We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, Peaceful, Lovely!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gracious, Peaceful, Lovely!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We needed a brief respite close to home. Having recently decided to try inns found in the Select Registry of distinguished inns, we searched for inns in New England. Cliffside has such history. It was the home of a mysterious artist of the Victorian era, and it had the elegant but comfortable ambiance we were seeking. The Inn is a few hundred feet from an entrance to the famous Cliff Walk where we took our daily strolls, with the crashing waves of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the historic mansions on the other. The gracious hospitality of innkeepers, Nancy and Bill, who couldn't do enough to make you comfortable. From afternoon tea, to evening wines, to unique breakfasts (cardamom in morning muffins--yum!), it was all so delicious. And, it has a beautiful sunken garden with a fire pit for cool evenings. Close to home or a destination inn, the Cliffside is an outstanding experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beatrice Turner's room on the second floor and it is a delightful room with a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDaltons_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Hello Daltons, Thank you for the "Gracious, Peaceful, Lovely" post. That sort of sums up what all of the staff at Cliffside strive to create for our guests. We are fortunate to have such a great location for our guests to enjoy both the "activity" of Newport and the serenity of the Cliffwalk and the ocean, just a short stroll from the inn. The Cardomon muffins are a favorite at the inn, and Nancy has posted the recipe on a blog on our site. We appreciate your support andf look forward to your return visit.

Our best to you both.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
869
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed there with my husband and had a wonderful time.. It is everything all of the reviews have said. We were in the Turner room which we loved, the food was great and the location is perfect. Met some very nice people from NY...hi Andy and Leslie ... who helped make the weekend even more fun.
I would highly recommend and will be back for sure. Thank you!

Room Tip: I don't think they have any rooms that are not very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and we appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your visit. One of the things that Nancy and I enjoy most, as innkeepers, is seeing our guests make new friends while they are here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Newport and we look forward to seeing you both again.

Best regards,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at Cliffside Inn in Newport this month. Our stay was wonderful. The breakfasts and evening wine tasting and tea with h'or deurves was just delicious. We were so full we never even had to go out for supper. The atmosphere is so friendly and pleasant. All the guests we met were also very pleasant. Our room was immaculate as well as beautiful and comfortable, from the whirlpool spa to the gas fireplace and skylights. There are many things you can walk to from the Inn. The ocean is right there, the wrap around porch was so comfortable to just sit out or you could eat out there as well. We loved it and will definitely be going back for another stay. We did not even have enough time to do all there is to do in Newport. Highly recommended. We are so happy we found this beautiful place when we did.

Room Tip: The loft is not on the oceanside but the huge comfy kingsize antique bed was heaven. We slept so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Hello Mary - We enjoyed your company, and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Cliffside. That was a beautiful week here in Newport and we had many guests dining out on the porch and reconnecting after dinner at the fire pit. Thank you for posting a review of your stay - we appreciate the feedback and the support.

All the best to you both.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night getaway. The cliffside was perfect. We stayed in the blue room and it was beautiful. They offered a delicious breakfast that we were able to enjoy out on the porch. The location was perfect. We were able to walk down to all the shops and restaurants and in the morning we walked down to the cliff walk. We wished we were there longer! We will definitely stay there the next time we are in Newport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Julie - it was nice to have you both stay with us for your get away visit. Thank you for taking the time to post the review and sharing your thoughts about your "Perfect" stay. The Cliffside Inn has a great location and we are really pleased that the rest of your stay with us was so memorable.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Newport.

All the best.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at this Inn and we loved everything about it. Bill and Nancy along with Alexis were wonderful hosts. We had the opportunity to speak with Bill and learn about the history of the inn over a glass of wine on tuesday afternoon. Wednesday was afternoon tea. Our room was the Sun Room which had unique shower with a steam mist aroma therapy, wow this was amazing. When we returned after walking from downtown tuesday evening to our room the bed was turned down and the the 2 bottles of water were on ice, very nice surprise. Also, the cliff walk is a few steps away from the front door and we took advantage of this perk, just ask my feet. We love Newport and now we have a place to stay on our return to our favorite getaway from home, the Cliffside Inn. Thank you Bill and Nancy for a wonderful experience, we loved it and will return!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stayrelaxed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Nancy and I...and all of the staff, appreciate it that you statyed with us while visiting Newport and we are especially grateful for the positive review you provided of your stay at Cliffside. I see that you too are a Trip Advisor Senior Reviewer and have provided some great feedback on other parts of your trip - thank you for taking the time, it helps others who are making plans to visit Newport.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Newport.

Best rgards,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Aside from the weather, we greatly enjoyed our two day visit to Cliffside. Bill & Nancy were gracious hosts. Bill took particular time & attention to explain the most interesting history of the house. Together they made us feel very comfortable at Cliffside. We'll be back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower Suite, a most romantic & unique room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Yes, that was a cold weekend...surrounded on both sides by some unseasonably warm weather. I recall this as a surprise birthday celebration weekend, and we are glad that it was a great weekend for you...including dinners at Bouchard and Mamma Louisa's - two of our favorites. I see that you also posted a 5-star review about the Cliff Walk...truely one of the most beautiful sights/activities for anyone visiting Newport. All of us are pleased that you both enjoyed the romance of Newport and a stay at Cliffside. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Our best to you both.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Ultra quiet climate control and gas fireplaces in every room is just the start of what could be a long list of items of what makes this Inn so good. This was my first stay there, but it won't be my last. This innkeeper is not only the master of his domain, but also of all of Newport.

Just steps from Newport's famous cliffwalk.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have low ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglander41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We enjoyed meeting you both and having you as guests at Cliffside. You were one of our first guests in the Carriage House room, and I am glad we were also able to let you enjoy the Grosvenor Sutie during your stay as well. I know that you are frequent visitors to Newport, and we were pleased when you told us that you "had found your new home". Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Cliffside on Trip Advisor...I see that you have earned the distinction of a "Senior Reviewer" on Trip Advisor, and we appreciate the time you took to post a review on your stay.

We look forward to having you back...your room will be waiting.

All the best.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing