We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway in the Garden Suite”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway in the Garden Suite”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Garden Suite on 2/17. All we have to say is WOW! Every detail is done to perfection in the entire place. We loved the 2 floor aspect of our room, the heated bathroom floor and towel rack and the oversized whirlpool tub. A fireplace on EACH floor added an impeccable touch. Both Nancy and Bill were wonderful hostesses. Nancy reviewed a map of Newport with us in detail upon arrival. Bill created an outstanding array of breakfast items...and both seemed to really enjoy conversing with their guests during breakfast. Cliff Walk access is also about 75 yards away...and although it was a little snowy and icy....it was a great view and walk of the RI coastline. The Cliffside Inn is an outstanding B&B that we will be sure to frequent again in the near future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slagana610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do like chatting with our guests and getting to know them. We have great guests and that makes our jobs wonderful. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the Garden Suite. I just wish you could have stayed with us longer. Maybe next time?

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
862
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Cliffside Inn. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was excellent. We had a huge walk-in shower with 2 very nice rain heads, plus a small sitting room with a fireplace. We paid a little more for the suite was it worth it. Since there was quite a bit of snow and ice on the Cliff Walk we didn't go very far but the B&B is very close. They gave us a map and pointed out all the highlights, since it was our first time in Newport, this was very helpful.

The breakfast were very good always had options just in case you didn't want the main dish. They also hosted a cheese/wine happy hour which was very nice. Good wine and nice selection of food.

The owner, Bill, was out cleaning cars off the morning after we got 4+ inches of snow. We would definitely go back and would recommend it. Plus it is a very easy 1+ hour drive from Boston, very nice for a weekend or evening away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
The shower in the St. George's Suite is really amazing. I always feel like I should host a party in there. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the suite.

Only a short ride from Boston, so hopefully that means we will see you again soon. The ice is already off the Cliff Walk!

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and well kept this B & B was...well worth the price. The room was beautiful, more than accommodating, and immaculate! The food was fantastic and the staff was caring, friendly, and very helpful! It's only a few steps from the cliff walk and minutes from great restaurants and shopping. Perhaps the best part of the Cliffside Inn are the inn keepers. They were so kind and obliging. We had a "semi" family emergency and weren't sure if we were going to be able to make it there for our planned stay. They were so understanding. Fortunately, we were able to come and I'm so glad we were! Hopefully we will be coming back soon!!

Room Tip: The Cliff Suite we stayed in was detached from the main house, but not only had a bedroom and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are so glad that everything worked out with your daughter and that you were able to have a nice relaxing stay with us. It was really a pleasure getting to know both of you and we enjoyed watching you have such a good time in Newport - even with the snowy weather.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

Fondly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The innkeepers were very pleasant and went out of their way to please their guests. It was obvious how much these people cared about the inn and their guests. The property was beautiful. The room was fantastic. The spa tube and fireplace just added to the pleasant experience. The floors were heated! Loved that. I loved the cinnamon bun pancakes! Everything about the stay was wonderful.
Yvette

Room Tip: The garden suite had a heated floor downstairs, fireplaces, and a jacuzzi tub. The spiral staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Yvette,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do love the inn and our guests.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Garden Suite. It was fun surprising you with the massage. I'm sure it was quite a shock when you walked in.

We look forward to a future visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Being a young couple, who enjoy the finer things in life, we always hold high reputations where ever we go. Originally planning this "overnight romantic getaway" for my lovely boyfriend for a little pre-valentines day festivity, I did not expect for us to fall so head over heels for this incredible bed & breakfast (do not get me wrong, I knew we would thoroughly enjoy it).
We stayed in the Garden Suite, it was absolutely immaculate. I had notified the inn that we would be later than the typical check in time, they were very helpful, and they accommodated us beautifully. The suite even looked BETTER than it did in the photos online, we were both shocked. From 2 gas fireplaces, heated tiled bathroom spa floor, an incredible high-tech whirlpool tub, stunning patio, updated bathroom, comfortable reading area, and we slept like babies in the wonderful bed. To top everything off, breakfast was AMAZING!!
We have decided to make this a monthly ritual, as a little overnight getaway, so that we may find a little relaxation with our hectic professional lives. We might even switch it up next month with a different suite ;)
Thank you Bill & Nancy, the inn is quite fantastic! We are still talking about how wonderful our stay was today. Highly recommended to all!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous! We intend to try each out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
It was wonderful to have the two of you here with us. We look forward to this being a frequent event. I don't think you'll also enjoy Tower, Carriage House and Beatrice's room - although the Garden Suite is hard to beat.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the inn and for all your kind words.

We will see you soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful B&B!!!

We are currently staying in the 'Beatrice Room'. We highly recommend it!! The room is spacious with a fireplace and window seat, & the bathroom is out of this world - - 3 foot deep Jacuzzi tub, enormous waterfall shower, beautiful white and gray marble basket weave mosaic tiles. Really, the nicest B&B bathroom I've ever seen!

We would strongly recommend visiting Newport in the winter. While only a few of the mansions are open, you can get a winter pass for $28/person to visit 3 mansions, and since there are so few tourists, you will wind up with a free, personal guided tour of the mansion. Great for history buffs who want to ask a lot of questions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelMegPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are so glad you chose the Cliffside Inn for your baby moons! Three children in the next few months will certainly be a handful. You will be great moms. We look forward to seeing pictures when they arrive and hope that when you get a chance you will come see us again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I took my husband to visit Newport RI and to have a relaxing weekend getaway for his 50th birthday. The Cliffside Inn was the perfect choice for our stay! Bill and Nancy and their staff are so hospitable. We stayed in the Grovesnor Suite and loved it! The king size bed was comfortable and the tub heavenly!! I really enjoyed the wine reception at 5pm to mingle with the staff and other guests. The breakfast was amazing and Jackie is so nice and willing to share her recipes (made the granola and cookies today with the kids). The Inn is so close to the cliffwalk and a nice distance from town. Tamara was so sweet and helpful with dinner plans and things to do. We will be visiting there again I am sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was great to have you here for the big birthday celebration! I'm so glad Andy enjoyed it. It was great getting to know both of you and figuring out all the New Jersey connections - with us and the other guests.

Jackie really enjoyed your note and is glad that you are making good use of the recipes. She liked your suggestions too.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing