We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
1,168
31
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
31
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suitewine hourturner suitemy husband and iwindow seatother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnercookiesbay windowcarriage house
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bill and Nancy couldn't be better hosts, they are accommodating, easy going, and gracious. The food is great, the Inn is beautiful, and the location is unbeatable. A perfect stay. I would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the inn. We do hope you will come back to see us the next time you are on the East Coast.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautfiul B&B in a beautiful town! Can walk everywhere if weather permits. Close distance to many attractions. Great breakfast. The Inn Keepkeeper Nancy is welcoming and does extra special touches like a Wine and cheese on Friday night and afternoon tea service on Saturday afternoon. What a special touch and great way for people to mingle. Though my husband and I did not partake in the bond fire at night I heard it was very fun!!! If you ever go to Newport, please stay at this B&B, it is truly beautiful and well taken care of!!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be a good choice!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Cliffside Inn. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that next time you'll be able to join us at the fire pit as well. Your kind words really do mean a lot to us.

Regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in the grosvenor suite which was on the second floor away from the other suites which we liked. The room and the inn were spotless. The towels in the beautiful bathroom were as soft as silk. When we arrived on Friday there was a cocktail hour with wine and cheeses, gourmet pizza , nuts and some other finger foods. Since we had just snacked we decided to go to a local hangout for a lite dinner . When we arrived back at the inn our room had been turned down and we were pleasantly surprised to find 2 chocolate dipped cookies on the night stand.. We couldn't wait until breakfast the next day , what will we be served? Scrambled egg with ricotta in a wrap with a hint of pesto was amazing and the French pressed coffee yum! We set out for some mansions and the food truck festival and the cliff walk(bring your sneakers lots of walking) . Home in time for afternoon tea served at the inn . Bill and Nancy are very generous hosts. Dinner was at 22Bowens which is a steak and seafood place very good I might add. We came back to the inn after dinner because the town stores seem to close at dark . We met our new friends (the other house guests) at the stone fire place outside with a bottle of wine , they were drinking Martini's , we had a great time meeting new people . Only one more night and breakfast to go ... Breakfast was the orange French toast which was excellent and of course the famous coffee...the day was started with an early morning walk to cliff walk to watch the sunrise ( the past morning was foggy) well what a sunrise it was ! The perfect way to start our last day . We truly enjoyed every minute of Newport and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast We didn't want to leave. Thank you Nancy and Bill for letting us spend our anniversary at your inn our home away from home! Gina and Rob

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Gina and Rob,

I hope that means that you will be back soon! Thank you for all of your wonderful comments about the inn. The martini night was pretty special. I've never seen a group of guests click as much as that weekend! We are so please that you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything about the Cliffside Inn is extraordinary...the Inn itself is well-appointed while being comfortable - every detail has been carefully thought about. Bill and Nancy and their staff are friendly and welcoming while allowing you to have your privacy. The breakfast had something for everyone - homemade granola (awesome), homemade muffins, fresh fruit, gourmet pancakes or eggs anyway you'd like them! Even an unexpected 'treat' (I wont spoil the surprise). This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a peaceful time. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are well described on their website.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctmom91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We love to make guest happy and we were so glad to have you stay with us for your special event. We do hope to see you soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Based on the reviews posted, this one may be a bit of a shock to most. My wife and I recently stayed at for an anniversary get away. The Cliffside Inn is in a PERFECT location on the edge of the Cliff Walk and it has recently been renovated. First the inn is gorgeous, perfectly decorated and very clean. The inn is HUGE with 16 rooms. We stayed in the St. George’s Suite, which is a bit larger than a standard bedroom. It had a separate sitting room with a fire place, but we found it to be very small & unusable, with two formal chairs and a very small TV. The bathroom is nice and had a very large oversized shower. The amenities of the inn are excellent, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, afternoon wine, tea and hors d'oeuvres.
Now, the main reason for my rating is more service related. On several occasions the level of service was not up to par for an Inn of this caliber. On the first day, we left after breakfast to enjoy Newport and returned to the inn at 2:45pm to find the room still had not been serviced. The following day, Sunday, we returned before dinner and bed was made, but no fresh towels. So we went to dinner and returned around 9pm to discover no turndown service, which we had on the two previous nights. My wife and I are experienced B&B patrons and maybe it was an off day, but when you pay the price we paid, I expect and deserve to hold the inn to high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We want to thank you both for selecting the Cliffside Inn as a getaway to celebrate your Anniversary. It means a lot to all of us at Cliffside to host guests for important events in their lives. We appreciate your thoughtfull comments about the quality of the inn. It did come as a bit of a shock to us, as you suggested that it might, to read your feedback on some of the service aspects of your stay. Nancy and I want to assure you that we, and the entire staff at Cliffside, do everything possible to make sure that every guest has an exceptional and memorable experience. It is our standard that all rooms are refreshed by 3:00 while guests are out enjoying Newport. On occasion, if we find that a guest has placed their "Privacy Please" sign on their door for some period of time, it could be later in the afternoon before the housekeepers are able to enter the room to refresh it. If we see that a guest is coming and going from the inn, we will try to confirm that the Privacy request was not left on the door in error. It is also part of our service standards to replace used towels every day and to provide nightly turndown service for everyroom. I did check our daily log and saw that the Privacy sign was on the door during turndown. We are sorry that you missed our Fondelé cookies and our Anniversary treat for you on your last night with us. The feedback is always helpful and will assist us in continuing to improve our service.

All the best,
Bill and Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews