We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Romantic Getaway Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victorian Ladies Inn
Ranked #22 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Romantic Getaway Ever!”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I needed a few days away from the everyday grind to spend some quality time together with some rest and romance.The Victorian Ladies Inn staff made that happen in a big way.Betty Jo, our innkeeper for day one and two was so friendly that we felt like family.I had asked to have the Romance Pkg. prior to our arrival(bottle of wine,two beautiful roses and some chocolate hearts)and everything was as planned.My wife was so surprised and grateful.We did not get to meet the owners(Harry and Cheryl) but thru the other great innkeeper(Cindy)we learned how they came to acquire the inn and a little bit about them.My wife and I had a relaxing,quiet and enjoyable two nights and three days in Newport due to all of these fine people.We hope to go back again soon and bring some of our friends with us.Thank you again Betty Jo and Cindy.Hope to meet Harry and Cheryl on our next trip.The Victorian Ladies Inn is Number#1 in our book.
Don&Marsha-West Boylston,MA.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolgramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    62
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
174
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Proprietors Cheryl & Harry and Innkeepers Cindy and Betty Jo welcome you into their home and truly make you feel like you are part of their family. Their knowledge of the area is comprehensive, so they can help you with whatever your sightseeing goals are. The Victorian Ladies Inn itself is extremely well maintained and well appointed. We stayed in the Arthur room, which was very warm and cozy, and had a separate TV room. The bathroom was huge – unusual for a B&B. Breakfasts were delicious and generous. Afternoon teas included hot cider and homemade cakes. The Victorian Ladies Inn is a must for anyone who visits the Newport, RI area.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMontNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Victorian Ladies Inn is a great place to stay in Newport, a wonderful town for a long leisurely weekend. The hospitality was great. Harry, the owner (Cheryl was gone then) was friendly and helpful and provided a excellent breakfasts and conversation. The room we had was graciously decorated, with a newly remodeled bath, and just right for the romantic getaway. The small hidden garden in the back was gorgeous . Everything we wanted to see in Newport (downtown, wharfs, Cliff Walk, mansions, Tennis Hall of Fame) was within comfortable walking distance. Couldn't ask for more! We will definitely stay here again.

Alan and Elaine, NY

  • Liked — Friendliness, cleanliness, decorating, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandElaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My boyfriend took me here for 3 nights for my bday weekend. The Inn was very well run and staffed. Rooms were so cute and clean and charming. We had the Sophia room the first night and changed to a larger one with a cute fireplace and deck by the koi pond for the next 2 nights. The breakfast was yummy with cereals and breads and either eggs or waffles to follow. Tea time had wonderful teas, coffee and homemade cookies. Cheryl and Harry were very helpful with advice on tours, restaurants and the general area. We will return when it is warm out so we can enjoy more of what the inn has to offer.

  • Liked — the warm feeling of the inn
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank las888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My wife and I just returned from staying 3 nights at the Victorian Ladies Inn and we absolutely loved it. We would definitely stay here again. Our room was very nice and the owners & staff were super friendly, helpful, and very accomodating. Breakfast was very good - homemade granola, crumb cake, and even the banana pancakes :) Plus, it always smells fantastic in the house, especially in the morning.

I also can't say enough about the location. You're just a couple blocks from both the start of the Cliff Walk & Bellevue Ave. We were very thankful we didn't end up in the downtown area, off a narrow one way street with minimal parking - especially since we arrived in the dark and had never been to Newport before.

This was our first time to a B&B and I can say without hesitation that if all B&Bs are like the Victorian Ladies Inn, we will no doubt be staying in 'em again.

Great place, we highly recommend!

  • Liked — The whole experience - room, staff, food, atomsphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rossd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We visited Newport, RI and chose to stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Cheryl and Harry have a charming B+B and were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat during our 3 night stay, including the mansions and local wineries. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. We stayed in the Pauline room, which is in a separate building from the main building, but access is easy and the room is very spacious and quiet. We would definitely plan to stay here again in a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeOstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Ladies Inn the last weekend in March and absolutely loved it! We stayed two nights. Our room was absolutely superb. We stayed in the Pauline room and would highly recommend it! Everything about the room was great. The canopy bed was super comfortable and the fireplace was beautiful. The rainwater shower was so relaxing!

The breakfast was SO delicious! They serve a continental breakfast as well as a scrumptous hot meal. Each morning the hot meal special is different, and both mornings the meals were superb. It's a great way to start the day - filling up on great food before you go walking around Newport :)

We were looking for a romantic weekend away from the kids and definitely found it. We felt so welcome, and the innkeepers were so friendly. We plan to make this a yearly tradition to recharge as a couple.

Dave and Jackie - Milford, CT

  • Liked — The room - absolutely beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike - everything was wonderful!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2getawayanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.6 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Property: Victorian Ladies Inn
Address: 63 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing