We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just simply the best!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Just simply the best!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Jim & Dot M.

Our stay at the Cliffside Inn could not have been better.
The house itself is as clean, comfortable, and warm and inviting as possiable.
The host/owners, Bill and Nancy are as plesant and accommodating as can be and Bill cooks up a scrumptious breakfast.
There is no question where we will be staying on next visit to Newport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Jim and Dot,

It was such a pleasure having you here. The four of you were so great to chat with and get to know. We hope we will have you all back soon.

Happy holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
852
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A wonderful night in The Loft at Cliffside Inn. The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The Inn is in a quiet location but within walking distance to Newport attractions and the Cliff Walk. We highly recommend this Inn and we will return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We wish it had been for more than one night too. It was lovely having you here. Hopefully, as your travels take you between the UK and Vermont you'll find some more time to stay with us. Hope you had a safe trip home and are having a wonderful holiday.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I wanted to surprise my boyfriend with a trip and figured Newport would be the perfect distance from Boston. I happened to stumble across Cliffside Inn while browsing Tripadvisor, and I'm glad I did! This B&B is the perfect location for a nice getaway but would also be great for families as well. The location is perfect for a walk along the Cliff Walk and is only a short distance to downtown Newport.

We stayed in the Carriage House and were completely blown away. I had looked at pictures ahead of time but the ones posted online did the room (specifically the bathroom) no justice. Everything was PERFECT from the bottle of wine left for the celebration to the absolutely delicious breakfast int he morning. Bill and Nancy were unbelievable hosts that make this B&B just a delight to stay at. We are already discussing the next room we will stay in for our trip back!!!

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong with any room, but if you are looking for a more private spot, choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Well, I'm just glad the Patriots won that week! It was wonderful to have you both here to celebrate Nick's birthday. Thank you so much for the great review. We are thrilled you were "blown away" by the Carriage House. It is so hard to have pictures do the rooms justice.

Looking forward to having you back soon, maybe for your birthday?

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We can't say enough about the Cliffside Inn. The house, the grounds, the view, the rooms, the furnishings, and oh, those bathrooms! And most of all the Innkeepers! Nancy and Bill are just perfect. Every attention has been paid to the details. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Newport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
What a special time your visit was for us. I am so glad that Kirsten mentioned she was coming here and you decided to check out our website. We were so touched that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your remembrance/celebration get away. Nick certainly has some very special parents.

I was thinking of Wednesday and hope the surgery went well. Keep us posted.

Merry Christmas,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingville, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and I can honestly say we are hooked. Bill and Nancy, the Inn owners are just wonderful. From the minute we arrived until we left I felt like we knew them for years. Our room was beautiful with such a great view. Our breakfast was excellent and the evening reception was wonderful as we sat around the fire with family that we travel with. Great wine and friends ! We did tours of the surrounding mansions and walked through the town to shop. I can tell you we will not book any other B&B except the Cliffside Inn. This will now be a tradition. Thank you Nancy & Bill for a wonderful weekend. We will see you soon. Best regards, John & Lorraine

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
John and Lorraine,

I am so pleased that you chose the Cliffside for your first B&B experience (or at least that your brother picked it) and that you enjoyed it so much. It was great getting to know you and enjoying wine time with all of you. I am also glad that you enjoyed the Garden Suite. . . and the heated floor in the bathroom!

We do hope it becomes a holiday tradition.
Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have returned to the Cliffside Inn 3 times in the last 8 years. This was the first time since Bill and Nancy took over. From the moment we walked through the Door we were made to feel right at home. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts were awesome. Everything is top notch.Can't wait to go back. We brought along our sister and brother in law. They will definitely be returning as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It was wonderful to have the four of you here and we do hope it will be an annual tradition! I wish the weather would have cooperated a little more but at least the last morning was beautiful. It was fun hearing you reminisce about prior stays, and are thrilled that you enjoyed the changes we made at the Cliffside Inn.

Hope you have a very Merry Christmas.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a night in Newport and really regretted that we could not spend more time there. Location is perfect at the start of the cliffside walk and a short distance from the center of Newport. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious, much better than average. Next time in Newport we will also stay in Cliffside Inn, The only problem is we have to travel several thousand miles! JJ

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
A thousand miles isn't that far! But seriously, we were so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your stay in Newport. We agree that the location can't be beat. Steps from the Cliff Walk and a mile from the heart of town. The best of both worlds. We do hope you will make it back to Newport to visit us in the future.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing