We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better place!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a beautiful location! The rooms were beautiful and the breakfasts were fantastic. Bill and Nancy made us feel so at home. They are wonderful people and have made the Inn perfect! Alexis was a pleasure to speak with and gave a lot of great advice about where to go and what to see. We couldn't have picked a better location to celebrate our anniversary! We can't wait to go back!
Thank you!!! We miss Cody!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreat805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Labor day weekend is always special in Newport and we were so happy to spend it with you both. We were also so pleased that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary celebration. We hope you wll be back for many more.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Gracious, warm and engaging... we enjoyed the two owners as much as their lovely Inn. From the robes in our Tower Room to the setting and proximity of all that is Newport, it was exquisite. As others have mentioned, the owners extended themselves repeatedly, from making restaurant reservations to suggesting outings. The attention to detail was stellar. Even an indirect mention created results.

The afternoon wine and canapes were very nice and the exotic breakfast entrée clearly showed a talent and delight in food that matched our own.

Clearly, a good deal of money in restoration has been invested and the two owners have a vision that is powerful. The real challenge to the owners, Bill and Nancy, is how they will train their staff to the same level of passion and execution. That will create an enduring five stars and I believe that they are up to the task. - Dave and Roni from Seattle

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dave and Roni,

Thank you so much for that wonderful review. Your comments really make us happy! It was great getting to know you at the wine hour. You both have such interesting life stories. I appreciate your comments regarding the inn and the future. As we discussed, that's the goal and I think we have the staff to get there! Be sure to come back and check on our progress often.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice location in a quieter area away from the harbor (but very close to the great beach and the head of the Cliffside Walk - a must-do for anyone staying longer than just a few hours). Hosts are very caring, did restaurant reservations for us, offered a glass of wine to settle down to and lit a fire in the garden (more like a small park, really). Breakfast is great, too. Would definitely go there again if we planned on travelling the Newport area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

The four of you were so great to have here! I loved your enthusiasm for Newport and all the sights. You really packed a lot into two short days. I hope the trip to Maine was uneventful but that the reunion with LL Bean went well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Many thanks to Nancy and Bill for a delightful long Labor Day weekend at the Cliffside Inn. Chosen for its history and location Cliffside Inn exceeded expectations in beautifully appointed rooms (exceptionally clean), friendly and helpful staff and a sense that you were visiting family. We particularly liked the residential setting close to First Beach and steps to Cliff Walk. Bill, Nancy and staff were accommodating in addressing food allergies in making those breakfast at the inn even more perfect!

Room Tip: The room Beatrice overlooks the front lawn with partial views of First Beach through 2 sets of bay w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori60511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We were so happy to hear everything worked out well with your stepson. Having to leave a vacation early for an emergency is always stressful, but at least there was a good outcome. It was great to have both of you here and we really enjoyed getting to know you. I too love the Beatrice room. Especially the tub in the bay window . . . whirlpool, glass of wine, stars, beach and firepit all in one relaxing tub - ahhhhh.

Looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Once you arrive at the Cliffside Inn all of your stress and worrries simply melt away. Bill and Nancy along with their staff make you feel very welcome and attend to every single one of your needs. The Inn is magnificient, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the location to Cliff Walk just makes Cliffside Inn the perfect place to stay!
AO'C
Carmel New York

Room Tip: Cliff View Suite is a seperate cottage on the grounds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Cliffside. The Cliff Suite is the largest one we have and often people remark that it feels like they have their own apartment in Newport. Thank you for your great review and for your kind words about the staff.

We hope you will return to see us soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a historic home that has recently been renovated. Every detail was attended to with great care. It is just steps away from the Cliff Walk so is in a great location. The home is beautiful. There are so many features that make it interesting. The carriage house was so quaint. The sun room has an a shower with many features unlike any I've ever seen. It has steam (adjustable temp), aroma therapy, ipod hook up, and mood lights. It was the best shower I've ever had in my life! The innkeepers, Nancy and Bill, are so friendly and hospitable. They gave great guidance regarding tours, directions, and restaurants. Bill's morning breakfasts were a chef's delight. It was a fabulous B&B! I'm so glad to have found it!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is quiet and set apart...very cute. The Sun Room has a shower that is out of thi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyAbbyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We were so happy to have you here for your BIG birthday celebration! As you are a native Newporter, we were thrilled to welcome you back. I am a big fan of the steam shower in Sun as well. We tried to do something unique with all of the bathrooms, like the antique double barber sink in the Carriage House, something different than most people would find in their homes. I am really glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for all of your kind words.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at The Cliffside Inn after dropping our son off at college. The inn is a few hundred feet from the Cliff Walk and a mile from the downtown wharf area. The entire inn has recently been renovated and everything about it is beautiful. We stayed in the St. George's suite. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with antique furnishings, a queen bed and a flat screen TV. There was a separate parlor room with a library and gas fireplace and the bathroom had the largest spa shower I have ever seen. Service at the Inn is extraordinary. Every staff member we encountered was as friendly as could be. Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers are a delightful pair. They make you feel as though you are a family member staying with them. Breakfasts on the porch were incredible. Bill's Portuguese strata was out of this world. The afternoon wine reception and tea service was a delight. It was so nice to sit and talk with Nancy and Bill as well as other guests. There is turn down service at night and the bedside cookies were a pleasant surprise. This inn deserves the number one ranking on TA. Everything about the inn exceed our expectations. We highly recommend Cliffside and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The St. George's suite has a view to water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim77NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for that thoughtful and incredible review. I hope the Cliffside becomes a regular stay for you when you pick up/drop off your son at college. We too enjoyed spending time getting to know both of you, as well as your interaction with the other guests.

I think I should host the wine our (in bathing suits) in the St. George's Suite some night - what do you think?

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $268 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing