We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to stay”
Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Cup Inn
Ranked #29 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It reminded me of a small European hotel. It was not fancy but it was clean and very quaint and cozy. The breakfast was wonderful if you like traditional European breakfasts of cold cuts, breads, fruit, coffee and tea. Which we do! The price was right and the location was perfectly centrally located. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibkimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am not a fan of bed & breakfasts. They give me the feeling that I am staying at my grandmother's house. Not private and usually not up to date either. But since I was staying here I decided to try to make the best of it. This place confirmed my feelings about B&B's.
Our original room had a water leak in the bathroom ceiling. The room we were moved to had no window shade and it was on the street level. The next room only had two double beds.
The rooms were dated and drafty. The floor coverings were old and worn. We didn't even bother to try the breakfast. It was only for one night, so not totally terrible, but far from comfortable.
It is less expensive compared to a hotel room in season. But still not worth staying in as far as I am concerned. OK, I know it is an old historic building that some might call quaint. But I will take a Marriott instead.

Ken 100

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The breakfast that was served was not your typical continental breakfast but was cheese, cold cuts, eggs, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The inn is located on a side street right in downtown Newport. Our room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. It seemed a little pricey but the Newport International bout show was being held during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This Inn is well located on a small side street just off a larger road that has lots of shops. It's a short walk from the docks and fine restaurants, so you don't need to drive and pay again for parking. They serve a very nice breakfast in 2 comfortable rooms and the inn has a European feel to it. Cookies, cakes, tea and coffee are served in the late afternoon there as well. The sleeping rooms are not up to date but clean and comfortable. Rooms can be small but a mini suite/kitchenette is also available. The staff is very pleasant and welcoming. Parking is just across the road but the cost will seem high to some at $24 per day. You can buy stamps for the car park ticket at a lower rate of $18 per day at the hotel front desk. The parking lot system seems odd but the hotel staff can explain how it works.

Room Tip: We weren't pleased with a small room and got an upgrade to one with a kitchenette at no extra ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackX729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The shower has good water pressure, and the break fast looks good. But looks can be deceiving and water pressure is supplied by the town.

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel. It is massively overpriced, even by Newport summer tourist standards.

The room was large, the carpet dirty. The hall carpet was also dirty; there was a piece of plastic in the hall and a piece of toilet paper on the stairs when we checked in and it was still there when we checked out 3 days later.

Regarding the breakfast spread, it is a wide assortment of fruits, juices, bread, cold cuts, and cold eggs. Well actually, most things were about room temperature, It appears that they put stuff out on display at the start and just leave it there. Cold/room temperature omelets were not very appealing, And the same ones were there 2 hours later. How long can you leave food that should be served hot or cold at room temperature?

We mentioned where we were staying to a server at a local restaurant, he said everyone refers to the America's Cup Inn as the "Hotel of Last Resort" or "Sucker Central". He said everyone knows it is overpriced and that it is frequently the only hotel in Newport with Vacancy even on the busiest days of the year.

The hotel has no read "ZERO" parking. They do offer a discount at the public parking lot across the street. The normal in season parking price is $25/day and the hotel only charges $18 / day; with unlimited in / out. Unfortunately since it is a public lot, they do not "hold" places. So we when we took advantage of the In / Out; we were told there was no room in the lot when we returned. Leaving us to find street parking or use another fee lot.

If you have low expectations or a "money is no object" attitude, the America's Cup Inn will be fine. Save the noise, lack of views, and uncertain parking. If you expect value for your money look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have a view. just the ones on the front of the property. I do not know if a reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here at the last minute before heading off to The Cape the next day. We found the hotel, our room, and staff all to be quite charming. It is obviously a historic building, and we really enjoyed that aspect of the property. The location couldn't be better.

They were kind enough to recommend a great bike ride through scenic newport, and the european style continental breakfast was amazing.

Overall the entire stay reminded me of a very cute hotel we stayed at in Paris last year. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorzyzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is an over priced hotel, gouging, noisy (on the street) 4 th rate hotel who capitalizes on Newport, RI and soaks people in season. The ac in the room are old and noisy, shower leaked and couldn't be fixed until Monday, we were there on the weekend.

Room Tip: Since this is 1 ft from the sidewalk, 6 ft from Harley's and trucks, no room is a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnyhornung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#18 of 96 in Newport
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.2 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#27 of 96 in Newport
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Address: 6 Mary St, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840-3028
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $87 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing