We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Attwater(Newport)
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$599
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
America's Cup Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$770
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$464
$365
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$297
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$995
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveler rating
1,158
29
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
29
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suitewine hourturner suitemy husband and iwindow seatother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnercookiestower roombay window
Filter
Updating list...
1,110 - 1,115 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a really lovely time staying at the Cliffside inn. The complimentary wine and tasters were a nice surprise when we checked in at evening time, we met with some other guests and had a nice chat. Bill and Nancy are great, they are both real hosts and made us feel really welcome in their home. The house is gorgeous, the rooms are fantastic, along with the rest of the restoration completed in the last year. Breakfast was nice and if you are lucky enough to experience some of Bill's blueberry pancakes, you are in for a real treat! We will definitely go back again some time, we only stayed one night but it was one of those breaks where you think afterwards you have been away for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Swann room, it is really nicely decorated but a little small, but it is still lovely
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

We are so pleased that you chose the Cliffside for your one night respite and thank you for the lovely review. We had a wonderful time getting to know both of you and are glad that you've come to live in the States for awhile. We hope that you will come visit us again the next time you need to recharge your batteries.

Happy New Year,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have been a regular at the Cliffside for several years and always enjoy the old girl, even in her 'better days gone by' state of a year and a half ago. My last memory of the Cliffside was my wedding day in 2010 and the wonderful way the Cliffside staff made it so special for us. I was a bit apprehensive when the Bagwells bought her but my return this weekend put all my fears to rest.

Bill and Nancy have brought a grand elegance back to the Cliffside while keeping the approachable, not stuffy charm of it alive. It is stylish and cozy...and no longer feels shabby in any way. It is truly a labor of love that you see and it's exactly what the Cliffside needed.

While we still prefer the Grand Tea in the afternoon to the wine reception in the evening and we certainly do miss having coffee service in bed in the morning, we are thrilled beyond words at the loving care given the Cliffside by her new owners. The changes made were sorely needed but the Bagwells have kept the spirit of the place very much intact.

Thank you, Bill and Nancy, for putting new life into the Grand Dame of Seaview Avenue.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are wonderful, we LOVE the loft room. It's a wonderful place to hideaway and watch the stars through the skylights at night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickedwillingwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

WWW - We are so glad that you returned to the Cliffside and are pleased with the changes. She is a wonderful house and I'm glad the love we have for her shows. Just so you know, we still do tea on Wednesday and Saturday and I hope you will visit us on one of those days and enjoy the wonderful delights we serve with Harney and Sons tea! It was really great to have the two of you here and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

When we travel, we look for four things: A great place to stay, things to see, good restaurants and, since we are hikers, places where we can walk. Newport has all four: several wonderful walks (one of them, a sea-side walk a few feet from the Cliffside Inn), the famous Newport mansions, any number of great restaurants, and a great place to stay. Cliffside Inn is wonderful. Its owners, Bill and Nancy, have put much love into the place, and our room was well-appointed, clean, and quiet. Breakfasts were a gourmet’s delight (something different for each of the three mornings we were there). But what we personally liked most of all were the 5 to 6 pm wine and cheese get-togethers in the beautifully decorated living room, something you usually don’t find in a hotel. Bill and Nancy were there as well as most of the guests and it was like a convivial party where we met some really interesting people. Afterwards, both Bill and Nancy had lots of suggestions for where to eat and we never had any disappointments. Highly recommended.

Susan and Rusty

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Susan and Rusty,

Great guests like you make our job so enjoyable. We love the evening receptions too. It really allows us to get to know our guests - and for them to get to know each other - in a relaxed atmosphere.

Hope the new year is treating you both well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside Inn to celebrate my 50th birthday. I could not have picked a better place. The Inn is lovely and our hosts Bill and Nancy are wonderful. Each night we spent time with them learning about the history of the Inn and Newport. They really took great care to make sure our stay was just what we needed from making our dinner reservations to serving delicious breakfasts. They even took the time to give us tips for our own upcoming bathroom renovation after the beautiful job they did with the Inn. Friends sent champagne which Bill and Nancy presented with the elegance of a 5 star hotel. We will definitely go back to Cliffside for our next trip to Newport. Thank you for helping to make my celebration even more special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

We were very happy that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday, and want to thank you for sharing your impressions of the inn and your visit to Newport. Nancy and I...and the whole staff...really enjoy making these special occasions memorable. Newport is a great destination and part of the fun for us, as innkeepers, is learning what interests our guests and helping them plan some "personalized" activities during their stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Happy New Year.

Bill & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at the Cliffside Inn last year when the new owners bought the inn. The changes we saw this year were teriffic! The first change we noticed was the improved parking and landscaping. The biggest change is the hands on management of the owners, Bill and Nancy. They treat guests as though you are visitors to their personal home. They offer suggestions to enhance your visit and listen carefully when you tell them of your experiences in Newport. They enjoy making you comfortable and satisfied during your stay at their inn. The inn itself has been restored to better than ever shape. Our room was clean, spacious and had a very large bathroom with a hot tub and a great shower. The food was delicious and my coffee cup was never empty. We had a great time. The other guests seemed to be charmed as well.

Room Tip: We used the photos on the website and spoke to Nancy to get the best room for us.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

Roy - we were so glad that you returned to the Cliffside to see the changes and even happier that you noticed all the hard work we put into renovating the inn. It is a really grand house and we love that others appreciate her as much as we do. We hope you will come back again next year and make this an annual pilgrimage to the Cliffside.

All the best for a happy and healthy 2012.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews