We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and great service”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night in November for a get away. It was great! We stayed in one of the suites (not in the main house) and it was spacious, beautiful new bathroom, and comfortable. The bath tub was amazing - huge!

The tea and breakfast had all fresh made items. The breakfast had fresh made granola, baked goods and had made to order eggs.

Location is steps to cliff walk and easy walk to beach - a little further to town.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerBoston2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

The Cliff Suite is the largest room that we have and it really is amazing. We are so glad that you were able to get away, even if just for one night, to enjoy it and all that the inn and Newport have to offer. Hopefully, you'll get the opportunity to break away again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This inn is a great place to stay if you have celiac's disease or are gluten intolerant. For breakfast each day, I had gluten free muffins and gluten free blueberry pancakes. They also had fruit and yogurt. I could have also had eggs fixed any way. For afternoon tea, I had a special plate prepared with yummy gluten free treats. The innkeepers are very friendly and the inn is very beautifully decorated. There is an outdoor fire pit that you can sit around and get warm and there is a beautiful view of the ocean from the front facing rooms. The cliff walk is only a few feet away and the inn is about a mile from Bellevue Avenue where all the beautiful mansions are waiting for you to visit. This inn is on the Select Registry and we will definitely be back to visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the sun room that faced the ocean. There is a cool window seat to read a good book. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

It was our pleasure to provide the gluten free selection. There are so many good gluten free options now. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Sun Room. I do love that steam shower and the view of the beach this time of year is incredible.

I hope next time you head up the coast we will see you again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A beautiful fall trip to Rhode Island began with our first night stay at The Cliffside Inn. We did not have reservations and lucky for us they were able to accommodate our one night stay (sad to say only one night). This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast – they certainly set the bar high for our future B&B stays. We stayed in the Carriage House – WOW. This was so very comfortable and just like home. Bill and Nancy are the perfect Inn Keepers. We started our day with a nice stroll on the Cliff Walk – and the view – amazing!! The hospitality at the wine gathering was so warming, meeting guests from all over and enjoying the special selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres. Off to a wonderful dinner at the Wharf (one of Nancy’s recommendations) then back to the Inn to enjoy a little time around the fire pit. Nancy gave us so much information on the Inn and the surrounding area – really she is a perfect self-guided tour guide. This is one B&B you do not want to miss. Hats off to Bill and Nancy and their wonderful staff for making our stay feel like a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! Every room is so very special, it just depends on how you feel at that mome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We are so happy that you decided to try a bed and breakfast and that you chose us! I'm glad we were able to "convert" you! Thank you so much for taking the time to write that wonderful review, and to post the photos as well.

Hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the garden suite at Cliffside Inn for the weekend after our wedding and were absolutely thrilled with it. The room was unique and luxurious, with a jacuzzi bath and a private garden with a waterfall! The building was a gorgeous renovated Victorian building with really lovely decor and pleasant atmosphere. The owners were really friendly and had an adorable dog wandering on the first floor. Breakfast was amazing (best coffee I have ever had) and turn-down service came with cookies! Just a short walk to the beach! We highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The garden suite has a private entrance so you dont have to go through the main doors at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

It was so great to have you both here for your wedding night. It was fun watching the guys get ready for the ceremony and everyone so happy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the room - the Garden Suite is one of the most romantic suites at the inn.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Cliffside for our 10th anniversary and it was fabulous! We stayed in the Carriage House and I loved all the amenities -the adorable remote control gas fireplace, the jetted tub in a truly amazing bathroom- a fabulous 2 sided antique sink from the barbershop of the Waldorf Astoria was really the icing on the cake! Nancy and Bill are warm and welcoming hosts, and provided excellent tips on things to do and see in Newport. We were fortunate to have a warm late fall visit, so we could enjoy our breakfast on the front porch, which was lovely. I hope we get the chance to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your great review. It means so much coming from someone who also runs a Select Registry property. I hope that we get a chance to visit the Inn at Round Barn Farm soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Cliffside and loved it! Met alot of the guests and we agreed to meet again "same time next year"! We highly recommend it, Bill & Nancy are wonderful, and the food, atmosphere and other guests are fantastic! To really enjoy drinks and dinner in town I recommend calling "Cozy Cab" and ask for Keith......a great inexpensive way to enjoy the town, drinks and dinner with no fear of a DUI....

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It was so great having you here. I am sorry the trip was delayed but so glad you finally made it. What a wonderful group of guests we had in that weekend and I really do hope we will see you "same time next year". It can become a restuarant week tradition.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just spent one night at the Cliffside Inn, but enjoyed it tremendously. The owners are so welcoming that sometimes I forgot I was staying at an Inn and not visiting family. We loved the afternoon wine social because we got to meet the other guests. I can't imagine staying at any other place in Newport. I am very fussy with my 5 star ratings, but had no problem giving this Inn one. Can't imagine anyone could complain.

Went to Bouchard for dinner (#1 Tripadvisor). We tried to reserve ahead but could not a reservation. The Innkeepers got us one at last minute because the restaurant called them with openings. How great is that?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtonmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Wow...thank you for posting your thoughtful comments about your stay at Cliffside. We appreciate the accolades from a top contributor to Trip Advisor. We have found that our evening wine and hors d'oeuvres reception is a great way to bring guests together - it is one the favorite parts of our day. We look forward to your next visit with us. Best wishes for the holidays.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $231 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing