We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victorian Ladies Inn
Ranked #21 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Despite the name, men are very welcome. In fact everyone is made to feel welcome. The main house is over 100 years old and does suffer with the odd creak here and there but that adds to the charm.

The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished, and talking of taste, the breakfast was delicious.

The house is situated a short walk between the harbour area and the cliff path.

I would highly recommend the VICTORIAN LADIES INN

Oh by the way, check out The Canfield restaurant about 100 yards down the road. (see my review on that)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    55
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
159
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here just one night in September, but it was great. Had a room in the carriage house and it was quiet and secluded. Our hostess's were fantastic and we had a wonderful breakfast in the courtyard. We especially loved the location. Close enough to walk down to the harbor front and to Cliff walk, but far enough away from most of the hustle and bustle. We walked to dinner in the evening and actually walked a lot of Cliff Walk before breakfast the next morning - It was nice to be able to come back from our walk and sit down with a cup of coffee and breakfast before heading our on the next leg of our trip. Would love to come back and spend 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Victorian Ladies Inn for three nights in the Beatrice Room - a two twin bed suite on the third floor. The room was very charming and very quiet as we never heard any noises from the occupants of the other two rooms on the floor. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Cindy who showed us around the inn and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were always delicious and Cindy was kind enough to give us the recipe for the Crumb Cake which was absolutely fantastic. It was a bit chilly during our stay in mid-September so we did not get to enjoy the beautiful patio and garden areas. The inn was ideally situated for all the sights. This was our first stay at a B & B and we enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiinNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn during the Columbus Day weekend. The Inn has so much charm, the owner Harry is so kind and takes time to show you around and answer any questions you that you may have. We stayed in the Leopold room which is a deluxe room in the carriage house. It was beautiful. Immaculate. To find an Inn with such beautiful gardens is rare. Attention to detail shows here. The cliffwalks are three blocks away and not a far walk into town either. The morning breakfast is just wonderful. We really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Victorian Ladies Inn during a recent visit to Newport.
The inn is close to the famous Cliff Walk and is within walking distance of many restaurants and some shops. The inn is well maintained on a very pretty property with a garden and koi pond. The room we stayed in,Alfred, was good-sized, clean and quiet. The stairs to the second floor are a little narrow and winding but there is the option of using the stairs in the back of the house in the kitchen area. Breakfast was a buffet with delicious coffee cake, breads, juices,etc. and one hot entree which is freshly prepared. We had the opportunity to meet the owners and they are very pleasant and helpful. Everyone on staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay at the Victorian Ladies and Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank librarylady320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
317 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic B&B in great location for cliff walks and the Newport Mansions. We where met by Cindy who was so friendly and gave us a detailed description of the surrounding area and were to eat out. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. And the breakfast is the best we have had in New England and that's saying something. Don't miss this B&B if you are staying in Newport.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last week we were able to have a 1 night get away and decided to head to Newport . We chose The Victorian Ladies Inn based on the reviews, location and price. The location was wonderful. You could walk everywhere and enjoy the downtown with lots of shopping and restaurants. We attended the boat show and the innkeepers allowed
us .to leave our car for the day at the inn. We were joined by 2 other couples . I thought all our Rooms were decorated tastefully and very clean. They had all the amenities you needed. Breakfast was a selection of cereal, baked goods, fruit and after you helped your self to that they served a lovely piece of homemade quiche with bacon. It was a little confusing to get a cup of coffee while we waited for our friends to join us at breakfast. There really wasn't a place to self serve the coffee so you had to stand in the kitchen where they were preparing breakfast. Although the staff was helpful I did feel a bit in the way. The grounds are well maintained and delightful. All kinds of little gardens and sitting areas. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting around the fire pit when we returned from dinner. I would highly recommend this B&B and would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Property: Victorian Ladies Inn
Address: 63 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing