We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice location in a quieter area away from the harbor (but very close to the great beach and the head of the Cliffside Walk - a must-do for anyone staying longer than just a few hours). Hosts are very caring, did restaurant reservations for us, offered a glass of wine to settle down to and lit a fire in the garden (more like a small park, really). Breakfast is great, too. Would definitely go there again if we planned on travelling the Newport area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

The four of you were so great to have here! I loved your enthusiasm for Newport and all the sights. You really packed a lot into two short days. I hope the trip to Maine was uneventful but that the reunion with LL Bean went well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Many thanks to Nancy and Bill for a delightful long Labor Day weekend at the Cliffside Inn. Chosen for its history and location Cliffside Inn exceeded expectations in beautifully appointed rooms (exceptionally clean), friendly and helpful staff and a sense that you were visiting family. We particularly liked the residential setting close to First Beach and steps to Cliff Walk. Bill, Nancy and staff were accommodating in addressing food allergies in making those breakfast at the inn even more perfect!

Room Tip: The room Beatrice overlooks the front lawn with partial views of First Beach through 2 sets of bay w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori60511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We were so happy to hear everything worked out well with your stepson. Having to leave a vacation early for an emergency is always stressful, but at least there was a good outcome. It was great to have both of you here and we really enjoyed getting to know you. I too love the Beatrice room. Especially the tub in the bay window . . . whirlpool, glass of wine, stars, beach and firepit all in one relaxing tub - ahhhhh.

Looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Once you arrive at the Cliffside Inn all of your stress and worrries simply melt away. Bill and Nancy along with their staff make you feel very welcome and attend to every single one of your needs. The Inn is magnificient, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the location to Cliff Walk just makes Cliffside Inn the perfect place to stay!
AO'C
Carmel New York

Room Tip: Cliff View Suite is a seperate cottage on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Cliffside. The Cliff Suite is the largest one we have and often people remark that it feels like they have their own apartment in Newport. Thank you for your great review and for your kind words about the staff.

We hope you will return to see us soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a historic home that has recently been renovated. Every detail was attended to with great care. It is just steps away from the Cliff Walk so is in a great location. The home is beautiful. There are so many features that make it interesting. The carriage house was so quaint. The sun room has an a shower with many features unlike any I've ever seen. It has steam (adjustable temp), aroma therapy, ipod hook up, and mood lights. It was the best shower I've ever had in my life! The innkeepers, Nancy and Bill, are so friendly and hospitable. They gave great guidance regarding tours, directions, and restaurants. Bill's morning breakfasts were a chef's delight. It was a fabulous B&B! I'm so glad to have found it!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is quiet and set apart...very cute. The Sun Room has a shower that is out of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyAbbyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We were so happy to have you here for your BIG birthday celebration! As you are a native Newporter, we were thrilled to welcome you back. I am a big fan of the steam shower in Sun as well. We tried to do something unique with all of the bathrooms, like the antique double barber sink in the Carriage House, something different than most people would find in their homes. I am really glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for all of your kind words.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at The Cliffside Inn after dropping our son off at college. The inn is a few hundred feet from the Cliff Walk and a mile from the downtown wharf area. The entire inn has recently been renovated and everything about it is beautiful. We stayed in the St. George's suite. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with antique furnishings, a queen bed and a flat screen TV. There was a separate parlor room with a library and gas fireplace and the bathroom had the largest spa shower I have ever seen. Service at the Inn is extraordinary. Every staff member we encountered was as friendly as could be. Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers are a delightful pair. They make you feel as though you are a family member staying with them. Breakfasts on the porch were incredible. Bill's Portuguese strata was out of this world. The afternoon wine reception and tea service was a delight. It was so nice to sit and talk with Nancy and Bill as well as other guests. There is turn down service at night and the bedside cookies were a pleasant surprise. This inn deserves the number one ranking on TA. Everything about the inn exceed our expectations. We highly recommend Cliffside and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The St. George's suite has a view to water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim77NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for that thoughtful and incredible review. I hope the Cliffside becomes a regular stay for you when you pick up/drop off your son at college. We too enjoyed spending time getting to know both of you, as well as your interaction with the other guests.

I think I should host the wine our (in bathing suits) in the St. George's Suite some night - what do you think?

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My fiancé and I spent three nights at the Cliffside Inn over Labor Day weekend. We are frequent travelers but rarely stay in B&B's- with that, this properly offered All the comforts of a five star hotel with a personal touch. The facilities are warm ad inviting and the owners are always there to help without ever seeming intrusive. The rooms are charming while being and outfitted with state of the art technology. All in all I highly recommend the Cliffside inn for your next Newport vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saul1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

It was wonderful to have you both here and thanks for posting that great picture of the Seaview bedroom. Sorry the dog couldn't make it this time, but hopefully we will get to meet Oscar soon. We loved seeing you both make the most of Newport - from sailing to the scoot coup - and look forward to having you back here soon.

Warm regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Cliffside Inn B&B in Newport, RI. It was better than the reviews that we read online! The accommodations were outstanding, as well as the location. The owners were always around to talk with us and give us recommendations about the area. The food was great! The overall experience was worth the price!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBonnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for having your birthday celebration at the Cliffside Inn. We appreciate all of the wonderful comments you had about the inn and the Grosvenor Suite. We hope you will be back soon to try one of the other great rooms we have.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $231 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing