We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am accustomed to feeling very much like "Dorothy" on the last day of every vacation I go on, yearning for my own bed and bathroom. However I can honestly say I did not get the same auto response after staying at the Cliffside, simply because I felt completely catered to and with luxury amenities.Our room was beautifully decorated, bathroom was spacious and brand new. Breakfast was delicious and the servers were warm and engaging. If you are looking for a real holiday be sure book the Cliffside asap.

Room Tip: St George was loverly
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

It was great to have you and your family here. Your daughters are just lovely and hopefully your son can stay with us too the next time you come. It was wonderful to see all of you enjoying Newport. I hope you got back to Pasta Beach on the way home to New Jersey.

We hope to see you again soon and that your Cliffside Inn mugs are being put to good use.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I truly enjoyed our three night stay at the Cliffside Inn this past weekend. The Inn is very clean, very well maintained, and quite comfortable. Stayed in the Sun room, which features a nice view of the bay. It is very bright on a sunny morning, hence the name? It is not a large room, so if you have a lot of baggage, it may not be the best choice. The location is tough to beat, with a 10 minute walk to the beach, 20 minute walk to Thames Street, and a 2 minute walk to the Cliff Walk, which is just down the road. Breakfasts were superb as we're our hosts. Be sure to check out Bouchard's French Restaurant, perhaps the best in Newport. We very much look forward to a return trip to Newport and the Cliffside Inn!

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, the Sun room is a little small, so if you have lots of baggage, you might w...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckster099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as guests at the inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the Sun room. While not one of our largest, it is very cozy and offers a lot of unique features. I hope you had a chance to try the steam shower in the bathroom. It is really a great relaxing way to start (or end) a day.

Hope you are enjoying your Cliffside Inn mug.

Regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highly recommend the Inn. This delightful Inn feels more like a luxury hotel than a B&B. Every little detail is accounted for, from the delicious breakfast on the porch, afternoon wine and appetizers, beautifully appointed rooms and wonderful staff. We appreciated the historical yet modern touches to our St. George's suite, which has a stunning and immaculate bathroom. Bill and Nancy are gracious and informative hosts, they gave recommendations that helped make our travels in town all the more fun and delicious. Evening turndown service with cookies was extra special! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventuresTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed the St. George's Suite. With the Inn having been the original site of the school while it was being built we thought it should be represented by a special room. Of course, you could fit the whole graduating class in that wonderful shower!

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to have you back in the future.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I just spent four days and three nights at Cliffside. It was truly a wonderful experience.
We had never been to Newport and picked Cliffside based on Trip Adviser reviews. It was everything we expected and more. Our "room" in the cottage was actually a three room apartment.
The bed was perfect. The bathroom not only was attractive it had a full size Jacuzzi tub. Turn down service each night with yummy cookies, full breakfasts with daily specials, afternoon wine, tea cookies, etc., and innkeepers who really care about their guests. The location is also terrific. It is away from the tourist hustle and bustle of downtown Newport and there is free parking on sight.
If you are heading to Newport this is THE place to stay.

Jerry & Sandy M.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Jerry and Sandy,

It was so wonderful to have you both with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the Cliff Suite. We enjoyed getting to know you at the afternoon reception and watching you interact with our other guests.

We hope we will see you back here in the fall.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 2 days here on our way from the Berkshires to Cape Cod. Great location very close to the Cliff Walk and an easy walk to all of the key locations in Newport. The Tower Room was a 2 story suite which contained an extraordinary turret, which provided a view of the water, and had a nicely finished washroom at the ground floor entry.
The breakfasts were wholesome and delicious and could be enjoyed on a lovely porch or inside the dining room. The afternoon wine and hors d'ouevres were an added touch. The owners, Bill and Nancy, were warm and gracious and Bill even provided a superb breakfast earlier than their usual starting time to accommodate our early morning departure. We had previously stayed at the Chanler which is beautiful but overall believe that the Cliffside Inn definitely deserves its #1 rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you were able to fit Newport into your New England schedule. It was such a pleasure having you here and seeing you enjoy Newport.

We are so pleased you like the Tower room. It really is a very special room.

Hopefully, we will see you back in Newport one day.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location, beautiful B & B and warm hospitality from the whole staff. Nancy and Bill are gracious hosts that make you feel right at home. Afternoon wine and hors d'ouevres and breakfast were plentiful and delicious. My husband and I would love to revisit in the fall. Loved our stay at Cliffside Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for being such wonderful guests. We enjoyed having you here and do hope you will return in the fall. It is a great time in Newport with a little cooler weather but still plenty to do.

Looking forward to seeing you again then.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We knew from the moment we arrived that this was going to be special. Not only were all the surroundings perfect and beautiful but the mood of every single person we met was exceptionally friendly and we were greeted so warmly that we immediately felt at home. Nancy and Bill went above and beyond to make everyone totally at ease and very happy. The setting is so gorgeous and the cliff walk an amazing extra that we loved. The Inn is just a marvel and, I think, what everyone would love when they go to a Bed and Breakfast. This was so much more. The breakfasts were delicious with many choices and I, personally, love French pressed coffee. We were there for a very lovely wedding we were attending in Newport, Cliffside Inn enhanced every aspect of our trip. Our experience here was first class and I can only hope to return someday to further enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ams356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

It was so wonderful to have some Atlantans with us. Although we adore Newport, we still miss our friends from Atlanta and it was so nice to meet you two and get to know you. Made us feel connected to our prior home. We are so happy to have you here and do hope that if your plans take you up north again you will come and stay with us. We really do have an incredibly lovely location and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and other amenities that the Cliffside Inn offers.

Hope things aren't too steamy back home.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $268 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing