We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
1,168
31
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
31
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suitewine hourturner suitemy husband and iwindow seatother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnercookiesbay windowcarriage house
Filter
Updating list...
914 - 919 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything about the Cliffside Inn is extraordinary...the Inn itself is well-appointed while being comfortable - every detail has been carefully thought about. Bill and Nancy and their staff are friendly and welcoming while allowing you to have your privacy. The breakfast had something for everyone - homemade granola (awesome), homemade muffins, fresh fruit, gourmet pancakes or eggs anyway you'd like them! Even an unexpected 'treat' (I wont spoil the surprise). This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a peaceful time. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are well described on their website.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctmom91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We love to make guest happy and we were so glad to have you stay with us for your special event. We do hope to see you soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Based on the reviews posted, this one may be a bit of a shock to most. My wife and I recently stayed at for an anniversary get away. The Cliffside Inn is in a PERFECT location on the edge of the Cliff Walk and it has recently been renovated. First the inn is gorgeous, perfectly decorated and very clean. The inn is HUGE with 16 rooms. We stayed in the St. George’s Suite, which is a bit larger than a standard bedroom. It had a separate sitting room with a fire place, but we found it to be very small & unusable, with two formal chairs and a very small TV. The bathroom is nice and had a very large oversized shower. The amenities of the inn are excellent, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, afternoon wine, tea and hors d'oeuvres.
Now, the main reason for my rating is more service related. On several occasions the level of service was not up to par for an Inn of this caliber. On the first day, we left after breakfast to enjoy Newport and returned to the inn at 2:45pm to find the room still had not been serviced. The following day, Sunday, we returned before dinner and bed was made, but no fresh towels. So we went to dinner and returned around 9pm to discover no turndown service, which we had on the two previous nights. My wife and I are experienced B&B patrons and maybe it was an off day, but when you pay the price we paid, I expect and deserve to hold the inn to high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We want to thank you both for selecting the Cliffside Inn as a getaway to celebrate your Anniversary. It means a lot to all of us at Cliffside to host guests for important events in their lives. We appreciate your thoughtfull comments about the quality of the inn. It did come as a bit of a shock to us, as you suggested that it might, to read your feedback on some of the service aspects of your stay. Nancy and I want to assure you that we, and the entire staff at Cliffside, do everything possible to make sure that every guest has an exceptional and memorable experience. It is our standard that all rooms are refreshed by 3:00 while guests are out enjoying Newport. On occasion, if we find that a guest has placed their "Privacy Please" sign on their door for some period of time, it could be later in the afternoon before the housekeepers are able to enter the room to refresh it. If we see that a guest is coming and going from the inn, we will try to confirm that the Privacy request was not left on the door in error. It is also part of our service standards to replace used towels every day and to provide nightly turndown service for everyroom. I did check our daily log and saw that the Privacy sign was on the door during turndown. We are sorry that you missed our Fondelé cookies and our Anniversary treat for you on your last night with us. The feedback is always helpful and will assist us in continuing to improve our service.

All the best,
Bill and Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Cliffside Inn for our anniversary and we could not have made a better decision. The inn is gorgeous, immaculate and cozy. The owners, Nancy and Bill, were wonderful and made us feel so relaxed and at home. Their attention to detail is outstanding. We would be hard-pressed to stay anywhere other than the Cliffside Inn on our next trip to Newport. We are already planning a return trip for next year's anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHiggs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are so pleased that you decided to spend your first anniversary with us . . . and that you are planning the second one too!

It was great getting to know you and figuring out our NJ connections. We look forward to having you back soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had such a great experience at the Cliffside. Bill and Nancy are very welcoming and entertaining hosts. We stayed in the Cliff Suite and it was beautiful. It's a very big suite, with a living room and separate library, both with fireplaces. Very romantic! Bill and Nancy delivered a bottle of wine to the room, and there was also canapes and wine served in the main house from 5-6pm. We walked the cliff walk in the morning - it is only a block or 2 from the inn.

If you're staying in Newport and want a romantic, pampering experience, you need to stay at the Cliffside Inn!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We are so glad the two of you were able to stay with us. I also really love the Cliff Suite for the size and the amenities it offers. We are really pleased that you had a great stay and hope that your travels bring you back to New England and the Cliffside Inn sometime soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Cliffside Inn was by far the most beautiful bed & breakfast, with newly renovated, brightly decorated rooms. The innkeepers were generous, pleasant, and wonderful hosts. We enjoyed our afternoon wine and appetizers after a long day of shopping in town. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would recommend the Cliffside Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We are so glad that you planned your birthday celebration at the Cliffside Inn and that we could make it a special night for you. The staff works very hard to make every visit special and we are thrilled that yours was.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews