We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Beautiful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Ranked #71 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Uniquely Beautiful B & B”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This B & B is beautiful, inside and out. The hard wood finishes and intricate trim instantly remind you that you're in a very old house. The furnishings are a mixture of history, with pieces ranging from the late 1800's to the 1920's and on up to modern day. I'd say the house is heavily decorated, not cluttered.
We stayed for two nights in the Dolphin Room. This room is more like a small apartment and has its own balcony. There is a large armoire that separates the sitting room from the bedroom w/ private bath - toilet, small walk-in shower & sink. The entire room is lined with windows, but there are sufficient curtains for privacy. If you're not extremely modest, keep the curtains open. The all around view is incredible, and one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen (and I've seen my fair share of tear-jerking sunsets).
Aside from the aesthetic beauty of the house and landscape, one of the biggest perks for me was the dog-friendliness! We have two very spoiled fur kids that go everywhere with us. The grounds are completely fenced in and the B & B requires that your pets be well-behaved and picked up after. Our dogs had a blast playing with the resident, white standard poddle named Sasha! The B & B is in a great location too. It was a scenic five-minute walk to the wharf, where there are lots of great shops and restaurants. Some shops even kept water bowls outside for passing canine friends!
If you're looking for a unique experience and an unbeatable view, then Sanford-Covell Villa Marina is the place you need to be!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Dolphin Room for spaciousness and the most gorgeous sunset you'll ever se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed for weekend in the Apartment section of the house. We had a separate entrance and it was a beautiful room. There was a bedroom and living room, along with a full kitchen, so plenty of roomto spread out and be comfortable. We were able to heat the room to the right temperature and there were plenty of blankets and bedding to keep us warm when we turned the heat down for the night. A disappointment was that the TV did not have a DVD player, so we ended up finding some VCR tapes at a local thrift shop so we could relax in front of a movie after a busy day of walking around town. The breakfast was mediocre - fine for a continental breakfast, but it would have been nice if a hot breakfast was offered.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Inn staff were friendly, the room was comfortable though cluttered with too many antiques and decorations. The plethora of grandfather clocks, though beautiful, made it hard to sleep because there were about 4 and they all went off about 5 minutes off from each other. The bathroom was very old and not in a good "antique" or old fashioned way, rusted sink and cracked, floors and tiles. It felt dirty. The clawfoot tube was nice but the shower curtains and floor mats were dirty and grimy. I skipped the second day shower and waited until I got home (and felt cleaner). The room was cold and though space heaters were provided but they were not able to be plugged in because the old outlets didn't hold 3 prong plugs. Most disappointing of all was the breakfast. It was all cold stuff - muffins, cereal, toast and you had to serve yourself. Really not what one expects for a B&B and especially one that charges $200/night. Nice location, easy walk to Newport, and water views are this place's only saving graces. If you just want a bed, and to be in walking distance of Thames street and Newport, then you might not be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnoymousRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Beautiful family owned home that is right on the water with the most stunning sunset view. Not too far from town so you can walk to dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1babyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Really Beautiful Views, Great Pool...but you need to be there to enjoy it. If you're there for a meeting or festival and gone all day you don't really get a chance to enjoy the main feature - pool and views. Rooms are average - Its a great big, eclectic house thats really interesting to wander around but comfort is lacking for the price. Old bed linens, lumpy, small beds. No airconditioning on 90+ degree weather days. Breakfast is really so basic its almost insulting. Store bought muffins, minimal fruit and cereal/yogurt - thats it. They'd be better off just offering coffee and not saying its breakfast. Left a few items in my room and they mysteriously vanished when I called to retrieve them. I went from the room to my car to my home - so I didn't lose the item, I left them in the room and somehow they were not to be found. I had to call three times before I could even get a call back. Not even a sorry or an offer of reimbursement. There are a lot of places to stay in Newport - I'd say if you want a great view and a pool to lounge at in the afternoon then in might be worth it but the poor breakfast, lack of "new" bedding, but most importantly minimal customer service - I'd spend my $300 elsewhere.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared baths, Rooms on bottom have no airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAMAID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

As a B&B the location is superb looking over Newport bay with the gardens of the house going down to the water. There is a pool in the garden and a small pier if you should want to arrive by boat. The house is situated in one of the historic parts of the town in a quiet residential street. The house is very full of period furniture and all the period features are still there! On the downside breakfast was disapointing, if you were looking for some home cooking. No hot food at all and all self service. This is the only B&B we stayed at during our tour of New England where the owners did not live in the property maybe that was a downside, but you could not beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinphudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This historic B&B did not dissapoint! We stayed for two nights and would have loved to have extended our stay! The views of the water and the bridge are breathtaking - and best of all the sunset! The house is also truly impressive and I believe it is the only bed and breakfast on the water in the point neighborhood. Can't wait for our next visit - hopefully when the pool is open!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#24 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#7 of 95 in Newport
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#65 of 95 in Newport
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayberry Inn of Newport
Bayberry Inn of Newport
#17 of 95 in Newport
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanford-Covell Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanford-Covell Villa Marina

Property: Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Address: 72 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1514
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanford-Covell Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing