We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somers, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Romantic Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I surprised my wife with an Anniversary Getaway to Newport at the Cliffside Inn. It couldn't have been "more perfect". The Inn is within walking distance of the Cliffwalk, the Mansions and the downtown harbor / restaurant area. We stayed in the romantic Blue Room where we enjoyed an evening drink by the fireplace after returning from our special dinner celebration. We really felt pampered by the service, the breakfasts and the afternoon wine & cheese gathering with other guests. The hosts, Bill and Nancy, were great. Beyond making the guests comfortable, they added a personal touch. Nancy provided insite to the local attractions and Bill told of their motorcycle tour in the Adriatics. We will definitely return to the Cliffside Inn on a future visit to Newport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
How wonderful it was to have you here for your 40th anniversary! That is quite a milestone and we are honored that you chose to spend it with us. Newport is such a romantic place and the perfect spot for an anniversary celebration. I'm glad you enjoyed the Blue Room - it is so cozy and warm - it is a unique room for sure.

We hope you can find some time to visit us again soon - even if it is not an anniversary.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
840
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Tower Suite about a month ago and had the most incredible experience at the Cliffside Inn. Bill & Nancy were amazing hosts and we can't say enough positive things about our little pre-baby #1 getaway! The room was amazing - it was very clean, the view/sunset from the room was fantastic, and the bathroom was one that I wish I had at home (rain shower, huge 2-person jet tub, etc.). The service and food was incredible. We didn't get a chance to check in til' a little later in the evening on our first night and had an amazing cheese plate brought up to our room (delicious!) The breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres were amazing. My favorite (if I had to pick one...) were the cinnamon sugar pancakes (seriously...amazing...and it's not just the preggo lady in me speaking!) We highly recommend the Cliffside Inn to anyone looking for a romantic/relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We were so glad that you were able to get away for a little midweek babymoon before the new addition comes. The Tower Suite is just an incredible room for a nice relaxing get away. Thank you for all the wonderful comments about the inn, the food and the staff. We all really do appreciate it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully you have lots of babysitters lined up.:)

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was first time my husband and I experience staying at an B&B and from the moment we arrived I was a pleasure to meet everyone at the Cliffside Inn. We stayed in the Sun Room and it was absolutely beautiful! The views of the ocean, sun shining through the windows, and the most delicious "Fondeles", a unique buttery, oatmeal cookie (Bill shared the recipe with me), was just part of the experience that made it so GREAT! They whole experience was wonderful! They really know how to welcome and make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We love Newport and LOVED our stay at the Cliffside Inn! Thank you everyone. :)

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Sun Room and it has a great view and was very nice. A couple we met had been in q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlyse d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Isn't it nice to have a place close to home that still makes you feel like you had a get away?! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Sun room. I just love that steam shower - particularly after a long Cliff Walk.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Never in 25 year's or so of staying in B&B's have my wife an I had the owner Bill carry own luggage from the car and his wife Nancy carry it to the car when we left. We are in our 80's and surely appreciated it. The room we had was superb and clean. Both Bill and Nancy went out of their way too tell us above sight seeing in Newport pointing to the areas of interest on a map. They made sure we met the other guess" at 5pm with horderves and wine. Breakfast was wonderful. Their location is great. Debbie and the rest of the staff too were very friendly and helpful. Truly an unique experience. (we didn't use the pool)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have the two of you stay with us. You are such a lovely couple and had so many wonderful stories to share will all of us. Maybe we will have to figure out how to put a pool on the property before your next visit.

Warm regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have the unique pleasure of spending many nights in a multitude of hotels and inns around the country. Cliffside Inn sits atop a very long list. Bill and his staff are exceptional. The room was so comfortable and the grounds immaculate. There really isn't a more beautiful location in Newport. I will certainly be back often!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your stay in Newport. We are honored to know that we are at the top of your long list of places you’ve stayed in around the country. We were all very delighted to meet you and to help make your stay here enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again when your travel permits.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

we could not have had a better few days after our wedding than with Bill & Nancy. we stayed for the two nights following our wedding. The Inn was idyllic and Bill and Nancy could not have been more pleasant or helpful during our time there. From the moment we stepped in, we were treated like family and they truly made us feel special as newlyweds. They upgraded us to a larger suite and truly helped us plan the perfect day in Newport. we were nervous about coming in the wintertime, but the property was gorgeous in snow and there was a winter festival going on which was wonderful to take part in! I could not imagine staying in a better place than the Cliffside Inn. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the breakfast was amazing and the company incredibly friendly. We can't wait to return for an anniversary in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It was so nice to meet you and to have you here to celebrate your marriage. We love being able to make everyone’s special occasion memorable. We are happy that you liked your suite and your travels around Newport. Newport is a very lively town with lots to do at any time of the year. We are thrilled that you liked our breakfasts and the company. We always say it is like having family visit, and all of the conversations are unique and interesting. We really enjoyed helping you to plan your visit and look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary!

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just wrapped up a lovely stay at the inn, couldn't have been better. Lovely room, wonderful breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese hour. The innkeeper Bill and the staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We are already planning a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marbricar812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your room, our gourmet breakfasts and our always relaxing afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres reception. We find that breakfast, and especially our afternoon wine reception, brings about the nicest conversations. We always relish this personal time with our guests. We look forward to your return visit to the Cliffside Inn.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.2 mi away
OceanCliff Hotel
OceanCliff Hotel
#14 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing