We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cliffside Inn was the perfect way to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday! This was our first trip to Newport and we enjoyed every part of the weekend. The Inn is beautiful. We stayed in The Loft. We were super impressed by the cleanliness of the suite and ammenities available. The bathroom is gorgeous. The spa tub is huge, and the rain shower was refreshing. Bill and Nancy could not have been any more accommodating. They not only supplied a bountiful breakfast, but also an afternoon tea, a cocktail reception, cookies on our bedside table at turndown, and endless tips on where to go and how to get there. They made us feel like we were truly guests in their home. The other Inn guests could not have been friendlier. The Inn chef did a fabulous job making delicious meals and treats! You will not be disappointed with your choice to stay at the Cliffside Inn!

Room Tip: My sister and brother-in-law stayed in one of the cottage suites. It was huge with a bedroom, bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

That was a fun weekend and birthday celebration. We are happy you chose the Cliffside Inn for your first visit to Newport and for Jon's birhday milestone. Thank you for telling others about your visit to Cliffside. We hope you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving, and wish you the best for the upcoming holidays. Nancy and I hope to see you again for your next visit to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife, daughter and son-in-law and I stayed here on 31 October and 1 November 2012. We had originally intended to stay for only 1 night but our reception was so warm and friendly that we extended our stay to 2 nights. Our first impressions were obtained when we phoned to make the booking and spoke to Bill. So friendly. We arrived mid-afternoon and Bill greeted us and made us feel most welcome. He took time to explain the local sights, including recommending a few of the Mansions and Cliffside walk. he alos explained that thye would be serving tea from 16.30. We arrived back after our walk to find the most delicious spread of goodies awaiting us in the dining room - a most welcome refreshment after our walk. Bill and Nancy took time to talk to us while we were having tea. The rooms we had were wonderful. Clean, beautifully appointed and amazing bathrooms. The beds were comfortable, ensuring we got a great night's sleep. Breakfast on both mornings included a "special", as well as their fantastic home made Granola. on our second night, the tea was replaced by a wine and canapes spread. Again, a wonderful opportunity of chatting to Bill and Nancy. Overall, it was a wonderful stay - sadly only 2 days.

Room Tip: Ask fro one of the sea facing rooms. Although the sea is not right in front of the hotel, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallas_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We were so thrilled that you decided to spend the extra day with us. It was wonderful to have the four of you here and to get to know you. It was great to watch you connect with the other guests as well. Hope your travels back to the UK went well.

Cheers,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful bed & breakfast! My husband and I recently stayed three nights in the Carriage Room and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The location is perfect -- just steps from the beginning of the Cliff Walk. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious, Bill and Nancy were friendly and helpful hosts. All the other reviews have said it all really -- you can't go wrong booking a room here and I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

From one Newport to another, thank you. It was a pleasure having you here and getting to know you and helping you find your way around this Newport! We hope you'll make it back to this coast again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside Inn for one night (unfortunately only one!) and had an amazing time. The place was cosy and gorgeous and the owners very welcoming. Bill gave us plenty of tips about the area which we really appreciated. The proximity to the cliff walk was wonderful and breakfast on the balcony was beautiful. I'm really glad that we chose to stay at Cliffside and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Newport.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We are so glad that your travels brought you to the Cliffside Inn. . . even for just one night. It was great to have you here. Hope you are enjoying your sail bag!

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went with friends to the Cliffside and had a wonderful time. Delicious breakfasts, attentive hosts, fun wine hour. Did I mention fun wine hour? The appetizers were fixed in-house and were awesome. Bedrooms with gas fireplaces and furnishings to fit the time period of the Cliffside. Highly reccomend.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ngcnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Yes, we love our wine hour. But it is truly the guests who make the experience special. It was wonderful to have you here and have you at the wine hour. Hopefully, you will make another appearance soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We love this impeccably restored inn. Bill and Nancy were superb hosts and everything about our stay was wonderful... from the rooms to the food, right down to the lush towels and bath products. Staying at the Cliffside was the best choice for an anniversary weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary celebration and that you had a great time. We hope it is not another 26 years before you come back to celebrate.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The other reviews that gave the inn excellent reviews are all correct. I will add mention of Nancy(wendy) and Bill's attention to detail. From the tasty cookies that are placed in your bedroom to the fruit infused water at meals, the numerous extra touches are really nice. Happy hour and the Saturday high tea were unexpectedly delightful with an array of cheeses and meats, gourmet pizza..... Saturday nite we sat around the landscaped fire pit and enjoyed the other guests company. I just hope they have room when we want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperAtomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We will always have room for you! And we truly look forward to your return. I have never been mistaken for someone's cat before. That's one for the books! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will see you again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#9 of 21 in Newport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $187 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing