We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and fantastic breakfast buffet”
Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
America's Cup Inn
Ranked #23 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and fantastic breakfast buffet”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This B&B was great value for money at less than $100 per night, we were traveling from the UK and in need of somewhere to stay when we arrived in Newport and literally walked in and made a reservation. Don't be put off by the flowery décor, it looks worse in the photos than in real life. I’m not sure if all the rooms are of the same standard throughout but we stayed in a double room on the 2nd floor which was very large and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic, as good as any top hotel and the choice was superb. There were free cakes, biscuits & tea in the evening left out in the dining room. Staff were very friendly and there was a 24hr car park across the street for $18 per day (discount for hotels guests). It was located right on the main st and within walking distance of restaurants and marina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    77
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
46
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

America's Cup Inn was a very pleasant surprise. We have a 9 month old Golden Retriever and were looking for a pet-friendly hotel on our recent visit to Newport RI. We thought we would have to stay in a Motel 6 or something similar but found ACI on the Internet. What a great place. It is right in the center of town and all the action. And, surprise, we found that a beautiful (and delicious) buffet breakfast was included. The building is old (some may call it quaint) and furnishing are by no means modern, but it was comfortable and they made our puppy feel right at home.

Room Tip: The small apartment size rooms come with a kitchen and sitting room. Window A/C units are noisy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was an awesome stay. Great, clean, big room with a really comfy bed. Very helpful staff (the Brazilian receptionist has extensive knowledge on what to do and see). A magnificent breakfast as well.
The only downside is that there's no elevator, so if you're carrying a lot of luggage, be prepared.
All in all, a definitive recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a wonderful B and B located on corner of Thames and Mary in downtown Newport. Great location and within walking distance of everything downtown. Parking right across street thru B and B at cost of $18. per 24 hrs. Parking is a challenge here so this was both reasonable and convienent. Our room was excellent.....spacious and very clean. We were on 3rd floor on corner overlooking downtown.....great view and was quiet, but could be a little noisy in busy season.
Great breakfast and sitting room in lobby. Recommend highly this B and B. Beautiful patio on roof. WiFi throughout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C and L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verplanck, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Esteban and the staff provided the kind of service you usually hope to get but rarely do. Very quaint hotel with excellent location. Breakfast served in a very comfortable dining area with nothing left to be desired, something for everyone. I've traveled worldwide and absolutely would recommend Americas Cup inn for the best value in Newport. Pretty hard to argue with anything there especially after you experience the staffs dedication to the inn. We'll be coming back here for sure.
Mike

Room Tip: If stairs are something you may need to avoid keep in mind no elevators buy they have several rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. The staff was pleasant and the room reasonably priced. The house is what one would expect for an older building. The rooms are small, but pleasant. The only concern would be noise from the bar next door. However, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone who is a night owl.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Although my stay was short this quaint inn is right on Thames. My room was street level which translates to lots of
noise from passersby...it did not get quiet until 100 am. The rest of my accommodations were fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam6833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#66 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Property: America's Cup Inn
Address: 6 Mary St, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840-3028
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing