We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING SHORT OF AMAZING!!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cliffside Inn to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary!! From the moment we checked in to the moment we sadly left everything was perfect. The location of the Inn is just a few steps to the Cliffwalk and a short walk to the harbor and downtown. Bill and Nancy and everyone at the Inn are so gracious and will bend over backwards to make your visit unforgettable. The afternoon wine and appetizers and getting to know the other guests and Bill and Nancy is very nice. They surprised us with a heart in rose petals on our bed when we returned back from our night out as a little something special for our anniversary. Every night there is a turndown service with amazing cookies (2 just aren't enough :). Our room, The Loft was wonderful and cozy!!! The breakfast in the morning is delicious and if for some reason you want something besides the special (but why would you??) they will make you eggs to order. My husband and I can't wait to get back to the Cliffside Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckesge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

I am so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for you 20th wedding anniversary and for your first trip to the New England area. We truly enjoyed having you here and getting to know both of you and are thrilled that you had a great time at the inn and that you loved the Loft Room. Those sky lights are really great!

Thank you for the wonderful review and for being such great guests.

All the best,
Nancy, Bill and Koty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just came back from the cliffside Inn, The hospitality of Bill and Nancy was truly amazing. The staff was impeccable. Their breakfast special everyday was delicious. They also had a cocktail hour every evening which was a nice touch. Also a bottle of wine upon arrival. This was a great romantic getaway! I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We are so glad you liked the Cliff Suite and want to thank you for your kind words about us and the inn. We truly enjoyed having the two of you stay at the Cliffside Inn. It was great getting to know you both and seeing you enjoy Newport.

We look forward to a return visit soon. There are lots of rooms in the main house to try next time.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside last week... It was just wonderful, from the moment we walked in the front door, to the moment we sadly, left. Every single staff member was top-notch! Even Koty! It was very evident that the owners, Bill and Nancy, really love what they do, as so much care and energy is clearly put into running The Cliffside Inn. They are very present on-site, taking time to visit and talk with all the guests. The nightly 5PM wine and appetizer event is total class...The granola was out of this world.. Bill was even willing to share the recipe. Bananas Foster French Toast was also pretty killer!! We stayed in the Loft Suite, which was very romantic.. Would highly recommend it. The Cliffside Inn is only steps away from the Cliff Walk, which is wonderful.. Also, as a guest, you get to enjoy the interesting historical tale of Beatrice Turner, one of the early inhabitants of the house, who was also a mysterious, yet prolific painter. Many of her original pieces are on display in the Inn.. All in all, an absolutely fantastic experience. Go, if you can... You will not be sorry!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for that wonderful review, and even more for the lovely personal note you sent us. It was our pleasure to have you here and we really enjoyed getting to know both of you. That is the hardest part of this business . . . meeting wonderful people and then having them leave you. We will just have to wait for a reunion visit!

It was so great of you to go by the Stockbridge house too. She is a beauty and it is always a privilege when we get to stay there.

Best to you both,
Nancy, Bill and Koty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am accustomed to feeling very much like "Dorothy" on the last day of every vacation I go on, yearning for my own bed and bathroom. However I can honestly say I did not get the same auto response after staying at the Cliffside, simply because I felt completely catered to and with luxury amenities.Our room was beautifully decorated, bathroom was spacious and brand new. Breakfast was delicious and the servers were warm and engaging. If you are looking for a real holiday be sure book the Cliffside asap.

Room Tip: St George was loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

It was great to have you and your family here. Your daughters are just lovely and hopefully your son can stay with us too the next time you come. It was wonderful to see all of you enjoying Newport. I hope you got back to Pasta Beach on the way home to New Jersey.

We hope to see you again soon and that your Cliffside Inn mugs are being put to good use.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I truly enjoyed our three night stay at the Cliffside Inn this past weekend. The Inn is very clean, very well maintained, and quite comfortable. Stayed in the Sun room, which features a nice view of the bay. It is very bright on a sunny morning, hence the name? It is not a large room, so if you have a lot of baggage, it may not be the best choice. The location is tough to beat, with a 10 minute walk to the beach, 20 minute walk to Thames Street, and a 2 minute walk to the Cliff Walk, which is just down the road. Breakfasts were superb as we're our hosts. Be sure to check out Bouchard's French Restaurant, perhaps the best in Newport. We very much look forward to a return trip to Newport and the Cliffside Inn!

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, the Sun room is a little small, so if you have lots of baggage, you might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckster099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as guests at the inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the Sun room. While not one of our largest, it is very cozy and offers a lot of unique features. I hope you had a chance to try the steam shower in the bathroom. It is really a great relaxing way to start (or end) a day.

Hope you are enjoying your Cliffside Inn mug.

Regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highly recommend the Inn. This delightful Inn feels more like a luxury hotel than a B&B. Every little detail is accounted for, from the delicious breakfast on the porch, afternoon wine and appetizers, beautifully appointed rooms and wonderful staff. We appreciated the historical yet modern touches to our St. George's suite, which has a stunning and immaculate bathroom. Bill and Nancy are gracious and informative hosts, they gave recommendations that helped make our travels in town all the more fun and delicious. Evening turndown service with cookies was extra special! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventuresTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed the St. George's Suite. With the Inn having been the original site of the school while it was being built we thought it should be represented by a special room. Of course, you could fit the whole graduating class in that wonderful shower!

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to have you back in the future.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I just spent four days and three nights at Cliffside. It was truly a wonderful experience.
We had never been to Newport and picked Cliffside based on Trip Adviser reviews. It was everything we expected and more. Our "room" in the cottage was actually a three room apartment.
The bed was perfect. The bathroom not only was attractive it had a full size Jacuzzi tub. Turn down service each night with yummy cookies, full breakfasts with daily specials, afternoon wine, tea cookies, etc., and innkeepers who really care about their guests. The location is also terrific. It is away from the tourist hustle and bustle of downtown Newport and there is free parking on sight.
If you are heading to Newport this is THE place to stay.

Jerry & Sandy M.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Jerry and Sandy,

It was so wonderful to have you both with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the Cliff Suite. We enjoyed getting to know you at the afternoon reception and watching you interact with our other guests.

We hope we will see you back here in the fall.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $211 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing