We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3627   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Cliffside Inn in Newport, Rhode Island is truly an exceptional place to stay. There is nothing ordinary about it. The inn itself is lovely. Set on a quiet street close to the Cliff Walk, this Victorian mansion is impeccably decorated, filled with beautifully maintained antiques and paintings. Nancy greeted us at the door when we arrived and immediately made dinner reservations for us when she heard that we had not made plans. Her recommendation was exactly what we were looking for- an intimate Italian restaurant with delicious pasta dishes and more.
We stayed in St. George's Suite which is located on the third floor and features a view of the water. There were fresh flowers awaiting us as well as an adorable swan shaped towel positioned on the bed. Cliffside Inn offered a wine and cheese hour from 5-6 which provided an opportunity to socialize with other guests. There was not just wine and cheese, but several warm appetizers, proscuitto, salami and nuts. It was an unexpected and very generous buffet! When we returned from dinner, there were warm cookies waiting for us and ice in the ice bucket! A perfect way to end an enjoyable day in Newport. In the morning, the breakfast was also a
splendid affair with homemade granola, muffins, fresh fruit and a hot entree of an omelet,
sausages and breakfast potatoes. We really felt pampered at the Cliffside Inn!

We highly recommend the Cliffside Inn. Nancy and Bill go to great lengths to make your stay unforgettable.

placed on the bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that we could make your stay special. The shower in the St. George's Suite is certainly one of a kind, and thank you for the suggestion of putting a bench in there. Bill has already taken care of it. We hope that you will come back to Newport again when the weather is a little warmer.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
60
785
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had planned on a three day pre-Valentines weekend and were able to ,fortunately,secure a fourth night as Nemo approached. The exceptional warmth and charm of the Cliffside itself ,even in the midst of a major blizzard ,was unforgettable. The same can be said for the innkeepers ,Bill and Nancy. Their dining recommendations were spot on. Bill even rescued us one evening after dinner when the cabs were not responding and we were late returning. He tracked us down and then drove through the snow filled streets to rescue us.
The Beatrice room with its five tall windows on the harbor was a delightful haven offering a wonderful view of the storm. With the Cliff Walk only 100 yards below the Inn ( and having remembered at the last moment to include our snowshoes), we were able to enjoy several memorable hikes "post Nemo". Lest we forget, the breakfasts were some of the best we have had away in years. We have marked our calendar for a return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinnjBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We have had many memorable guests since opening the inn, but I must say you two rank among the top! We so enjoyed having you here and it was great to see you and the other guests rally and enjoy the storm even with the power outage. The Dark and Stormy happy hour is one for the books. At least the generator kept us with heat and hot water. All of this while celebrating your 40th wedding anniversary. Well, I suspect you'll never forget that milestone.

We will definitely plan dinner the next time we are in Boston, and we look forward to your return here.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked the Garden Room for the weekend of February 9th. How were we to know it would be the Blizzard of '13?

The inn is wonderful and Bill and Nancy are cheerful and resourceful innkeepers! The entire island lost power Friday night, but they had a generator and the weekend activities continued. Bill plowed out the 20" of snow from the parking lot and stairs, cooked us delicious breakfasts and he and Nancy kept the place spotless!

The rooms were great (we got moved due to the storm), the company was wonderful and the entire weekend (under difficult weather conditions) was magical!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajbartosic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
What a weekend it was! We didn't get power back until early Wednesday morning but with heat, hot water, hot coffee and cold wine we did ok. It was quite an adventure though. We'll have to repeat the Dark and Stomy tradition for all future storms. Thank you for your understanding and flexibility during the blizzard. We do hope you will visit us in sunny weather.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived on a cold night to Nancy's and Bill's warm greeting. They made us feel as though they already knew us. We are drawn to ambiance, authentic hospitality and charm. The Cliffside has all of this and more. Our room was cozy and the decor so appealing. The turn down at night with the cookies by our bed and the fireplace turned on were delightful. The evening wine and appetizers in front of the fire gave us a chance to mingle with the other guests. In the morning we greatly appreciated the library as a quiet place to read and write. And the breakfasts were too good. Hopefully we will be back.

Ellie M.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Ellie,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a thoughtful review. It was wonderful having the two of you here. One of my favorite thing about the slow season is that we have more time to meeting and talk with our guests. And our guests are the best! So glad that you enjoyed the Beatrice Room. I just love that bathroom and the tub in the bay window. . . so romantic.

We hope you'll be back to Newport again to see us soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted warmly. EVERYONE we met at Cliffside was so friendly and helpful. Nancy and Bill were the perfect host and hostess. You can tell they really love what they were doing. Our room- Garden View was just wonderful- heated floors!! in the downstairs bathroom area with heated towel racks and a delightful spa tub. We look forward to returning again and trying all the rooms!! We can't forget Cody, their very friendly dog.
Newport is a very fun place- lots to do and many wonderful restaurants.
You won't be sorry; you'll only be sorry you can't stay forever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I can't help but agree with your review title! But seriously, we really appreciate your great review and your kind words. I really love the heated floors in the Garden Suite too. The patio off the lower level is really great in the nice weather. There are even more things to do in Newport in the Spring and Summer so I hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My sister and I recently celebrated her 60th birthday at the Cliffside Inn. Bill, Nancy and the kitchen staff made us feel right at home the minute we arrived. Soon after checking in, we found ourselves sipping tea, in a cosy room, next to a roaring fire. Served with the tea were delicious sandwiches and cookies. It hit the spot on a rainy and cold January day. The rooms at Cliffside are gorgeous. We loved the old world charm with modern amenities. We could have stayed forever, but unfortunately we had to return to New York the next day. We definitely are recommending this Inn to our friends and we hope to return soon ourselves. My sister said she could not have spent her birthday in a more lovely place than Cliffside. Thank you, Bill and Nancy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and your sister for her 60th (I can only hope I look that good when I get there). I wish your dad could have been here for his 80th too and I hope they are feeling better. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Cliffside Inn in the Garden Suite on January 20th 2013 for a quick relaxing getaway. The room was very spacious, separated into two floors that are joined by a spiral staircase, each with a fireplace; the top floor being the bedroom area and the lower floor being the relaxing room with a reading nook and an over-sized whirlpool tub. The weather was nice enough on the first day that we took a leisurely stroll along the cliff walk, which is a short walk away from the inn.
After the walk, we returned to the inn in time for an afternoon wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres, which was very enjoyable. We got to visit with Alexa from the inn, who was very entertaining and funny.
Afterwards we retired to our room, drew a warm bath, and relaxed in the whirlpool for hours, then climbed into an extremely comfortable bed for a great night's sleep. In the morning we went to breakfast and were presented with our choice of entrees, to which we chose the special of the day: gingerbread Belgium waffles.
I can't wait to return to the Cliffside, as this will be a reoccurring adventure for years to come. After 13 visits we will be able to stay in each room of the main house, and then hopefully we can repeat the process again. Visit #1 complete.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerwarewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We look forward to the next 12 visits and thensome! I wish we had been here during your stay, but am glad to know that Alexa took good care of you. Jackie works magic in the kitchen so you never know what gem you'll get at the afternoon reception or for breakfast! We do hope you will be back soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#2 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing