We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Cliffside Inn. The room was fantastic; clean, comfortable and stylish. The breakfast was excellent. The Inn keepers are thoughtful, gracious and knowledgeable. We are already planning our return trip.
paul & robyn

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Paul and Robyn,

We are so glad you chose the Cliffside for your anniversary celebration! The whole team tries very hard to make those special days extra memorable and I am glad we succeeded for you. We'll have to try to break away for some couples kayaking next time you are here.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two lovely days in the beauty and luxury of Newport and our stay at the Cliffside Inn made us feel at home there. Bill and Nancy are gracious and helpful hosts, providing delicious and creative breakfasts served on the porch and lovely hor d'ouvres and wine in the afternoon. They have renovated/restored the mansion beautifully and with quality materials and work throughout. Everything one would want or need is supplied in the rooms and baths.

It is an excellent inn!

Room Tip: If agility is an issue, you may want to choose a room with a walk-in shower instead of one with a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed Newport and your time at the Inn. It was wonderful to have you stay with us. I am glad that we were able to get you out on the sunset cruise on the sailboat Aquidneck too. That is always an enjoyable time. The fall is such a special time in Newport, slightly quieter with still a lot to do. I'm glad you could enjoy some of it with us.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The property is beautiful. Stayed in the Beatrice room, which was very nice. Huge spa tub and separate rain shower. The food for breakfast was also great. Location--walk to Bellvue shops, and you have direct access to the Cliff Walk also. But the real differentiator is the hospitality of the owners and staff. They genuinely care and want to make your stay memorable. It comes through in all the details. Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tas33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

First, congratulations again on the Triathalon. What an accomplishment! We do very much appreciate you comments. Our mission is to make our guest's experience the best it can be and I'm so glad that we are meeting our goals.

Thank you again,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A stay at the Cliffside Inn is the epitome of a B & B experience. Nancy and Bill know exactly how to make their guests happy. They have attended to every detail in the guest rooms especially those wonderful beds. Bathrooms are also the height of luxury with great linens and wonderful bath products. The Cliffside was recommended to me by a friend and I will pass on the news of this special place to many others. Thanks Nancy and Bill for a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: every room is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks to both of you for being wonderful guests. I love when I connect with guests, but mostly when other guests connect with each other. Watching you with the other guests was a highlight of that weekend. Your love for the homes and history of Newport was great to see too.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last week was the first time back for us since Bill & Nancy took over our favorite B&B. They did an incredible job remodeling this unique place, both inside and out. We had noticed the service had been going down in our last stay in 2010, but now we could not say enough about the hospitality of the new innkeepers. We took my parents, who have difficulty with stairs, but got them a first floor room, and while the steps from the parking lot were a challenge, there now is new access on the first floor from the street side, thanks to the renovations last year. Bill & Nancy made us feel as if we were visiting their home. Breakfast on the porch has always been part of the experience for us at Cliffside, and this time it was better than ever as Bill served up pumpkin waffles. "High Tea" is not to be missed--the scones were fantastic this year..light and tasty with the homemade lemon curd.

We stayed in the "Loft" this time, and it was like being in another world. Big skylights made it seem like we were in a roofless treehouse, with a huge jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace we used at night. And of course it is in Newport, so there is more than enough to do. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: All rooms a good, but we love the Garden Suite, the Loft, and the Turner Suite the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiLoverofCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are so glad that you like what we've done at the Cliffside! It is always extra special to have comments from guests who were here prior to us and know that they are happy with the changes we've made. It was delightful to have your parents here too. They are really fantastic and we hope all four of you will be back to see us soon.

We really do appreciate your thoughtful comments as well as your loyalty to the Cliffside Inn.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Cliffside Inn ticks all the boxes, making it the best B&B we have stayed in during our five week trip so far!
Every thing was perfect. Comfortable room, Delicious breakfasts, helpful information to make the most of what Newport has to offer, in all ways from things to see and do , and recommending and booking the best restaurants in Newport.

The wonderful hospitality from ALL the staff made our holiday in Newport one to remember, and with fond wishes to return soon. Thanks again for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you! It was a pleasure for us right from the moment I dealt with your travel agent. We were thrilled that you made Newport, and the Cliffside Inn, part of your trip the the US. Knowing that you came here from a wonderful spot in NYC makes these comments even more meaningful to us. It really was delightful to have you here.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Beautiful, Friendly,delicious Food and Best accommodations and location in Newport! The cookies at night for the turn down service & the bottle of wine that came with our room were a lovely touch. There is plenty of free parking with easy access to downtown and all the tourist attractions. The owners and all staff were very hospitable and friendly.

Room Tip: My husband & I stayed in the Atlantic Room. It was separate from the Main House, extremely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

It was so lovely having you both here at the Cliffside Inn. Thank you for your great review. It means a lot to us and the staff to know that you had a great stay with us.

I hope your travels back down south went well.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $230 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing