We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Ranked #60 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Dolphin room which is a newer room off the dining room, with direct access to the porch and water views. The room had a nice sitting area and a comfortable bed as well as a tiny private bath. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to do. We loved asking about the history of the house as well as looking through binders of history and pictures. The breakfast consisted of bagels, muffins, hot and cold cereal, coffee and juice. We hoped for something more it were still satisfied with what we had. Also, we were able to bring our small dog which was a huge plus for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were introduced to this wonderful B&B by the visitor information folks in Newport. Set right on the water with killer views in a house full of history and charm. The back porch was a prime spot for sunset and included comfortable furniture and blankets for the cool autumn evenings. The house is located on a block full of historical homes and walking distance to the downtown area and lively docks. We were lucky enough to be in town for the annual "Seafood Festival" which was more than fun, lots of seafood and great people! We were a short drive to the area's mega mansions and toured a few but we couldn't wait to get back to our great B&B to take in the fantastic views! Our hostess was welcoming and made us feel comfortable in her lovely home! We loved the clocks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinestowine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sanford-Covell in July for the Newport Folk Festival. It was exactly what we wanted!! We had the most beautiful and romantic room on the third floor with a bay window and waterfront view. We had a wonderful large bathroom with two sinks and a great shower. We loved the location and the decor. We felt like we were in our own private home. No one bothered us at all, in fact we really didn't' see the staff. We greatly enjoyed the location. We slept well and enjoyed the breakfasts available. We were able to walk to several nearby places. Overall I would very highly recommend this place. I will definitely be back there. What a great experience!!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarKettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Totally agree with reviewer from Jersey about not sleeping. If all the clocks were timed to chime together it wouldn't be too bad but they all go off at different times. Plus the church clock which is shut down after 10pm and then chimes again at 7am with all the night chimes in addition to the 7am one!! Bring your ear plugs.

This is a Typical colonial house owned still by a descendant of the original Covell family. She was very charming and so were her "managers" - we met 4 of them. They all seem to work part time shifts. The place is littered with memorabilia and trash also yes I did see a Paddington Bear and he does not come from the same era as the house!!! Our room was a twin and the beds were comfortable but the sheets were all unironed and old. The carpets were tatty and the bathroom was awful. I felt the whole place needed a good clean and refurb. It's all very well saying how charming these old houses are - I live in an 18th C house in the UK and also had a 14th c house but they need looking after and you have to keep up the maintenance. I think there is an American obsession with old things and whilst it is great to collect really interesting and valuable antiques and paintings- dont keep all the tat. The excellent points of this house is its wonderful verandah for sitting in the sun and admiring the views of the ocean and the sunsets are lovely. We were there to visit the Newport Mansions so easy from this B and B. also great to walk into town for dinner no need to drive. I'm glad we were there in October as Newport must be rammed in the summer. The Mooring restaurant was great too. Would I go back? Not sure. Don't think so. The breakfasts are not good enough cor the prices charged . A bagel and banana is not enough. They should offer at least fruit salad or something a little more interesting. The place has a sad atmosphere probably because it needs sorting out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlefield, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice .The building and grounds were like stepping back in time. Super staff. very helpful. The pool was open, but to cold this time of year.Yes the clocks going off in the middle of the night was not good for sleeping.But I'm a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The highlight of the Sanford-Covell is most certainly its location - the B&B offers a great water view and the convenience of being walking distance from downtown. Unfortunately it's tough to enjoy the views when you're running on little to no sleep due to the excessive number of grandfather clocks that chime throughout the night, echoing through the halls.
Every hour various clocks are set to chime -- each of which is staggered to ensure that you hear EVERY.SINGLE.ONE. Just when you think it's over and you might fall asleep....another clock chimes on the half hour. I honestly don't understand how anyone can stand to stay here for more than one night...people must lose their minds for lack of hitting their REM stage at any point during their stay!
It also should be noted that the breakfast portion of your B&B stay only includes store bought English muffins, bananas, yogurt and dry cereal. Tough to justify the cost during peak season when you still have to go out to pay for a "real" breakfast upon checking out.
Most of the other reviews touch on the fact that every flat surface is covered with..."stuff", so no need to go in to detail on that -- just know that if you have the slightest touch of "clean freak" in you, you will not be to happy roaming through this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Haddam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This Inn is very cool and very eclectic, with a interesting array of items in their décor.
We chose the Sanford Covell Inn because they do have pet friendly rooms, and they are located right directly water front in the bay, and within walking distance to town.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The price is fair for the area, especially considering the location...and the heated saltwater pool and Jacuzzi.
The continental breakfast was average and good enough.
No a/c, but the good fans they have are adequate, being so close to the water, it was cool enough.
The large wrap around porch is very pleasing, with plenty of seating and nooks to feel comfy in.
Tv's small, but really , how important are TV's on vacation. I only like to know they are there to watch the news personally...we had a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#23 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#7 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanford-Covell Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanford-Covell Villa Marina

Property: Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Address: 72 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1514
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanford-Covell Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing