We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon Getaway!!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Honeymoon Getaway!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My new wife and I decided on a quick 3-day jaunt to Newport, RI for our honeymoon as we had already committed a few weeks of vacation to other endeavours. I settled on the Cliffside Inn due to the many positive reviews and the fact that it was right next to the Cliffwalk, but a bit away from the bustling Thames St area.

We stayed 3 nights in the Cliff Suite and were not disappointed! The suite was massive, yet "homy", beautifully-appointed with plenty of sun, and provided the perfect respite from months of hurried wedding planning, moving, job-changing, etc. The sitting room with the gas fireplace was a hit when the weather got a bit chilly.

Bill and Nancy are incredibly welcoming and accommodating: on top of everything else, as my wife is not exactly a morning person, they prepared a breakfast tray with the works for me to take back to our suite and allow me to serve breakfast in bed each day (i.e. they made me look good). Tip: the breakfast granola is killer.

We were already pre-planning our next visit before we left! Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Cliff Suite is away from the main house and affords a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave4page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sure you are still swamped with post-wedding things to take care of and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Cliff Suite (and the granola!).

We are looking forward to getting to know your new bride on the next visit.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
862
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We decided to visit Newport, RI for our 40th anniversary and couldn't have made a better decision than to stay at the Cliffside Inn. We've been to many inns over the years and found Nancy and Bill to be the most thoughtful and charming hosts ever. They were very accomodating to my gluten free diet, always preparing something delicious. We particularly enjoyed eating wonderful breakfasts on the porch every morning. What a delightful way to start the day. Our suite was immaculate, comfortable and beautifully decorated with period furnishings. The inn's location away from the busy congestion of Thames Street was perfect for several lovely visits to Cliffwalk. We would highly recommend Cliffside Inn and are already trying to schedule our next visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRJR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are so glad we could spend your 40th wedding anniversary with you! It was so great to have you here and to see you enjoying the inn. We need to get you both down with us at the fire pit on your next stay. The Grosvenor Suite is a great room and I love the extra large bathroom.

Thank you for sending the picture of the house. It's a great shot.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We came to the Cliffside Inn after our wedding for a "mini-moon" down in Newport and couldn't be happier with our choice to stay here. The location is ideal - steps from the water and the Cliff walk. We were able to walk along the cliffwalk to dinner one night, a fabulous restaurant recommended by the staff at the Cliffside. The inkeepers and staff were knowledgable about the area and surrounding towns, warm and friendly and made our stay such an enjoyable and pleasant one. From congratulatory messages in our room, to remembering how we liked our tea at breakfast, every details was absolutely wonderful.

We look forward to returning on future anniversaries!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Cliffside Inn is steps away from Cliff Walk and minutes away from everything else while still remaining very private and away from the main streets. Bill and Nancy were the perfect hosts and personalized our stay (we loved the rose petal heart on our bed with the "Happy Anniversary" plaque). They know where to go, when to go and quickly figure out what you want out of Newport. This was our first B&B and it won't be our last. The Inn was quiet, the room was comfortable and the breakfasts were scrumptious.

Room Tip: If you like King size beds and don't mind climbing steps get the Loft. Nice skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acematrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary. It was go great meeting you both and getting to know you during the evening reception. The Loft really is a great room - so private and cozy.

I hope the seatbelt sunburn has evened out by now!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Wonderful hosts, very clean, fireplaces, a block from Cliff Walk.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Garden Room, has a staircase, but not a problem for us. 2 fireplaces, wonderful brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudraRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
It was great having the four of you here and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The "Seinfeld" sailing story will stay with us for quiet some time. Hoping you'll have a reason to be back in Newport someday. We'd love to see you again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We arrived friday at our destination at Newport RI. After checking in with Bill and Nancy we were shown our beautiful room. We stayed in the Tower Suite which was very private. The room was very clean and well taken care of. It could not have been any better. We were there for rest and relaxation and found it positively perfect. Bill and Nancy were very helpful with information about the area. They shared their knowledge of the best places to eat where to shop and what sites to see in the short time we were there. I think the Inn is in one of the best locations in Newport Beach. With the cliff walk in the back yard and Mansion row next door we could not have asked for anything better........I know this sounds to good to be true but it was wonderful. The food was another plus. The morning breakfast was very good and the afternoon tea and wine gave us a good opportunity to meet our fellow guests. I look forward to returning for another get away weekend. A special thanks to Bill, Nancy and all the staff who made this the most relaxing vacation we have had in a while.

Room Tip: Tower Suite very private and quiet I could have spent the day in the bathroom it was so nice with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to have a stressfree time at the Cliffside. The Tower Suite is great for quiet relaxation and I agree that it is hard to get out of that tub once the jets are going. The staff works very hard to make each guests stay special and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from a delightful 3 night stay at the Cliffside Inn. My husband and I stayed in the recently renovated Carriage House. The room was immaculately clean with a soaring cathedral ceiling, four poster bed (incredibly comfortable) and a sumptuous large bathroom with whirpool tub and huge shower. The property is very quiet and perched just above the ocean with access to the Cliff Walk. View of the water in the distance. The Main Inn where we breakfasted each morning was similarly immaculate and lovingly restored. The food each morning (choice of hot entree or eggs to order, along with homemade granola and fresh yogurt) was delicious. There is also afternoon tea or wine and cheese (depending on the evening).

Innkeepers Bill and Nancy were consummate hosts, providing help with securing restaurant reservations and advising us on off-the-beaten track outings. They were quite helpful and responsive but never felt intrusive. We understood from Bill that the couple is still in the first year of their ownership. We would never have known. It seems as though they have been doing this for decades- so smoothly do things run. We look forward to another restorative weekend at the Cliffside.

Some personal favorites for dining/entertainment in Newport. Fluke's winebar for lovely dinner in town. Flo's clam shack for true clam shack experience and freshest steamers. Castle Hill for elegant tasting menu dinner that provides also breathtaking 3 sided views of water and sky. Try just a drink on the lawn at sunset, if not the dinner. For grown up music and dancing try the Fifth Element.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Carriage House and it's private entrance, but I don't think you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for that incredible review. It was great having you here. We love it when we have guests that can enjoy both Flo's and Castle Hill - each has their unique place in Newport! I am so glad you like the Carriage House too. It was so interesting to build that from the ground up and it is quickly becoming one of my favorite rooms.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing