major problem in Newport. The Inn has arrangements with the municipal parking lot across Mary Street (not Thames Street) to accommodate guests' cars at $18 for each 24 hour period, with unlimited exit and enter during that time. It worked out well, but must be considered when calculating your daily cost. All in all, an excellent choice if you want to be in the center of town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This was a great vacation. Demetri at the desk was wonderful. We were made to feel welcome and found our room to be cozy and clean. A slow-dripping leak under the sink was fixed the very same day we reported it! (Thanks!)
We have no complaints at all about the room, the staff, or even anyone we met in Newport. It was an exciting place to visit. We shall be returning....someday.
P.S. This was Easter week, early April, not the busy season, so it was a good time time to visit before the summer crowds change the atmosphere.
Pat & Mike H.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Some positives and negatives really:
Positives: It was in a good location - right on Thames Street, and walking distance to the main bus station. I walked everywhere as the weather was so good - even out to the mansions. The lady who does the housekeeping and the breakfasts was very sweet and very efficient. The room was nice - but yes, it is like staying at your grandmothers house.
Negatives: The B&B was not staffed between 4pm and the following morning. So safety was something I was concerned about being a female on my own. I 'checked out' at 9am and the desk was not manned. I just had to leave the key on the worktop. Very odd.
It was ok, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Lost_Continent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews