We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, convenient inn near downtown Newport”
Review of Adele Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adele Turner Inn
Ranked #34 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in the Redwood library room for three nights during the Newport Folk Festival in July 2013. The inn really met our needs that weekend and exceeded them. The inn keepers were very friendly and also cooked up a great breakfast every day. My S.O. thought that the inn was very home- like and was impressed with the ease they set up a boat tour for us on the last day.

The inn in situated on a side street between Bellevue Ave and Thames Street. We walked everywhere! We took the water taxi during the Folk Festival across the harbor to the Fort Adams, which is so much more pleasant than parking there. Essentially, we parked the car and didn't get back in it until we went home.

While we were there, the inn was fully booked, but did not feel overcrowded. However, the parking lot in back of the building was extemely tight. We opted, very happily, to park at the more roomy lot at the top of the street.

Our room was very quiet and the bed was super comfortable. Everything was clean.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: The redwood room is very quiet as it is off the main stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_E_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I recently planned a girls' overnight getaway to Newport, RI. Booking at the last minute, we did not have many options for a reasonably priced inn at the height of the summer season. Searching the Internet and reading Trip Advisor reviews, we discovered the Adele Turner Inn. An historical inn, Adele Turner is conveniently located on Pelham Street, an easy walk to Bellevue Avenue or to the waterfront shopping district. We stayed in the Great Gatsby room which is decorated with vintage movie posters and has a separate room with a jacuzzi. The room was pretty clean although stains were noted on the carpeting in the bedroom. We arrived late and missed afternoon tea, but we did have breakfast. Breakfast features a buffet with fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, pastries, and granola as well as a choice of a freshly cooked entree. The portions are small, but the entrees were very tasty. Although not the most elegant inn in Newport, the Adele Turner Inn has many positive features.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This charming bed and breakfast is located close to the Main Street in Newport, as well as the pier (with lots of stores and restaurants). It is on a quiet street. We stayed in a room in the front of the house. The room was large, but the bathroom was on the smaller side. The room was very quaint. In the afternoons, they served some beverages and snacks. The breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had poached eggs on a crab cake. It was a great way to fuel up before our Cliff Walk and mansion tours. The staff was friendly and welcoming; however, there wasn't always somebody in the office to address our questions. (They did have a phone number we called one evening, and we got a quick response after leaving a voicemail.) We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful well appointed rooms, fantastic staff, great breakfast, ideal location close to the action but on a quiet leafy side street. Hot summer night and the a/c unit was broken so it was a tough night's sleep, the night mgr Paris came and explained that there was no extra a/c units and that they were booked solid so no chance at a room switch, nobody's fault. They did the right thing and comped the stay so I immediately booked 3 nights for the end of summer. Tip top operation. 

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InsolentGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I made a recent trip to Newport, planning initially to go by ourselves. After making our reservations at the Adele Turner, our adult daughter insisted in joining us. By that time everything was booked and the owners were accommodating about adding a air mattress. Needless to say in a house built in 1855 trying to fit 3 adults into one bedroom was a challenge, but that was our problem and the staff went out of their way to make us happy.

the location was great, very near the docks and activity. The breakfast-- wow!. We ate on the front porch and the crab special was outstanding.

should we return to Newport, Adele Turner will be where we stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS82547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a week at the Adele Turner Inn and had a wonderful stay. The Inn is lovely, the rooms are large and well appointed, and the baths are spacious. Breakfasts are individually prepared and are delicious. The staff went to great care to make us feel welcome and special. We would reccommend this Inn to anyone wanting a special place to stay in Newport.

Room Tip: The "Music Festival" room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtramontano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Adele Turner Inn for 5 nights in early May, 2013. It was our first experience in a bed and breakfast as we are private people and as such like our privacy. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly and offered suggestions whenever approached as to how to enjoy Newport. The B+B also offers a really good deal if you want to include a tour of the
"Mansions" if you purchase your tickets through them you get a substantial discount off the regular price of admissions to 5 of the mansions. The breakfasts were extremely nice and had a relatively varied menu that were prepared fresh each morning. They also off tea each afternoon.
I spent a lot of time checking out this B+B before committing to a reservation and Bobbi-Jo (who is the person who oversees the daily comings and goings) was EXTREMELY patient and nice to me. She answered all questions and it was primarily due to her openness and friendly manner on the phone that I decided to go with my "gut" and actually book the stay.
We were very glad we did as it was a really nice experience. All of the employees (Amanda, Paris, Jenn) went out of their way to be nice and were all very courteous. I would easily recommend this as a place to stay in Newport, RI. It was in a good location, an easy walk (approx. 2 blocks) toward very busy and hopping and NOISY Thames Avenue but you would never have known it because the B+B was very quiet in a very quiet, gaslit neighborhood.
All in all we had a wonderful time in no small part to the staff who worked there. We stayed in the Redwood Library room and it was very nice and exactly as advertised on the website. I do not hesitate to recommend this B+B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#22 of 95 in Newport
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#41 of 95 in Newport
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adele Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Turner Inn

Address: 93 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840-3131 (Formerly Admiral Benbow Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $203 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adele Turner Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Adele Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Turner Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing