We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great time at the Inn! Perfect hosts, great room(Beatrice), perfect location, and excellent food. Just a great weekend getaway, stay longer if you can do it! The French press coffee was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptaker46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

It was lovely having you here for a little post Valentine's Day get away. Don't forget to sign in and get your Select Registry Rewards! We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed there for Valentine's Day, it was a wonderful experience, the suite was very romantic. It is located just a short distance to the cliff walk. The owners were very nice, excellent service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edlisa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the Cliffside Inn. We are very glad that you liked the Garden Suite and hope that you will come back and try one of the 15 other unique and wonderful rooms we have here.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Cliffside was a truly beautiful place. Our room (the garden suite) was one of the most unique and lavish places we had ever stayed in. There was a lot of attention to detail in the whole Inn that made it feel really special. Our hosts were gracious and helpful. I would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Isn't that Garden Suite great?! You should consider coming back in the warmer weather when the fire pit will be going and water fountain on the patio is in operation. It was great having you as our guests. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Bill and Nancy have done an outstanding job capturing the charm of a New England bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived (late!), we felt welcomed by Bill, Nancy, and of course, Cody. Having stayed at many highly rated establishments, we can say we were delighted with the amenities and character of the Cliffside. This is a guaranteed five star bed and breakfast and will stay on the select registry for years to come. Our accommodations were well appointed and the decor outstanding down to the finest detail, from the in-room fireplace, the jacuzzi for two, the chandeliers, door handles, moldings and the pull chain toilet in the foyer . When they heard that we were celebrating our anniversary, we returned to our room to find rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed. Breakfast and afternoon tea in front of the fireplace were highlights of our stay. The food was outstanding, especially the tangerine muffins. While it was a snowy weekend, one of the only one we've had this winter, we did make it down to the cliff walk, only a short way down the road, where people were cross country skiing. We highly recommend the Cliffside and look forward to returning in the near future. Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joette_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for your review and for noticing all of the unique touches at the Cliffside. I love the pictures you posted. Walking on the Cliff Walk is one of my favorite things to do and you really captured it with the photos. I know you travel often, and I'm so glad you chose us for your relaxation respite. We hope to see you here again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were engaged and later married in Newport so it's a special place for us and Valentine's Day is one of our favorite 'holidays' ! The Cliffside Inn supplied the romance, hospitality and luxury we have come to expect and all with a great touch. The personal attention from Bill and Nancy was refreshing and they immediately made us feel like family. Aside from great hospitality, the quality of The Cliffside's new renovations were top notch and everything we standardly look for in a B&B. From the incredible bathrooms to the cozy in room fireplaces to the updated plasma tv's.....we found their renovation to be both modern and yet very much preserve the Victorian ambiance we have come to enjoy from our trips to Newport. Fantastic attention to detail and surprisingly reasonable. Well done... we look forward to our next visit. Thank you so much for another special Valentine's Day!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a jacuzzi's...all rooms were very unique...the baths vary and are unlike any we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveandBrenda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Steve and Brenda,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your Valentine's Day celebration and for the great review. We are also happy that you noticed all the special touches that make the Cliffside Inn unique. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our first B&B experience. After staying here, I don't know why anyone would want to stay at a hotel.

The innkeepers were extremely helpful and accommodating. We arrived almost 3 hours early, but they were able to let us into our room, which was immaculate. We stayed in the St. George's Suite - easily the nicest room I've ever stayed in.

When we walked in, there was light music playing, the fireplace was on... immediately went into vacation mode. The room was spotless. I've stayed in $500/nt hotel chains that weren't as clean. The bathroom was beautiful (and about the size of our apartment in Boston) with three shower heads and a body sprayer.

The location was also perfect. You're literally steps from the cliff-walk. We went after breakfast despite the 30 degree temperatures. It's about a 3.5 mile walk and was absolutely breathtaking. Afterward, it was a short 5 minute drive into downtown where we had our pick of some of the best restaurants we've eaten at.

Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking to get away for some R&R.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

We can only hope that we've made you B&B people for good! I'm so glad you decided to try us for you first B&B and are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. That St. George's shower really needs to be experienced. I've never been in one like it! Thank you for the great review.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I loved our weekend at the Cliffside Inn. Bill and Nancy are warm, friendly and knowledgeable inn keepers. The breakfasts were of excellent quality, and the tea time snacks were delightful. Our room, the Loft, was charming with all of the little amenities that make a fabulous experience. From the skylights, to the jacuzzi tub, to the fireplace, this room was welcoming and romantic. We will certainly return to the Cliffside the next time we want a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the main house are on the second floor or third floor, so if someone has limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizam614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy that you had a delightful and romantic time. The Loft really is a wonderfully cozy, private and romantic room. Note that the Victorian Room is on the first floor of the main inn and we have a ramp in back for those with limited mobility. The Cottage is a great option too, but for those who are interested in the main house, we have a room ther too. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $230 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing