We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
1,168
31
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
31
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suitewine hourturner suitemy husband and iwindow seatother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnercookiesbay windowcarriage house
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We decided to visit Newport, RI for our 40th anniversary and couldn't have made a better decision than to stay at the Cliffside Inn. We've been to many inns over the years and found Nancy and Bill to be the most thoughtful and charming hosts ever. They were very accomodating to my gluten free diet, always preparing something delicious. We particularly enjoyed eating wonderful breakfasts on the porch every morning. What a delightful way to start the day. Our suite was immaculate, comfortable and beautifully decorated with period furnishings. The inn's location away from the busy congestion of Thames Street was perfect for several lovely visits to Cliffwalk. We would highly recommend Cliffside Inn and are already trying to schedule our next visit.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SRJR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

We are so glad we could spend your 40th wedding anniversary with you! It was so great to have you here and to see you enjoying the inn. We need to get you both down with us at the fire pit on your next stay. The Grosvenor Suite is a great room and I love the extra large bathroom.

Thank you for sending the picture of the house. It's a great shot.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We came to the Cliffside Inn after our wedding for a "mini-moon" down in Newport and couldn't be happier with our choice to stay here. The location is ideal - steps from the water and the Cliff walk. We were able to walk along the cliffwalk to dinner one night, a fabulous restaurant recommended by the staff at the Cliffside. The inkeepers and staff were knowledgable about the area and surrounding towns, warm and friendly and made our stay such an enjoyable and pleasant one. From congratulatory messages in our room, to remembering how we liked our tea at breakfast, every details was absolutely wonderful.

We look forward to returning on future anniversaries!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Cliffside Inn is steps away from Cliff Walk and minutes away from everything else while still remaining very private and away from the main streets. Bill and Nancy were the perfect hosts and personalized our stay (we loved the rose petal heart on our bed with the "Happy Anniversary" plaque). They know where to go, when to go and quickly figure out what you want out of Newport. This was our first B&B and it won't be our last. The Inn was quiet, the room was comfortable and the breakfasts were scrumptious.

Room Tip: If you like King size beds and don't mind climbing steps get the Loft. Nice skylights.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acematrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary. It was go great meeting you both and getting to know you during the evening reception. The Loft really is a great room - so private and cozy.

I hope the seatbelt sunburn has evened out by now!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Wonderful hosts, very clean, fireplaces, a block from Cliff Walk.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Garden Room, has a staircase, but not a problem for us. 2 fireplaces, wonderful breakfast, happy hour and high tea. Family owners and staff could not have been nicer! Would stay here again. Cliff walk past mansions are a block away.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudraRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

It was great having the four of you here and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The "Seinfeld" sailing story will stay with us for quiet some time. Hoping you'll have a reason to be back in Newport someday. We'd love to see you again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We arrived friday at our destination at Newport RI. After checking in with Bill and Nancy we were shown our beautiful room. We stayed in the Tower Suite which was very private. The room was very clean and well taken care of. It could not have been any better. We were there for rest and relaxation and found it positively perfect. Bill and Nancy were very helpful with information about the area. They shared their knowledge of the best places to eat where to shop and what sites to see in the short time we were there. I think the Inn is in one of the best locations in Newport Beach. With the cliff walk in the back yard and Mansion row next door we could not have asked for anything better........I know this sounds to good to be true but it was wonderful. The food was another plus. The morning breakfast was very good and the afternoon tea and wine gave us a good opportunity to meet our fellow guests. I look forward to returning for another get away weekend. A special thanks to Bill, Nancy and all the staff who made this the most relaxing vacation we have had in a while.

Room Tip: Tower Suite very private and quiet I could have spent the day in the bathroom it was so nice with a big whirlpool tub and 2 person shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We are so glad that you were able to have a stressfree time at the Cliffside. The Tower Suite is great for quiet relaxation and I agree that it is hard to get out of that tub once the jets are going. The staff works very hard to make each guests stay special and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews