We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL Weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Ladies Inn
Ranked #26 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Ladies Inn the last weekend in March and absolutely loved it! We stayed two nights. Our room was absolutely superb. We stayed in the Pauline room and would highly recommend it! Everything about the room was great. The canopy bed was super comfortable and the fireplace was beautiful. The rainwater shower was so relaxing!

The breakfast was SO delicious! They serve a continental breakfast as well as a scrumptous hot meal. Each morning the hot meal special is different, and both mornings the meals were superb. It's a great way to start the day - filling up on great food before you go walking around Newport :)

We were looking for a romantic weekend away from the kids and definitely found it. We felt so welcome, and the innkeepers were so friendly. We plan to make this a yearly tradition to recharge as a couple.

Dave and Jackie - Milford, CT

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2getawayanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Victorian Ladies Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

We were warmly greeted at The Victorian Ladies Inn and that set the tone for a lovely stay. Accommodations were immaculate and the bed/linens wonderful! The homecooked breakfast was served alfresco in a peaceful adjoining garden. The location of the inn was perfect - close to the famed Cliff Walk along the ocean's edge with the mansions above and a pleasant stroll to Newport's shops and wharf area. We highly recommend The Victorian Ladies Inn!
Susan and Carmelo
Farmington, CT

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler06032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I would highly recommend this B&B! Great location, very convenient. I also love how there are 2-3 different buildings so you are not all on top of each other. Plenty of Privacy. Our room was beautiful Victorian style with private patio and private coye pond. Breakfast was lovely with continental breakfast, plus fruit parfait waiting for you and inn-keeper also made us fresh egg omellette and bacon on the spot. Excellent service, extremely friendly. They also gave us coupons for free wine tasting at local vineyard and coupon for free small bottle of wine! Great value for the price, will surely go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTmomma444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My boyfriend and I, as well as our two dogs, stayed one night at the Victorian Ladies Inn this past Memorial Day weekend. I was immediately struck by how polite and friendly the innkeepers were. The room we stayed in (Louise) was very charming, and we were even provided with two doggie bowls and doggie treats.

Breakfast is included, consisting of typical continental fare (e.g. bagels, croisssants, fruit) as well as homemade dishes (e.g. strawberry rhubarb cobbler).

One thing to note if you do plan on bringing pets: there is only one pet-friendly room at the inn (the Louise). Also, it's better if your pet is well-behaved and not too loud, as there was a guest room above ours. One of our dogs, a beagle, loves to bark so it made it kind of awkward at times.

Overall, I would gladly stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTAN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

This B&B has a premium location--three blocks to either the famed Cliff Walk or Bellevue Avenue, with ample off-street parking. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel like a guest in their home. Fabulous breakfast--you help yourself to a large continental buffet, and then if you have room, a cooked breakfast. One morning we had superb eggs Benedict. The rooms are very well-appointed and comfortable; however, the sole twin-bedded room is up two flights of very steep, winding stairs, but you have the option of using the servant's stairs that are straight up.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb_osobailiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

What a wonderful Inn. We went for one short night and can't wait to go back. The staff is so kind and they make you feel right at home. We went with a group of people and they took great care of us. Our room was beautiful. The bed was so cozy I never wanted to get up. The only thing better than the bed was waking to the wonderful smell of breakfast cooking. The breakfast was delicious and when a friend inquired about the recipe they printed one off for her. I will not stay anwhere else in Newport again. I can't wait to return in the summer....it is so close to area beaches. STAY HERE!!! Thanks Larry and Cindy. You made a celebration for my Birthday perfect!!!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank RIGIRL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We just got back from a weekend away at the Victorian Ladies Inn in Newport, RI. We have beem to Newport every January for about 5 years and usually stay at a different B & B each time.

After our stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn, we will continue our yearly trip but it will be to stay at this fantastic B & B! We stayed in the Louise room in the Carriage House which was a beautifully decorated room with the most comfortable bed and a gas fireplace that came in handy after a cold rainy drive!

The things that stood out compared to our other B & B experiences were the little thoughtful, personal touches that Harry and Cheryl have added to enhance a mini vacation. These include: electric candles for ambience, wine, champagne glasses and corkscrews and even some unromantic yet practical details like an umbrella in our room and a great hairdryer! These don't sound like over the top amenities but if you are without an umbrella on the rainiest day of the year and if you have used any of those hotel hair dryers, you know what I am talking about!

To add to this weekend, was the fantastic breakfast both days! There was a buffet of fresh fruit, granola, different breads and muffins to start and then the hot portion which was an omelette the 1st morning and crab cakes with mango salsa the next. Delish!

The owners of this Inn, Harry and Cheryl are the friendliest Innkeepers that we have met in Newport. They were down to earth, relaxed with the guests and had some great suggestions of local restaurants and hot spots to visit.

In closing, we will definitely be heading back to the Victorian Ladies Inn and I can only hope it will be sooner than next year!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anned4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#9 of 95 in Newport
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#32 of 95 in Newport
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#55 of 95 in Newport
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Address: 63 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3629
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $178 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing