We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Inn and stay!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Gorgeous B&B right by the sea! The Cliffside Inn is even better than the photos on-line! Our room was spacious, clean, and had so many luxuries...two fireplaces, a jacuzzi, a private patio w/ a waterfall, flat screen TV's, heated towel racks, a spiral staircase, and great views! The Inn itself and the grounds were beautiful...I loved the fire-pit and quaint decor! Bill, Nancy, and the rest of the staff were so friendly and accommodating! They truly waited on us hand-and-foot and made our trip very personal! Breakfasts were gourmet and the "happy hours" were a great way to get to know the other guests and staff! Out stay was excellent, the Inn so memorable...we can't wait to go back! :)

Room Tip: The Garden Suite was spacious and very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Nancy and I really appreciate your taking the time to tell others about your stay with us at Cliffside. The feedback means a lot to all of the staff, and Nancy and I are especially happy when we hear back from our guests that that they are looking forward to a return visit to Newport and the inn. There is so much to see and do here. Thank you Andrea for for letting us know that we made a difference.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside for two nights during Newport Restaurant Week 2011. We live approximately 45 minutes from Newport and this was the first time we have stayed at B&B there. Our goal was to relax and enjoy some delicious cuisine.

The Inn Keepers were very pleasant during our entire stay- even with the Inn being nearly at full capacity. The public interior and exterior areas of the Inn were in perfect condition. We stayed in the St. George Suite which was tastefully decorated and in immaculate condition. The room size was just right with a small sitting area and cozy fireplace, an adequate bedroom area with the bed positioned directly under a sky light and great window views, and a huge, very well appointed bathing area with another sky light. The room was dotted with small finishing touches such as towels turned in an origami fashion into swans with intertwining necks and chocolate dipped cookies by the bedside.

We had ordered the romance package and waiting for us on the bedroom armoire was a good labeled champagne on ice, flutes, chocolate covered strawberries, and a boquet of roses. There were also rose petals sprinkled upon the bedding. It was a wonderful treat after the drive in. We also indulged in the spa package and enjoyed duel in-room massages- a very professional and very nice experience.

While we were at the Inn we appreciated the fantastic multiple body spray shower with plenty of hot water as well as the interesting book selection in our sitting area and games in the music room. We also partook in the afternoon tea and evening wine reception which was filled with pleasant conversation from the Inn Keepers and the guests. Lastly upon returning from dinner we were greeted by an outdoor fire in the garden area and home-made smores! It there were any down side, it would be the breakfast- which was 'average' meaning on par with other B&Bs and was certainly adequate. This Inn compares with some of the best B&Bs we have visited and we would not hesitate to return for a getaway.

Visitors who are not familiar with the area should note that this Inn is located along the Cliff Walk area and not close enough to walk to the "downtown" area of Newport; it is approximately ten-fifteen minutes by car to the wharf and restaurant area- depending on where you are traveling to.

If staying in Newport for dining, we would highly recommend Bouchard's, Tallulah on Thames and The Grill at Forty 1 North. We also thoroughly enjoyed our glass blowing lesson at Thames Glass and continued on with several more sessions after we had returned home.

Room Tip: We found the St. George Suite on the third floor to be very secluded, quiet, and comfortable- howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

A very thoughtful review...thank you. I recall Newport's fall Restaurant Week celebration quite clearly, in particular because of the s'mores we made with our guests out at the firepit after dinner on the last weekend. I will tell you, once you've tried a s'more made with homemade marshmallos and homemade graham crackers...you'll never go back! That was a fun weekend, and we're about to start our marshmallo making again.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.

All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Cliffside is by far the most amazing B&B we have ever stayed at! My husband and I are newbies to the B&B world. We started staying in the Ivy Lodge B&B in Newport, and we swore we would not stay anywhere else, boy were we wrong! Though the Ivy Lodge is very nice, very clean, has updated/modern bathrooms, and is cheaper, you do not nearly get the type of A+, First Class service/treatment like the Cliffside Inn! This past visit we were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and decided to splurge and stay at the Cliffside Inn. We wanted to stay in the Tower Suite both nights, (4/13 and 4/14 - our anniversary), but the suite was only available on 4/14. We were able to stay in two seperate rooms, staying in the Blue Room Friday night and then the Tower Suite Saturday night and it was not a problem at all. We did not even have to worry about moving our belongings, as the staff moved everything over for us and all we had to do was pick up the key. Amazing! Both rooms had beautiful views of the ocean and both rooms were very bright and cheery, the emaculate bathrooms are stocked with wonderful AVEDA soap/S&C/lotions. Though my favorite of course was the Tower Suite. Friday night there was wine and apps and Saturday was tea and sweet treats. AT NO EXTRA COST! And get this...They turn your bed down at night with homemade cookies on your bedside table. Yum! There is also a wonderful fire pit outside where you can sit around and enjoy a nice drink or just relax. And you are literaly STEPS away from the Cliffside Walk. That was really a treat to be that close to the ocean. And for breakfast, well, top notch! The food was homemade and everything was so fresh. Great way to start the day. And we cannot say enough about how hospitible Nancy and Bill are. They truly have a passion for their business and you can see that in every little detail. And if you are into history, like we are, it was a huge treat to discover that this house was the house of the famed Beatrice Turner. And if you have no clue who she was like we did, no worries, there is a book about her in nearly every room. I couldn't put it down! So to sum this all up, yes, the Cliffside Inn is more money than most B&B's in Newport,if you think about it, it's not considering what incredible extras you get. We will never stay anywhere else in Newport again! The only bad thing about it? LEAVING! Nancy and Bill are amazing and we cannot wait to get back...soon!

P.S. - for the people who really do not enjoy to stay anywhere else but your own home, and sleep in your own bed and use your own shower because you think nothing can be as clean as your house like I am (its very hard for us to go anywhere, and for me to completely relax because I am a complete germaphobe and hate the 'thousands of people have slept/showered here feeling') let those worries fly out the window. You feel like you are right at home, cleanest/nicest/most breathtaking place we have ever stayed at!

Ashley & Patrick R.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, for your very detailed review, and your passionate "...just stay here already" recommendation. That made us smile.

We enjoyed having you stay at Cliffside and are happy you left with such a positive experience. Nancy and I do enjoy the business and a large part of the enjoyment for us the people we meet as guests and helping them get the most out of their visit to Newport.

PS...to your PS... our housekeeping team was very proud when I read them your comments about how clean your room and the inn felt, and how relaxed that made you feel while staying with us. Thank you from all of us for posting your comments.

We look forward to seeing you both again.

All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After reading many of the earlier reviews, there's not much else to say except "Ditto" and "I agree." We stayed in the Turner Suite on April 13 and 14 and it was perfect. While we didn't take much advantage of the sitting area with its gas fireplace and TV/DVD player, it was still very nice to have. Bill and Nancy have done an outstanding job in renovating the entire inn. Every design detail was obviously well thought out and beautifully executed, from the paint colors to the fabric on the furniture, right down to the decorative door hinges. For the wine and cheese gathering on Friday evening, I expected a plate of cut up cheese and enough wine offered for each guest to have a single glass. But I was so pleasantly surprised to see and then enjoy a beautiful table set out with different cheeses, crackers, nuts, candied fruits and other delicious treats. Both a good red and white wine were offered and while I stopped at a glass and a half, there was more if I'd wanted it. The afternoon tea on Saturday was equally impressive with a good selection of fine bagged teas along with cookies, scones with cream, little sandwiches and other wonderful things. Bill and Nancy are both wonderful hosts. I would return to Newport again just to stay at the Cliffside Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Your feedback is really appreciated, and we are happy that you took notice of the "little" things that we did during the renovation to bring this "grand dame" back to her glory days. It just would not be right to overlook the door hinges, after all the other restorations!

Nancy and I share the reviews that our guests post with the staff so everyone knows what an important part they play in creating a memorable visit for our guests. Lori...who spends most of her time in the kitchen...really appreciated your comments on her preparations for our afternoon receptions. Many thanks!

We look forward to your return. Our best wishes.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Cliffside Inn combines the warmth and intimacy of a classic Bed and Breakfast experience with the superb attention to service of a high-end hotel. Their recent renovation is just the icing on an already delicious cake! Nancy even very kindly and promptly returned an iPad charger I accidentally left in our room.

The next time we're in Newport we'll definitely stay at the Cliffside Inn. I see no reason to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, and for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed Cliffside's hospitality! Nancy and I look forward to your return visit the next time you are in Newport.

All the best to you both.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have been staying in Newport during April school vacations for the past 10 years and this year we have finally found the perfect spot- Cliffside Inn. The most difficult part was choosing which room to stay in as they were all unique and had much to offer. As I began to read a book found in our room, Beatrice, I was captured by the story of Beatrice P. Turner who lived in this home at the beginning of the 20th century. Beatrice's artwork is noticeable throughout the inn and her story is captivating.
Bill and Nancy were fabulous hosts and made us feel welcome and somehow managed to give us our much needed space while being there with maps and advice when we needed it. I cannot wait to return to the Cliffside Inn and hope not to wait until next April!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

We are glad you chose to stay with us this year for your Spring vacation. We had a pretty full house of teachers and others working in the school systems that week, and it was great that the weather was so nice and everyone was enjoying Newport. Nancy and I really appreciate your feedback and your kind thoughts about your experiences at the Cliffside Inn. The renovations that we did last year, and our new lives as innkeepers, are a new adventure for us and it all feels very good when we hear back that our guests are enjoying their stay.

Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again next April...if not sooner.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Cliffside was warm and welcoming from the minute we entered Newport! This B&B is neat, newly renovated, welcoming, has great food, and is in the best location. I stayed in the newly renovated Carriage House room, which just got remodeled in March 2012. It is brand new, and I would recommend that room, because it has a partial ocean view, gas fireplace, private entrance, private parking spot, and a large beautiful bathroom. The inn keepers were very accommodating. They arranged a special package in my room for a birthday surprise for a fee. They suggested a great restaurant for us to visit and made the reservation for us. Cliffside has a cocktail hour every night, in which the inn keepers have a drink and talk to the guests. They serve several wines, cheese and crackers, and a good spread of other small appetizers. The inn keepers came around with chocolate covered cookies and turn down service in the evening. Newport is not a huge city, so you can get anywhere from Cliffside within 5 minutes by car. There is an entrance for the Cliff Walk (a must do ) at the end of the street easily accessible for walkers! Breakfast was homemade and delicious. There was an assortment of fruit parfaits, juice, pressed coffee/tea, muffins, and then a delicious hot meal of omlettes with bacon. I cannot think of a negative about this place, besides that the inn keeper was really slow to email me back when trying to correspond and arrange. It was great and I understand why it is a 4 Diamond B&B and one of the best places to stay in Newport.

Room Tip: I stayed in the newly renovated Carriage House room, which just got remodeled in March 2012. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful to have both of you here and we are so happy your sister had a great birthday. We are so pleased with how the Carriage House turned out and are happy that you liked it too. It is quickly becoming one of my favorite rooms in the inn.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $230 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing